Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

What CPU should I upgrade too?

1K views 17 replies 6 participants last post by  LukeWalker 
#1 ·
My mobo is a MSI FM2-A55M-E33 (MSI-7721) i have 8gb of Corsair Ram, and a AMD Radeon HD 7700 series. I have around £120 to spend and NEED a new Psu as mine is only a 230watt I'm looking to upgrade to a better one but I will upgrade with the CPU I buy. I was wondering would it be better to upgrade to a A10 or a Athlon x4 760k. Would it be better to have a APU or will it make no difference unless it's better than my GPU and set to the APU. Sorrŷ if this makes no sense, I'm not really a computer expert. I usually play games like DayZ and do design work on CS6 and Cinema4D. Thanks! At the moment I have a AMD A4. APU

#5 ·
Despite several online rumours to the contrary, the A10 does not crossfire with an HD 7750/7770. And even dualed with an HD 6670 (strongest compatible card) the performance would be more in line with that of an HD 7730.

I'ld go with the Athlon 760K. Nearly identical cpu performance as the fastest APU your board supports (A10-6800K) for £40 less.
For a power supply, something in the 450-550 watt range. The following prices out to just around £110 shipped.

AMD Athlon X4 760K Black Edition Quad Core Unlocked Processor - AD760KWOHLBOX - Scan.co.uk
XFX PRO550W P1-550S-XXB9 Power Supply (PSU) Core Edition - Scan.co.uk

#7 ·
Well, yeh. There is nothing that says you must use components of any specific brand. If you would prefer to use a Corsair, that would be your choice. Not a brand I usually recommend, but you could do far worse.

#11 ·