Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Windows CD find HDD but BIOS does not

This is a discussion on Windows CD find HDD but BIOS does not within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am working on getting a computer back in working order. Had to replace the HDD use to bad sectors.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2011, 08:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



I am working on getting a computer back in working order. Had to replace the HDD use to bad sectors. That's each, ordered a different HDD and replaced the old one. Set to cable select and installed it in the Master position.

Turned on the computer put in the Windows XP Hone Edition install disk. Was able to find and format and install all the drivers and what nots for windows.

Removed the disk and attempted to boot the computer, only for the HDD to not be found in the BIOS. It's an IDE HDD, all cables are secure and plugged in in the right places, BIOS just does not like the HDD I guess. The Primary Master slow is set to Auto and I have restored the factory settings a number of different times and attempted to change everything that I could think of.

Only thing that I have not tried yet is removing the battery from the motherboard and seeing if that would help anything.

Please someone help, I'll provide any information that you need about the unit.

__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:50 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


How many hard drives are installed?

On the boot drive (w/Windows installed) set the jumper to Master if a second drive is present set to Slave.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:57 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



Replaced the old HDD with the new, only one HDD installed at the time. Will attempt to set HDD to Master and get back with you.
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:11 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



Removed the jumper setting HDD to Single/Master. Still no change.

Same screen.

Award Medallion BIOS v6.0
Copyright (c) 1984-2001, Award Software, Inc

Copyright 2002 hy Hewett Packard, Inc
Rev. 3.10

Intel (R) Celeron (R) 2600 MHz Processor
Mempry Test: 516096 OK + 8192k shared memory

Award Plug and Play BIOS Extension v1.0A
Initialize Plug and Play Cards...
PVP Init Complete

Detecting Primary Master
Detecting Primary Slave None
Detecting Secondary Master JLMS XJ-HD166S
Detecting Secondary Slave Sony CD-RW CRX215E5

Primary master drive fails


Press F2 to continue, F1 to enter SETUP
05/06/2003-I845G/ICH4/IT8708-P4G533LA
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:12 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



I Press F2 and get

"DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER"

Upon pressing F2, Windows starts and finds the HDD that I had formatted on the same machine.

C: Partition1 [NTFS] 305235 MB <304713 MB free>
Unpartitioned space 8mb
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:16 PM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Post the make/model of the new hard drive.

Are you connecting the hard drive to the end connector on the IDE cable?

Try plugging a different power cable to the hard drive.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:20 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



HDD is a Western Digital 320 GB Pata/8mb Cache WD3200AAJB-00J3A0

The HDD is connected to last connector on the IDE cable with the text MASTER on it.

Will try a different power cable and let you know.

OLD HDD was A Seagate U Series 9 120 GB model ST3120025A
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:29 PM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Post the make model of the PC. If custom built post the motherboard model.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:29 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



Didn't seem to help at all. Tested ever power cable in the unit, even went as far as unplugging IDE cables and power from both CD drive and the floppy. Primary master still fails.
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:31 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



PC is a Compaq Presario S4200NX
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:37 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



Installation CD is a CD from another Windows XP computer, not the one that came with the unit, but should still work, have the Key for it once I get it working to activate it.

CD DOES include SP2 for Windows XP Home Edition.
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:48 PM   #12
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Swap the the IDE connections at the motherboard and check the BIOS (cdrom drives should be listed as primary) This is just to test the IDE port.

The drive could be faulty or there is an incompatibility issue with the BIOS recognizing the larger drive.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:56 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



CD Drives are now listed as the primary.
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:02 PM   #14
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Okay so the IDE ports are fine?

You either have a faulty drive or the BIOS does not support the larger drive.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:06 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



So just for sport I unplugged the IDE cable that ran to the CD drives from the CD drive and plugged the master cable into the HD.

Now I see.

Secondary Master [WDC WD3200AAJB-00J3A0]

Bad IDE port on the motherboard? No shouldn't be cable worked from for the CD drives in the Primary slot. Bad Cable?

Ideas?
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:08 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



Allowing the computer to continue to boot gives me.

A disk read error occurred
Press Crtl+Alt+Del to restart

That because the Windows OS has not yet been installed. but atleast I know it's reading the drive now.
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:12 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



So I connected the CD drives back up to the MOBO with the old HD IDE cable and they show up just fine, but now the HD is missing as the Secondary Master.

My head hurts.

Attempted restart with BIOS changed to boot from HD first, HD is set to Secondary Master., AND....

Secondary Master drive fails
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:12 PM   #18
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Are you using the cable that came with the hard drive?

Try a different cable and connect the drive back to the Primary Controller on the motherboard.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:15 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



No cable came with the HD, just got the HD from Tiger Direct no cable included. Will try another cable.
__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:22 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
OS: Ubuntu 11.4



Changed cables and still nothing listed in the BIOS for Primary Master.

system was allowed to reboot with windows XP home edition CD in CD drive. CD spun up and windows setup was able to find the drive.

__________________
bestdarncompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Redirect
Hi everyone! Last week my computer had bluescreened and it had the Critical Disk Error virus which I was able to remove using rkill & Malware, but now it seems that I am having the Google Redirect problem. Not sure if these two are related, but wanted to include that in there in case it was. ...
irenekau Resolved HJT Threads 1 06-14-2011 01:06 PM
Sluggish Computer, possible virus
Hello, My computer has been running real sluggish lately and I am not sure what the problem is. At first I thought it was Maleware, but after running Malwarebyte's my computer has not gotten any better. So I am turning to you guys to see if anyone can help. Below is the DDS file. . DDS...
Suprk Resolved HJT Threads 10 06-07-2011 02:15 PM
PC Security Guardian
We got the above from following a link on google. Is it advised to perform the dds and gmer scans in safe or normal mode? The FAQ doesn't mention that. Thanks, Chris
geeceedee Resolved HJT Threads 140 06-04-2011 08:12 PM
Windows Expplorer /Dr Watson debugger crashes + BSOD
Hi A while ago I had a virus/malware problem which was then resolved. The problem caused by Windows explorer to crash and gave me a BSOD when I tried to log in http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f100/bsod-after-removing-virus-544372.html Then just a couple of hours ago I had google...
catdog7 Resolved HJT Threads 68 05-13-2011 09:04 AM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 04:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts