Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] HP minitower Red Blinking light, and beeping noise

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] HP minitower Red Blinking light, and beeping noise within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When I was on my HP minitown (forgot model name) everything was normal, then I restarted my computer go get


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



When I was on my HP minitown (forgot model name) everything was normal, then I restarted my computer go get no display, red blinking light where hard drive cylinder is, and beeps. What does this mean??

__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:14 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


What model number? You should be able to get this info from a sticker on the tower.

How many beeps?How many times does the red light blink.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



5 Beeps, HP dx5150, and and 5 blinking red lights that are played with the 5 beeps
__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:32 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


I would suggest that you start with testing the memory.

Try removing all but one module and attempt to boot, swapping modules between attempts

Make sure all power is removed from the PC before attempting any work inside.

According to HP this is either a memory error or motherboard problem
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	memory.PNG
Views:	61
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	113555  
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:41 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



It works with only one piece of RAM :(
__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:46 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



Anyway I can make it so that I have my original RAM back in place
__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:46 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



because i'm not liking the 256mb out of my 1gb
__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:51 PM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


How much memory did you have installed?

Have you tested all the memory individually to see if the PC still boots.

If the problem point to a specific module then replace it.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:59 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



1gb and I just found out that the RAM work on one slot, like I bought more am fo the computer and the ram I bought seperat has to go in he blue slots, and the original RAM that came with i has to go in the black slots-_-
__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:07 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



And also I have a couple of old Dell laptops that won't receive any power can someone help???!??
__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:07 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Victorville, ca
Posts: 147
OS: windows 7 x64



You should not mix match your RAM, if the new RAM is not the same as the old RAM they may not work together. What are the newer memory sticks? Brand/amount?

Aareleb
__________________
aareleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:09 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Tyler S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 40
OS: 95, 98, 2000, XP, Vista, 7



That came with it is hp, and the one that is new is Samsung and they ar both PC3200 and 256mb
__________________
Tyler S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:16 PM   #13
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Mixing memory brand/specs can sometime be problematic as well as filling all the slots.

With this model a 2GB (1GBx2) kit would be ideal if you are looking to upgrade.

As for the other Dell PC's once you are done with this thread you can mark

solved under Thread Tools at the top of this page and and start a new thread for the other PC and problems.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 11:19 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Victorville, ca
Posts: 147
OS: windows 7 x64



try using just the new RAM and not the old RAM, try one stick at a time. Most times you dont want to use different brands of memory at the same time..
Aareleb

__________________
aareleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts