Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Thermo-paste (quick question)

This is a discussion on Thermo-paste (quick question) within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Will thermo paste harden and act like glue over time? I don't want to "glue" my heatsink to my chip.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2007, 08:45 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15
OS: Vista 64



Will thermo paste harden and act like glue over time? I don't want to "glue" my heatsink to my chip.

__________________
brothapig is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 08:55 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



use arctic silver
http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 09:24 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
MaverickUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cheshire, England.
Posts: 914
OS: XP Home

My System

Send a message via MSN to MaverickUK

Hi,

No it is a totally different solution than glue, it will not harden, no matter how long it has been there for (unless the PC is unused for years and the thermal paste manufacturer is bad). You will need to apply thermal paste, you do not have any option to have it or not, well, unless you want to blow the CPU and motherboard .

Nick.
__________________
MaverickUK is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 10:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15
OS: Vista 64



Don't worry, I always use paste for the CPU! I was talking about my northbridge, which is running a little hot. I have always just used the "stock" paste that comes with the stock heatsink, and have never used aftermarket stuff. I would just like to be able to remove the heatsink in the future. Thanks!
__________________
brothapig is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 06:19 AM   #5
smz
Hardware Tech Specialist
 
smz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 705
OS: Mac OS X / W2K3 Server / XP Home/MCE/Pro / Vista Ultimate / Ubuntu Linux

My System

Send a message via ICQ to smz Send a message via AIM to smz Send a message via MSN to smz Send a message via Yahoo to smz Send a message via Skype™ to smz

Yes, neither thermal or artic will act as a glue. A matter a fact, I've changed out CPU fans that had a pretty long life spam and found I could clean all the old paste right off the CPU and start from scratch.

The suggestion posted about using Artic Silver is really the way to go. The bottle will seem tiny to you, but it will last a long time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaverickUK View Post
Hi,

No it is a totally different solution than glue, it will not harden, no matter how long it has been there for (unless the PC is unused for years and the thermal paste manufacturer is bad). You will need to apply thermal paste, you do not have any option to have it or not, well, unless you want to blow the CPU and motherboard .

Nick.
smz is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 08:58 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



just keep it in the fridge if you live in a warm climate or it seperates

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question
I want to do a reinstallation of Windows Xp on my computer, just an upgrade installation, not a full installation. However, I lost my cd key (of course). My question is, if I just do the upgrade installation do I have to have the cd key? And if so, where can I find out what my cd key is, or get a...
qwertyhimself Windows XP Support 1 05-20-2006 11:57 AM
Quick question about deleting something.
Is it safe to delete these two components on the PC? In Add/Remove Programs they are listed (exactly) as: LiveReg (Symantec Corporation) LiveUpdate 2.6 (Symantec Corporation) I'm not really sure what these are. I THINK these things are used only for Norton Antivirus. I don't use Norton and...
lagwagon_87 Win 98 & ME Support 5 04-05-2006 04:51 AM
Quick question on using an "unsupported" CPU in a motherboard...
So, I have this antiquated stock of parts in the other room. It's most of a computer. Some of my friends are looking for a very cheap (IE: about 100 bucks -- we are college students) computer that's still decent. I figured I'd see if I could use some of those parts and just have them pay for...
TheUnlimited Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 01-25-2006 02:00 AM
Question about Compaq Quick Restore CD
I have a Compaq PC and need to reload Word 97 back into it. Can I go into my Quick Restore CD that came with my computer and reload just Word 97, or don't it work that way. Thanks for your help, Dave
oldfarmer Win 98 & ME Support 1 04-04-2005 06:31 AM
Quick Question for a long... long story...
Ok, so I had a pretty nice rig to start with, Oldermotherboard, gig of ram 60 gig HD whatever... Sister decides She wants a computer. So I take advantage of the situation, and I get new mb, hd, ram, yadda yadda. So I getmyself an Asus K8V SE Deluxe and a DiabloTek Case, 160 Gig (7200rpm) NVidia...
Diek Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 12-17-2004 09:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts