Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] Monitor won't turn on suddenly.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Monitor won't turn on suddenly. within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently factory restored my computer, today actually. I had it running fine and was installing some of my old


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2012, 06:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
OS: W7



I recently factory restored my computer, today actually. I had it running fine and was installing some of my old programs and transferring over some pictures I had put onto a flash drive. I left the computer on as I went out for 3 hours, allowing everything to finish and hope it'd be done by the time I got back. When I got back, the monitor was black and had a white stripe going across the middle with all weird colored dots within the white stripe. I figured the computer had frozen somehow, but now my monitor won't turn on at all. I manually restart the computer with the power button, I hear the fan going on and I even hear the beep noise, but my monitor is still black. When I touch the power button on my monitor, I get the noise it usually makes followed by the gateway logo. After a few seconds it just says no signal. What could be the issue here?

__________________
Noprisoners4lif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,288
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Can you try another monitor?

This will tell us if its the monitor or your video card.

__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
OS: W7



I planned on bringing the computer over a friends house tomorrow to test that theory out. Is that the only two issues? It's either the monitor or the VC ?
__________________
Noprisoners4lif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:45 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,288
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Noprisoners4lif View Post
I planned on bringing the computer over a friends house tomorrow to test that theory out. Is that the only two issues? It's either the monitor or the VC ?
There can always be other issues. It's just the Monitor and Video card are the most likely.

Post back tomorrow with your results from the other monitor.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 07:59 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,497
OS: XP Pro-7



Brand & Model Number of the gateway?
Has any hardware been added/changed from the original configuration?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 10:31 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
OS: W7



Well it started working again last night after I played around a bit with the DVI. I tried plugging it into my other DVI port on my vc and it worked. So I thought that DVI port got burned out, but then I tried putting it in the other DVI port that I thought was burned out and it worked too so I'm at a loss lol. I didn't do anything different than I did 2 hours prior but at least it's working right now.
__________________
Noprisoners4lif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 01:30 PM   #7
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,288
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Im glad its working. If there are any other errors please post back.

If you find that the monitor is working with no more problems please mark this topic as [SOLVED] with the thread tools at the top.

__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with simple Java game
Hello TSF, I've been learning Java recently, and I've been developing a small game that I've been having some problems with now that I'm in beta. It's mostly for me to test my skills, and I really didn't want to have to ask for help, but I can't figure this out for the life of me. So the way the...
Crockeo Programming 11 10-10-2012 06:06 PM
Computer turns itself off on normal mode, but doesn't turn itself off on safe mode.
Lately I have been having problems with my computer. It turns itself off (it doesn't say "Windows is shutting down..", it just dies.) when I am using it. It turns off after a few hours, sometimes after a few minutes. Then I would have to wait a few minutes until I can turn it on. Because it would...
computernoob777 Windows XP Support 2 08-01-2011 02:23 PM
Motherboard is getting power; but won't turn on
Alright, so this is the weirdest problem i've ever had with a computer. I have loads of experience with computers, and this problem absolutely baffles me. Please, help me find a solution. Well-here's the problem. About 2 weeks ago, i bought a new PSU (it's a thermaltake Tr2 600W). It worked...
Jas.Savage Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 07-07-2011 07:50 PM
Keyboard Turns Back on After power off, requiring two pushes to turn on/off the com
Dear computer gods, I recently purchased a M2N68-AM PLUS motherboard. It has two problems, one being 4 question marks in the hardware manager (the computer can't seem to install drivers for "High Definition Audio Bus") and the other more annoying one being requiring 2 power button pushes to...
neotruman Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 05-09-2011 06:20 AM
[SOLVED] Computer suddenly can't turn on
A friend of mine owns a Gateway SX2840-01. It came with a 220W power supply, so when he wanted a new video card, he obviously needed a new power supply. And, because it came with a micro tower, he needed to take it out of the case. Well, he did that. Connected it to a Corsair 650W power supply...
RobertM525 RAM and Power Supply Support 10 05-01-2011 07:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts