Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Windows vista laptop stuck on boot page

This is a discussion on Windows vista laptop stuck on boot page within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello My laptop, running on Windows Vista is stuck on the boot page which says "windows loading" with moving bar


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



Hello

My laptop, running on Windows Vista is stuck on the boot page which says "windows loading" with moving bar lines. But it does not load and is just stuck at that page.

I accidentally dropped my laptop, which might be a reason. But as soon as I dropped it, it was still working properly for about 15 mins after which all the program's just froze.I could not open or close any of the program's though my mouse was fine.

Then when I restarted my laptop, it gets stuck on the boot screen.

Please do help...

Thanks

Cheers
Suteja

__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,653
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



Quote:
I accidentally dropped my laptop, which might be a reason.
i suspect so

- try safemode
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode - see if that works

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 02:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



Thanks etaf

I tried safe mode. It loaded all the files till it said
Loaded:\Windows\system32\drivers\crcdisk.sys

After this it still had Please wait.... On the status bar but just froze ..
Do let me know how this can be solved please

Cheers
Suteja
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 04:56 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



Any help would be much appreciated
Thank you...
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:16 AM   #5
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,653
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



do you have any recovery CDs

you could try an boot a stand alone CD and see if 1) you can get the data off and 2) if you can at least test the harddrive and the other hardware on the PC

------------------------------------------------------------------------

UBUNTU Stand Alone CD

NOTE : version Ubuntu 12.04

It may be possible to boot from another Operating System
This will at least test the Hardware and also see if you can see the Harddrive and possibly get data off.

If you have another PC with a cdwriter and spare CD
goto Home | Ubuntu and download the ISO Desktop | Ubuntu

You can also run from a USB device now - if the Machine supports booting off a USB Stick
Desktop | Ubuntu

full details are here (Note this is for version 9 - so the start up options are slightly different )
Use Ubuntu Live CD to Backup Files from Your Dead Windows Computer - How-To Geek

click on the image "download ubuntu"
Select a location
then begin download
Save the file onto your PC – remember where you saved it – so you can find it again to create the image bootable CD.

You do NOT copy the ISO file onto a CD - you have to use the ISO to create a bootable CD
The CD creator software you have on the PC may have an option to create an image from an ISO
If not - use this free program The Official ImgBurn Website - Choose the option Write image file to disc
OR
you can use this stand alone ISO Burner to burn the ubuntu onto CD ftp://terabyteunlimited.com/burncdcc.zip

When the UBUNTU CD boots - you will see a screen - with Language on the left panel and two option images labelled

== > Try ubuntu
== > Install ubuntu

You can try Ubuntu without making any changes to your computer, directly from this CD

Use "Try ubunto" ONLY this option this will run from the CD and not install onto your harddrive - be careful, if you do install onto the PC - you will wipe the data and software OFF your hard drive.., so repeat only use option 1

Now you should see a UBUNTU desktop
This at least proves the main parts of the PC are working

NOTE: if you only see a black screen - then this is a known issue, and can be resolved by using the following:-
[quote]On some hardware configurations, you need to set some kernel parameters for ubuntu to boot or work properly. A common one is nomodeset, which is needed for some graphic cards that otherwise boot in to a black screen or corrupted splash, acpi_osi= to fix lcd backlight and other problems.
full details are here
[SOLVED] How to set NOMODESET and other kernel boot options in grub2 - Ubuntu Forums

If you press the F6 key, a menu at the bottom will open allowing you to set kernel options with the space bar or enter key. You can close the menu with escape key and resume booting by selecting the option “try ubuntu without installing” (please note that session does allow you to install ubuntu once you found the kernel options cured your problem).[quote]

If everything worked OK and you should be on the ubuntu desktop

You may see your Harddrive on the desktop - if not have in look in the places on the tool bar at the top of the screen.

If you can see your harddrive – see if you can find the your datafiles –
XP look in “documents and settings” under the user name you had on the PC
Vista/Windows 7 look in “user” under the user name you had on the PC

Now if you have a USB flash drive or external harddrive – you should be able to copy your data from the harddrive onto the USB device

----------------------------------------------------------
Version 12.04
to see the harddrive
on the left hand side menu
look for the
Home Folder
the icon = Folder
click once

at the top of the window that opens you should see
Devices
click on the icon of a drive
Now all your folders should open

to find all your data files
XP look in “documents and settings” under the user name you had on the PC
Vista/Windows 7 look in “user” under the user name you had on the PC

to check the Disk Intergrity
goto Dash home this is the icon at the top of the lefthand menu - click on that icon
Now in the window that opens
type DIS
a list of applications will open
choose Disk Utility by clicking on the Icon

A list of devices will appear in a new window - to make the window full screen - you may have to click on the small icons at the top left of the window - you have a X - and a square - click on the square to make the windows full screen

Beware this utility can wipe all your data off the harddrive - so proceed with caution

from the window that pops up - choose your harddrive - by clicking on it

look around the top right hand side - you should see a SMART Status ( green dot - disk is healthy)
under that will be
SMART DATA
this will provide a summary of the disk status and allow you to run Self-test

Run Self-test - note this takes some time to run
you have three options
  • short
  • extended
  • conveyance

------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 02:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



Thank you so much etaf.. Your instructions were excellent...

I did boot with Ubuntu through my USB drive and it worked just fine. I managed to copy my data. But what I don't understand is when I checked the health of my HDD it had the green light and said a few bad sectors in fact it said I have 5 bad sectors. I can't see any problem with anything.....then I tried again booting the normal way but it still is stuck at the boot up page.
So has my vista crashed? How do I fix it?

Thank you so much for.the help.. Really impressive

Cheers
Suteja
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:26 PM   #7
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,653
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



depends on where those bad sectors are

would be good if you could run chkdsk
see here
Create a system repair disc
and
How To Repair Windows 7 From USB Flash Drive (Repair Without Installation DVD Disc)
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:44 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



thanks etaf

My OS is Vista and I can't get to start the laptop. So I could not create a Recovery disc.
How else could i get this sorted??

cheers
suteja
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:28 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



I could get into system restore by pressing on f8. And it asked me to restore from a particular check point. After sometime it gave me the error
Catastrophic failure (0x8000FFFF)

Do you think it is any help
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:17 AM   #10
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,653
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



Startup Repair: frequently asked questions

Make system repairs from the Windows Recovery Environment (from Windows Vista Inside Out)
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:09 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



Hello etaf

I ran chkdsk but it just said no bad sectors. I tried running system repair by pressing f8 and then selecting System Recovery.
I then selected startup repair . It ran for a few minutes and then gave me a catastrophic error like I mentioned in my previous reply.

How do I locate the bad sectors?? And if located can I restore my computer to normal.

Right now I am booting my system using Ubuntu and working from that desktop. But I just discovered Ubuntu does not have cannon printer drivers which is really essential for my work. So I really really need the pc to be restored back to normal....Please help

Thanks suteja
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:08 AM   #12
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,653
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



Quote:
How do I locate the bad sectors?? And if located can I restore my computer to normal.
Quote:
I ran chkdsk but it just said no bad sectors.
so that sounds like a good drive

but chkdsk with the correct options will mark bad sectors

if you are just doing a system restore - perhaps theres a corruption in the restore
have you tried a different date

it may be time to re-install windows - make sure all data backed up and you have installtion kits for any programs you have installed
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:22 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



Hi Etaf

I don't have a installation CD. My laptop came pre-installed with the OS. how can I install Windows without the CD?
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:19 PM   #14
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,653
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



IF the PC has a recovery partition , then , usually when you first setup the PC
a recommendation is made to create the DVDs
you may still be able to make a set of recovery DVDs

whats the make and exact model of the PC
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 03:38 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
OS: Win vista



My laptop is SOny Vaio VGN series . I can';t remember the exact model number. Hope this helps!
__________________
suteja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:52 AM   #16
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,653
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



often sony come with a recovery partition
How to create a set of Recovery Discs.
View Document

How to perform a system recovery using the VAIO Recovery Center.
View Document

Cannot start the VAIO Recovery Center because the computer will not start to the operating system.
View Document

How to purchase recovery CD/DVDs for computer products.
View Document

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Re: IE7 cannot connect with secure sites
Hi...Corday of the Internet Explorer forum site suggested that I put the DDS file and Attach files on this forum. I could not download the ark.txt from the many GMER sites that I saw. The following was sent to Corday who suggested the re-direction to the Security centre. Corday..thanks...
raringer Resolved HJT Threads 43 06-26-2012 09:33 PM
Happili Virus Redirect
Hello: I've been hit with the Happili virus where it redirects me when I conduct a google search. Attached is the GMER and TDSS files. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you. -ttvr4
ttvr4 Resolved HJT Threads 14 05-15-2012 12:47 PM
Please help I think I may have spyware/malware/virus & possible keylogger?
Hi there My other half was using my laptop yesterday (just regular web surfing) nothing untoward and she called out to me and said you have 30 viruses on your computer do you want me to remove them. Me thinks say what so I come out and have a look and notice - what seem's to be a dodgy...
scottietwenty3 Resolved HJT Threads 50 06-23-2011 12:42 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 07:01 AM
Can someone help me see what's up?
I'm a real computer noob I don't know exactly what's going on but ill try to describe it, mostly I'm concerned about a keylogger though. The other problems are every now and then on Google I'll click a link and I'll get sent to some random website, sometimes outta nowhere a new tab will open up to...
soboman Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 05-13-2011 03:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts