Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] Wondering the truth about Asus motherboard M4A78LT-M?? Someone help please.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Wondering the truth about Asus motherboard M4A78LT-M?? Someone help please. within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. It all started when I wanted to update my GPU. Someone tells me that Ill have to update my CPU


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-30-2012, 01:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


It all started when I wanted to update my GPU. Someone tells me that Ill have to update my CPU in order to get a good GPU because with the motherboard I have I mine as well just get a new motherboard. BUT I dont see how that is when I can get a new compatible high quality 4 core or 6 core processor for my motherboard? So why doesnt someone tell me whats going on? Am I being fed a load of crap or can I just get a new CPU, GPU, and a little more RAM??? (P.S. Already know ill need a new PSU also.)

__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:03 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 4,986
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Can you post all of your hardware? What GPU are you looking at and which CPU do you have?
I can't see any reason why you'd need to get a new mobo.

__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


Here are my specs. I dont have a particular gpu im looking at yet, most likely one thats good for gaming ( any refferals on compatible ones would be appreciated) and when it comes to CPU im thinking about one of the AMD Phenom II X4 or AMD Phenom II X6 (any refferance to one of those types if there good, or something else you know of thats better and compatible would be appreciated also)
Essentio CM1630-06
Features/Specifications:
•ASUS Essentio CM1630-05 Athlon II X2 2.8 GHz Desktop PC
•General Features:
•Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium pre-installed w/CoA
•AMD Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz dual-core processor
•2 x 128 KB L1 cache, 2 x 512 KB L2 cache, 45 nm SOI CMOS
•AMD 760G/SB710 chipset
•4 GB DDR3 RAM (supports up to 16 GB)
•1 TB SATA hard drive
•Integrated ATI Radeon 3000 graphics
•Integrated ALC887 8-channel audio
•Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN
•Memory card reader
•Supported Media:
•CompactFlash (CF)
•Microdrive (MD)
•Secure Digital (SD)
•MultiMediaCard (MMC)
•MultiMediaCard 4.0
•Reduced-Size MultiMediaCard 4.0 (RS-MMC)
•Memory Stick (MS)
•Memory Stick PRO
•Memory Stick Duo
•Memory Stick PRO Duo
•Motherboard Features:
•One (1) PCI Express x16 slot
•One (1) PCI Express x1 slot
•Two (2) PCI slots
•Four (4) 240-pin DIMM sockets (two occupied)
•Six (6) SATA connectors (two occupied)
•Front I/O Ports:
•Memory card slots
•Four (4) USB 2.0
•One (1) Headphone out
•One (1) Microphone in
•Rear I/O Ports:
•One (1) PS/2
•One (1) HDMI
•One (1) DVI-D
•One (1) 15-pin VGA
•One (1) SPDIF out
•Six (6) USB 2.0
•Six (6) Audio
•One (1) RJ-45 Ethernet
•Case Features:
•Two (2) 5.25-inch external drive bays (one occupied)
•Two (2) 3.5-inch internal drive bays (one occupied)
•300-watt power supply (115V ~ 6A, 230V ~ 3A, 50/60Hz)
•Unit Dimensions:
•15.75 x 6.6 x 16-inches (H x W x D, approximate)
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


Also sorry forgot to ask but will I need a new Chipset also and if so what is compatible with my M4A78LT-M mobo? ( sorry forgot to add it in before)
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 10:35 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
OS: W7, SP1



A rule of thumb - do not upgrade a reliably working hardware unless it is a bottleneck to the desired/required performance. It's only a bad luck, a waste of time and money :)

Athlon II X2 220 is a lovely little chip, very power efficient. Even though your mobo supports all AM2+/AM3 chips, do not upgrade the CPU just yet. Instead get yourself a decent graphic card and a power supply unit. BTW, what is your current PSU?

1. What resolution will you be gaming on?
2. What games will you be playing?
--> answers to these questions shall help determine your CPU/GPU/PSU needs.

3. Do you have 32 or 64-bit OS?
--> no need/use adding extra RAM to the already existing 4 GB if you have 32-bit.
__________________
Moontalker is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 10:24 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,359
OS: XP Pro-7



PC Specs?
Pre- Built Brand & Model Number
Custom Built- Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 03:20 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


I have posted my specs. at the top. Problem is i am not getting the desired performance that i want out of my gaming. I would like to be able to play most the newer games without having to lack in graphics or performance. My ATI Radeon 3000 graphics card that i have isnt gonna give me the graphics or performance im looking for. I would like to simply upgrade my cpu and graphics therefore I can have the desired gameplay that ive been dieing to have. I figure if I update to a 4 or 6 core processor, a new graphics card, and psu (300 watt i have isnt enough for sure), then i should have a decent gaming machine. So all I would like to know is if I am correct in all this and if so what compatible cpu, gpu, and psu would everyone suggest for a M4A78LT-M mobo that im using? P.S. I am using a 64 bit system, will probably be playing a resolution of 1366 by 768, playing games like Skyrim, Call of Duty (most newest games i guess you can say.) Any help on this would be so GREATLY appreciated thanks.
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 04:25 PM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,359
OS: XP Pro-7



You have an OEM PC. They use Mobo/Bios made for them so determining what CPU's are/are not compatible can be difficult to determine. The manufacturer is the most reliable source for that info.
Gaming is primarily dependent on the GPU so, for a decent gaming experience, you need a dedicated GPU. That would also require upgrading the OEM PSU.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 07:27 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


Ok im really starting to feel like no one on here knows what there talking about and deffinetly isnt listening except for moontalker and possible tyree. First off greenbrucelee(great name by the way) if you read what i wrote before you would have noticed that i stated i am getting a new PSU with it all. Tyree i already check Asus website and found all the CPU compatible with my MOBO, so lets just get past the fact either way im gonna get a new one, if so would you recommend a AMD Phenom II X4 or AMD Phenom II X6 (I was thinking 6 core but not too sure), lastly what kind of graphics card is good for the newest games would you recommend and is also compatible with my MOBO?
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 11:54 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
OS: W7, SP1



Apart from the budget, the screen resolution is a crucial thing to consider when buying a GPU. In any case, definitely go for an AMD card from 7xxx series (newer tech, more power efficient). Check if a 7770 will do for you:
PowerColor Radeon HD 7770 1 GB Review - Page 26/30 | techPowerUp
A decent 7770 can be had for 130$ off Newegg.

However if you do not care for power saving and do not plan a mobo upgrade (ignore the whole PCIe 3.0 thing) anytime soon, then HD6850 might be a better bang for the buck:
Newegg.com - PowerColor AX6850 1GBD5-DH Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
It is a tad faster than 7770 indeed.

Games are not threaded too well even to this day, so the core clock still matters the most as opposed to the number of cores. 4 cores will do. Of course if there is a marginal difference in price between say Phenom II X4 955 and Phenom II X 6 1075, go for the 6-core. Otherwise don't sweat it.
__________________
Moontalker is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:08 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


Thanks moon I appreciate it, its nice to finally get an intelligent person who knows what there talking about and willing to answer my question correction, so again thanks very much.
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:34 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


So I guess what your saying is go for the 6 core rather than the 4 core if i have the money correct? And will the HD6850 graphics card you reffered be compatible with my mobo system bus (5.2 GT/s HyperTransport™ 3.0) and my expansion slots (1xPCIe 2.0 x16 , 1 x PCIe x1, 2 x PCI)? P.S. my screen resolution of 1366x768 should be fine right?
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 02:23 PM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,359
OS: XP Pro-7



Your M4A78LT-M mobo is an OEM (ASUS Essentio CM1630-05) unit. CPU's that are compatible with a retail version of a Mobo/Bios are not always compatible with the OEM version.
A 6850 GPU should be no problem with your Mobo.
I would suggest upgrading the GPU and PSU and see how it goes.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 11:46 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
OS: W7, SP1



At your screen resolution, you don't even need a HD6850. You will do fine with a slower, but newer and more power efficient HD7750:
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 11202-00-20G Radeon HD 7750 1GB GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
True, it is a slower card than HD6850, but at 1366x768 you won't feel the difference. Its advantages are newer tech (22nm vs. 40nm, core, RISC SIMD instructions, etc.) and extremely low power consumption (around 5-10w at idle and 50w at peak times). There is no external power source needed, HD7750 feeds itself from the PCIe slot, so you might even get away without a PSU upgrade. At your resolution it is just as good as Nvidia's GTX 550 Ti which is a great card but consumes 2x as much power. Compared to HD6850, it's going to be 20-25% slower, but as I said - your gaming is going to be smooth anyways. The only bottleneck might be the Athlon processor.

Concerning the processor, if the price difference between a 4-core and a 6-core CPUs you are looking at is rather small (up to 25-30$), go for the 6-core. If it is not, go with any of the high clocked Phenom IIs (955, 965, 970). Avoid Phenom II X4 920 and 940 as those are AM2+ processors, not AM3 and so they won't work with DDR3.

I agree with Tyree - unless you get your GPU and CPU in a combo deal, do not upgrade the CPU just yet. First change the graphic card - both HD6850 or HD7750 are great performers - and see what happens. Chances are you won't need a CPU update at all and all your games will be running smoothly with your current Athlon II X220.
__________________
Moontalker is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 01:35 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


Thank you both, you both have helped alot and gave me answers that for some odd reason i was having a problem finding out, thank you very much! To start I will deffinetly change the graphics card, psu, as you both suggest and see what happens. BUT if later on i decide to get a new CPU how will I tell if itll be compatible for my mobo OEM or retail???
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 02:00 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
OS: W7, SP1



There is a theoretical possibility that an OEM mobo is different from the retail version.
1. Check if it's visually identical to the one on the ASUS site:
ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS M4A78LT-M
2. Check your current Bios version - is it listed on the Bios download page?
ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS M4A78LT-M
3. Check the version of Bios needed for a particular CPU to work in the mobo:
ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS M4A78LT-M
Depending on a CPU you will be getting, you might need to update your Bios to the latest one (version 0802). In order to update the Bios you will need to use the current CPU (as it is already recognized by your current Bios version), so don't remove it just yet. For instance your Bios version is 0503 and you are going to buy Phenom II X4 975 which according to ASUS will only work with the Bios version 0802. Then before you go out and make a CPU purchase, you will need to update the Bios. Sometimes things go wrong during a Bios update and mobos get screwed, so to be on the safe side, update the Bios only if it is really needed and always prior to spending your hard earned cash on a CPU.
__________________
Moontalker is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 03:40 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


So I looked into my system bios at my start up of my Asus and it says that i have Bios Version 0402. Now I read on the Asus website in the sections you suggested and in the bios section of each CPU listed it says "If your motherboard BIOS version number is greater than the BIOS version listed above, then you will not need to flash your BIOS. However, if your BIOS version is smaller than the version listed above, then you will need to select and download the latest BIOS to update your system...etc." So would you be able to suggest a particular Phenom IIX4 or better on the list to which i will not have to update my bios to have?? (the lowest bio CPU listed is a 0205, does this mean any listed as 0205 will work with my mobo without a bios update?)
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 03:49 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
OS: W7, SP1



The initial release Bios is 0205 and then it's 0503, nothing (no 0402) in between. Are you certain your mobo is not M4A78LT-M LE instead? That one happens to have the 0402 Bios.
__________________
Moontalker is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 04:03 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
OS: Win7

My System


On my mobo it says M4A78LT-M/CM1630/DP_MB, even called Asus and double checked with them, so I know for a fact its the correct mobo. So do you think my mobo will be compatible with anything imbetween 0205 and 0503 or does it not work that way, and if not what do I do if I want to ever upgrade my CPU to something better?
__________________
kincaid88 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 04:35 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 88
OS: W7, SP1



To be on the safe side, go with one of the following (in case your gaming suffers even after the GPU upgrade):
1. Athlon IIX4 620 (ADX620WFK42GI)
2. Athlon IIX4 630 (ADX630WFK42GI)
3. Phenom IIX4 805 (HDX805WFK4FGI)
4. Phenom IIX4 810 (HDX810WFK4FGI)
5. Phenom IIX4 820 (HDX820WFK4FGI)
6. Phenom IIX4 910 (HDX910WFK4DGI)
7. Phenom IIX4 925 (HDX925WFK4DGI)
8. Phenom IIX4 945 (HDX945WFK4DGI)
Those are the stepping (revision) C2 chips which shall work with 0402, unlike the stepping C3 chips of the same model.

__________________
Moontalker is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus or Gigabyte as a Motherboard
Hey guys need some advice on new pc as mine was taken out by lightning. Looking at either an ASUS P7H55 or P7P55 with an I3-540 CPU. Looks like one of them doesn't support I3. Also saw the GIGABYTE P55-USB3L also with I3-540 CPU. Just want a reasonable gaming PC. My PC before was an ASUS P5QL Pro...
Johnny1982 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 01-21-2011 10:51 AM
[SOLVED] New asus motherboard , can see display after 30 seconds delay ? please see d
Motherboard P5G41-M LE/CSM Processor : Intel Celeron D processor , socket 775 Ram memory : PC2-6400 2x1GB sticks Recently changed my motherboard and used following ram and processor . system is booting okay, windows is running fine only problem i am having is when i starts up my...
bindudhindsa Motherboards, Bios & CPU 8 01-19-2011 12:40 PM
Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2012 and updated regularly
http://i.imgur.com/puBh9u1.png http://i.imgur.com/TTntwDe.pngPlease note that this post is out of date! Please review our newest and always up-to-date thread here: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/tsf-hardware-teams-recommended-builds-2013-a-668661.html
linderman Building 1 01-11-2010 05:08 AM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to bench test your build prior to full assembly you will save yourself hordes of time in troubleshooting a faulty component. The most efficient way to minimize lost...
linderman Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to bench test your build prior to full assembly you will save yourself hordes of time in troubleshooting a faulty component. The most efficient way to minimize lost...
linderman Building 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts