Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

What socket type is on the dell optiplex gx260 motherboard

This is a discussion on What socket type is on the dell optiplex gx260 motherboard within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I was just wondering, what type of socket does a dell optiplex gx260 motherboard have (775, 423, 478, etc)? I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2008, 10:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central U.S.A.
Posts: 4
OS: XP Pro SP2



I was just wondering, what type of socket does a dell optiplex gx260 motherboard have (775, 423, 478, etc)? I am trying to replace the old processor (pentium 4, 1.7ghz) with a new pentium D (775). Is there a way to find out with type of processor without opening the case? Am strongly thinking that its a 478, but hoping am wrong. Thanks in advanced.

__________________
superart is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:46 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
speedster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6,826
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


http://users.erols.com/chare/elec.htm

pentium D - different socket

__________________
speedster123 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central U.S.A.
Posts: 4
OS: XP Pro SP2



Thank you, so now I know I can't upgrade to a pentium D. However, is it a 478 socket or a 423. Maybe I will open up the case if I have to, but if someone can save me the trouble. The processor is a pentium 4 1.7ghz and that's all I can gather. Unless there is another way to find out what type socket it is without opening the case.
__________________
superart is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:57 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
speedster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6,826
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


http://users.erols.com/chare/elec.htm

pentium D - different socket [T]

you might be able to go to the northwood. socket 478 maybe 2.7 - 3

most likely a bios update would be in order
__________________
speedster123 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 01:04 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central U.S.A.
Posts: 4
OS: XP Pro SP2



Thank you, very much. Now am pretty sure its a socket 478, I just want to go above the 2 ghz mark. I got the computer for next to nothing, so am just going to upgrade it a little bit, so I can run some games. Thanks again for your help.
__________________
superart is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:03 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
speedster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6,826
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


above 2 shouldnt be a problem
the intels are down on that site i linked, so scroll down
come back again and good luck

__________________
speedster123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts