Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

USB legacy mode works bad with USB mouse

This is a discussion on USB legacy mode works bad with USB mouse within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been trying to figure why the USB legacy mode in BIOS works incorrectly when I use programs like


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2009, 03:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit

My System


I have been trying to figure why the USB legacy mode in BIOS works incorrectly when I use programs like Norton Partition magic, Acronis or any program who runs without Operating System and have Graphic Interface.
In Windows & Linux it works fine.

In ANY of these programs, when I move the mouse horizontally, the cursor moves vertically, if I click, the cursor moves right a bit and if I move the mouse vertically the cursor remains still. Thus any program with GUI is unusable and I can't do well with the keyboard.

If I disable the USB legacy option, the mouse doesn't work at all.

Can this be a BIOS problem? should I update it? I couldn't try another mouse since I have not another one.
Thanks.

__________________
Derek12 is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 03:38 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,146
OS: All Microsoft Operating Systems

My System


HI...

Well, it could be a BIOS problem, but I have never seen it happen unless the mouse had issues. Have you tried the mouse in different ports while using LEGACY mode?

You will eventually have to try it with another mouse. In the mean time you can go to the motherboard manufacturer's website and see if they have a BIOS update for your board; you can check the fix logs on their website to see if this issue has been listed in the fixes.

Thanks!

__________________
IT-Tech is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 05:43 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


I would as IT said try another port especially if your using a front port then try rear that is directly attached to the motherboard.

Some of the programs you mentioned could load there own drivers so it would be a good idea to try another mouse maybe your mouse is not somehow supported
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 06:56 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 17,423
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

It may be the USB controller. I saw the same results with a crappy VIA-based USB card I bought. Worked fine in Linux and Windows but under anything that wasn't an operating system it was useless.
__________________

-----------------------------
There are no dumb questions, unless a customer is asking them.

Help in the fight against cancer and other serious illnesses.
ebackhus is online now  
Old 11-30-2009, 01:48 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by IT-Tech View Post
HI...

Well, it could be a BIOS problem, but I have never seen it happen unless the mouse had issues. Have you tried the mouse in different ports while using LEGACY mode?

You will eventually have to try it with another mouse. In the mean time you can go to the motherboard manufacturer's website and see if they have a BIOS update for your board; you can check the fix logs on their website to see if this issue has been listed in the fixes.

Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doby View Post
I would as IT said try another port especially if your using a front port then try rear that is directly attached to the motherboard.

Some of the programs you mentioned could load there own drivers so it would be a good idea to try another mouse maybe your mouse is not somehow supported

Hello Tech and Doby :)
Yes I tried every port on the rear (I don't have front ones, my tower chassis is very old )
I found in Gigabyte's web that there is a new BIOS for my motherboard

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/M...2775#anchor_os

Though it only adds support for new processors.
I don't have another mouse for now though I will try to borrow another one..
Many thanks :)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ebackhus View Post
It may be the USB controller. I saw the same results with a crappy VIA-based USB card I bought. Worked fine in Linux and Windows but under anything that wasn't an operating system it was useless.
Hello ebackhus :)
Yes, it works fine in Windows 7 and Ubuntu without problems, the mouse is identified as "HID compatible mouse" in Win7
My USB controller is integrated on the motherboard and (I supposed) it is an AMD-based because my chipset (AMD 740G NB & AMD SB700 SB) it is. Does it have a known bug related to legacy mode?
Many thanks

---------------------------
I have tried disabling the USB2.0 controller and disabling the USB keyboard legacy (my keyboard is a PS/2 one) but no luck...
__________________
Derek12 is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 02:41 PM   #6
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,135
OS: Win7



You may want to try a PS/2 mouse or even a usb to ps/2 adapter on your mouse.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 07:35 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 160
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
You may want to try a PS/2 mouse or even a usb to ps/2 adapter on your mouse.
My motherboard doesn't have a PS/2 for mouse.
Many thanks.

__________________
Derek12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts