Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

where does power led go on motherboard?

This is a discussion on where does power led go on motherboard? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. please help me just got the haf 912 series from cooler master and the case came with four colored wires


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2011, 02:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



please help me just got the haf 912 series from cooler master and the case came with four colored wires (power sm) (reset sm) (hdd led) (pow led plus) (pow led neg)
iam using the "ecs a740gm-m motherboard" i checked the users guide and i still don't get it please help

__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 02:36 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,209
OS: XP Pro-7




__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 06:11 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



hey Tyree i been trying to get this to work i even put them in reversal but no led on my case and my mother board is not powering on can my motherboard be dead i haven't used this board yet and i hear getting a dead one is likely sometimes what do you think im pretty sure im not doing something noobie on my end im plugging them in right you have to be a fool to not get it
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 06:19 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Make sure that the correct amount of stand-off are installed and in the correct places.

Bench Test the components outside the case.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...em-262998.html
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 06:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post
Make sure that the correct amount of stand-off are installed and in the correct places.

Bench Test the components outside the case.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...em-262998.html
what is the stand-off the screws? i could be messing up on that
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 06:26 PM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


You should have one installed for each mounting hole of the motherboard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	standoffs.GIF
Views:	48
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	89832  
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 06:31 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



lmao dude i seen that and i was wondering what that was for i will report soon this will take a min
edit: hey i have my mother board in already now do i screw this in or before i put my motherboard in the case?
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 06:57 PM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,209
OS: XP Pro-7



The standoffs have to be installed "BEFORE" the Mobo. They prevent the Mobo from making contact with the metal in the case preventing short to ground and damage to the Mobo.
Reading the manuals included with the Mobo & case is always a good idea.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 07:05 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



got it im going to try now i hope i didnt damage my mobo will report soon
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 08:08 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



nope nothing im just thinking about calling them tomorrow telling them my mobo is not booting
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 08:11 PM   #11
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Did you attempt the Bench Test?

Did you try momentarily shorting the power pins to start?

Do you get any LED activity? Fans running?
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 08:40 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post
Did you attempt the Bench Test?

Did you try momentarily shorting the power pins to start?

Do you get any LED activity? Fans running?
im going to try the bench test
i tried everything possible to get the pins working no nothing work no led no fan
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 10:10 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



after reading How to Bench Test Your System i think i shorted my board underneath the board so can this be fixed or do i have to send it in... just my luck
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:12 AM   #14
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


You would need to return the motherboard.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:40 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



ok guys i called them just now and the guy asked me if i did the 2 pins thing to power on the motherboard i told him about underneath my mobo but he said if i didn't do this my mobo wont cut on you guys talked about this also in How to Bench Test Your System way at the bottom the second way to power up the mobo so my question is where do i take a pen or srew driver and place that on my motherboard i looked at the picture you guys show is it on the f panel on the motherboard if it is which one should i put the screw driver on and another thing should i not waste my time with this and get it returned i really appreciate the help you guys are giving me
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:48 AM   #16
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,209
OS: XP Pro-7



You short across the two "Power" pins on the Front Panel connector.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:58 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



alright got it im going to take everything apart im going to follow the bench test step by step be back soon to report
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:01 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
You short across the two "Power" pins on the Front Panel connector.
i followed everything and cant get pass the powering up the mobo part but i have a question i want to check the cpu again to make sure i did everything correct so can i take off the fan and heatsink i tried doing this yesterday but that thing is stuck on tight and i didnt want to just tear it out so how would i do this?
__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:09 PM   #19
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,209
OS: XP Pro-7



Be certain all retainers are undone. "GENTLY" twist the heatsink while "GENTLY" pulling up.
You will need to clean and reapply the thermal paste.
Please list your hardware.
Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 01:06 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (build 7601)



guys you are the best here i found my problem ok you know on the psu the 20 pin you plug into the mobo when i looked inside the 20pin it's missing a gold piece but this psu work just fine in my other mobo but whatever im buying a new one soon again thank you all for your help man this site is soooo helpful

__________________
game0606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply or motherboard issue?
Last night, I shut my HP M8530F desktop running Windows 7 down for the evening. Tonight, when I tried to turn it on, it was a no-go. The machine is a little over a year old, but HP s have certainly been known to have their share of short life spans. Two things to note: 1) The green power...
bswb RAM and Power Supply Support 8 02-15-2012 10:59 AM
Basic computer troubleshooting
This is intended to be a cumulative message to help people follow basic troubleshooting and as a reference for other threads. This is NOT the definitive answer, but is a good starting point. Administrators feel free to add/modify as necessary. Note: These are based on the assumption your...
c_robertson Motherboards, Bios & CPU 0 01-18-2011 09:53 AM
Power Supply or Motherboard?
Hey There, I have a basic HP Desktop with a Intel Celeron CPU, with a D945GCNL Motherboard. Last night, i turned off my computer and the next morning it would'nt turn back on. There were no storms last night and if there was, i have a surge protector handy. So i thought it just might be the...
jim516 RAM and Power Supply Support 8 01-14-2011 10:38 AM
Not enough connections from power supply to motherboard?
Hello! New to the forums, so I'll first thank you for your help! http://computerhelpforum.org/forum/style_emoticons/default/smile2.gif I recently bought a new video card and am in need of some help connecting some of the power sources. My old video card had a 6-pin port on it which I...
CodyBlair RAM and Power Supply Support 13 01-05-2011 09:36 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts