Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU


Updating graphics card

This is a discussion on Updating graphics card within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I want to upgrade my graphics card but my motherboard does not seem to be compatible with PCI-E. I have


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2017, 05:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Win10



I want to upgrade my graphics card but my motherboard does not seem to be compatible with PCI-E. I have a i7 processor and was thinking of moving it to a new motherboard that is PCI-E. What problems might I have with this? See my hardware details in attached file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Report.txt (48.1 KB, 12 views)
Kenpachi808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2017, 06:06 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,880
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Let's take a look at your system hardware specifications. Please follow this guide on how to get those specifications:

How to find your system specifications - Tech Support Forum
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 06:11 PM   #3
Networking Team |Tech
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 3,884
OS: Windows 10



Hi there,

One thing I recommend is backing up your data from your computer hard drive is re-installing the Windows OS fresh. The Windows OS that's currently installed on your computer hard drive has the info of the old motherboard currently saved. When you swap out motherboard, Windows will not boot properly as it won't recognized the new hardware.

For best performance, I recommend re-installing the Windows OS when you swap out motherboards.
__________________
Dan Cooper ---> Nov. 24, 1971 + Flight 305 = $200,000.


DBCooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 06:31 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Win10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Let's take a look at your system hardware specifications. Please follow this guide on how to get those specifications:

How to find your system specifications - Tech Support Forum
So I did grab the specs and posted them in the attachment to the original post. But i used everest instead.
Kenpachi808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 04:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 sp1



In your report I found:

PCI/AGP 10DE-0DE5: NVIDIA GeForce GT 530 [NoDB]


You need to include the motherboard info in the Everest report !

Or just quote the mainboard model number and it's revision number if available. (found on the mobo itself)

Any PC with an I7 should have a PCIe graphics card slot ?
(unless it's a laptop?)

If you buy an Nvidia card, and you want to do gaming, look for a 60 series
as a minimum.
eg. 660, 760, 860, 960, 1060, as the 50 series and less are not really suitable.

You will need a suitable power supply unit (PSU) to power the Graphics card you choose, typically this will be a minimum of 500 watts and typically it is more. An el cheapo 500w PSU does not supply 500 watts, it will usually fail under a decent load, so the PSU warrants research and getting a decent one, (it doesn't have to be expensive if you look for a good deal or sale).
congoharrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:15 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Win10



Here is the motherboard report from everest. See attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt ReportMotherboard.txt (51.9 KB, 6 views)
Kenpachi808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:39 AM   #7
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Same as posted in #1. Perhaps you would pickout the relevant information. i.e make and model of motherboard, cpu, memory, graphics card, power supply.
__________________

Defending freedom of expression in the face of oppression is noble.
Insisting on the right to be obnoxious and offensive just because you can is infantile.
gcavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 07:58 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 37,880
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenpachi808 View Post
So I did grab the specs and posted them in the attachment to the original post. But i used everest instead.
It's a lot easier for us to read if you grab the information from Speccy as outlined in my guide.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 05:01 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 sp1



Quote:
Originally Posted by gcavan View Post
Same as posted in #1. Perhaps you would pickout the relevant information. i.e make and model of motherboard, cpu, memory, graphics card, power supply.
OP's Everest version does not support his motherboard, so the info is blank
on the required fields.

Still need the mobo model no.
congoharrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 04:11 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
OS: Win10



Quote:
Originally Posted by congoharrison View Post
OP's Everest version does not support his motherboard, so the info is blank
on the required fields.

Still need the mobo model no.
Sorry about late reply really busy week. So this is the model number: Intel Desktop Board Media Series LGA 1155 DDR 1333 Micro-ATX Form Factor - BOXDH67BLB3
Kenpachi808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 02:42 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7 sp1



See the specs for your board on this Newegg link if you wish,

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813121506

Your board has 1 x PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot, it's the big blue slot.

Get advice on the card you buy and the power supply unit required to run it.

Maybe you could see what power supply you have,
that will determine if you can run a decent video card.

The fact that you have an Intel board leads me to believe you
have a Pre-built PC, and most pre-builts skimp on the PSU.

However, the power requirements for the latest video cards,
let's say a GTX 1060 for example, are less than they used to
be, so you could be ok with what you have.
congoharrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen after disabling graphics card Help!
Hello :) Today I bought a brand new Acer V3-772G laptop that runs Window 8 with a nvida gtx 760m graphics card built in. Getting home I decided to use Just Cause 2's bench test to find out how the laptop would hold up. After completion and getting a rather low score I noticed it said the...
flatline22 Windows 8, 8.1 Support 4 10-27-2013 12:33 AM
Asus P8Z68-V LX not detecting graphics card
Let's start with what I got (just recently built): Corsair TX 750w psu asus P8Z68-V LX motherboard intel 2500k geforce 460 gtx So I put the computer together yesterday and everything seems to be working great except my 460 gtx is not detected by windows or the bios. I checked to make sure...
jstreett Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 02-15-2012 10:24 AM
XP loading issue
Hi I had a blue screen error last week and now XP won't load normally. I have to load from last know good configuration, I have done a virus scan and all okay, only recent changes to pc are new cmos battery. Thanks Di
whitefox723 Windows XP Support 7 09-25-2011 02:27 AM
Graphics Card Help
Hello everyone :wave: I'm new here but have been a lurker for a while. I want to install a graphics card (I'm not interested in playing games) and wondered if someone could help me pick one for my motherboard. My motherboard is: ECS P4M890T-M ECS Web Site
Dan23 Video Card Support 6 06-14-2011 08:51 PM
Graphics card resolution not suitable for monitor?
Hi I have a Fujitsu Scaleo P (2312 Pa) that started showing just stripes (multicoloured stripes of snow) on the screen. I borrowed a graphics card from a friend to see if it was the PC that died or the graphics card. Seems to have been the card, but now I have problems with the resolution...
Minerwa Video Card Support 3 02-03-2011 01:48 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com