Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] Computer locks up on boot up...

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Computer locks up on boot up... within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Well just to say when ever i shut down my computer for the night and come back to it the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2011, 11:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview



Well just to say when ever i shut down my computer for the night and come back to it the next day to boot it up. It takes about 15 times of turning it on and off to boot to windows 7. At first when I turn the power on all the lights and fans turn on, but shows nothing on the monitor and the load light shows nothing. after about 4-5 tries it gets a bit farther and starts to lock up at the Windows boot screen for another 10 tries.

My system is:

OS: Windows 7 SP1 and Windows 8 Developer Preview (Dual Boot Options)
CPU: Intel P4 2.8Ghz HT
RAM: 3GB Kingston ValuRAM
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 2600HD PRO AGP
HDD: Maxtor 250GB

Where would be a good place to start some diagnostics?

__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 12:52 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Two things I would suggest you check:

1. File System errors:
Right-click the system drive icon and choose Properties, click the Tools tab.
Click Check Now.
Tick both options.
Click Start. (you then have to restart Windows for a check of the system drive).

2. Check the drive itself for physical faults using the drive maker's own diagnostic software. The links are at top of this page: Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.

The drive may pass the diagnostic test (and I hope it does), but at least you will know that's not the cause of your problem and you can proceed to look elsewhere or post again, saying that it's already been tested & passed so we don't go around in circles.

__________________
pip22 is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 03:16 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview



Okay, so i did the test and everything passed. no signs of issues with the drive itself
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 04:46 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
fritzyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Philippines
Posts: 53
OS: Windows XP Professional SP3 ; Windows7 Professional SP1 ; Windows7 Ultimate SP1

My System


Is your System unit case open??
if so, please check your wiring....

and also please check your GPU if it has grease on it or what...
^_^
__________________
fritzyG is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 04:50 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,959
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


It sounds like your PSU is failing. Open the side of the case and post the make, model # and wattage. Boot into Setup (Bios) and post the 12V settings for the PSU. You could also download speccy after it scans the computer go up to File/Publish Snapshot, copy the URL to the clipboard and paste it in your next post.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 04:51 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

Did you do both the tests pip22 detailed, as you said, 'did the test'.?

Can you let us know the make, model and wattage of your Power Supply.

Did this happen before the duel boot with W8 or immediately after?
__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:21 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview



my PSU is a Seasonic S12D 850watt and its only 7 months old
and this has gone on way before win8 installation.

like the system locks up right when the power is turned on, after a few time turning it off and on it makes it way to ram check and locks up a few times more... then its starts to lock up at the windows boot screen before the flaggy thing shows up repeat on off a few more times and vwala it loads windows and runs fine...
Attached Files
File Type: txt GUBERX-PC.txt (48.1 KB, 14 views)
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:33 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,959
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Boot into Setup (Bios) and post the 12V settings for the PSU. You could also download speccy after it scans the computer go up to File/Publish Snapshot, copy the URL to the clipboard and paste it in your next post.
Can you tell us the 12V settings for the PSU?
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 06:17 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview



__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 06:25 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

Whilst spunk.funk looks at your voltages, another idea would be to run some tests on your RAM sticks with memtest86+ There are three ways to run the test, either from a CD/ USB or Floppy Disk.

If you are using the CD method, you will need to burn the ISO to a CD and then boot to the CD and run at least 7 passes on each stick and in each slot (only the ones that are being used).

There is an auto-installer for doing it via USB (again, you will have to change the boot order to boot to the USB if you choose this method)

For the floppy disk method, download the Pre-Compiled package for Floppy (DOS - Win) and open the folder. Place your Floppy Disk in the drive and double click on install.bat (install64.bat if using 64bit OS) Enter the Floppy Drive location (typically A:/) and hit Enter. Then just leave the Floppy in the drive and reboot. Set Floppy as first boot device in BIOS. Upon reboot memtest will automatically run. As always let it run for at least 7 passes for each stick and in each used slot.

All downloads can be found halfway down the page. The reason that you should run it on one stick at a time, is so, if there is a fault with one of the sticks, then it's easy to figure out which one it is.

Also, have you tried booting with just the 1 RAM stick in and remove (from it's slot and use on-board gfx) the GFX card (Sapphire Radeon 2600HD PRO AGP)

Your PSU is a good make, and fairly new, but even good one's can go bad for varying reasons.
__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 09:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview


I'm currently running memtest86+ v4.10 right now. This is part of the "Ultimate Boot CD" which has tones of diagnostic tools for PC. I am running the memtest with all my ram and gfx card installed. The memtest might take a couple hours to do since it's on it's first pass still and it's been running for 14mins already and it's 32% done the pass lol
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 11:55 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview


Memtest passed with no errors
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-23-2011, 09:53 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview


So as far as it's going I still get a lock up at random points of boot up. The only thing I can't test is video card cuz I do not have another card to test with and the mobo has no on-board video.
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-23-2011, 08:43 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview


I'll consider this a dead thread since there's no more replies
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-23-2011, 09:09 PM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



is it the same in both op. systems

what about in safe mode

check the event viewer and see if anything is listed at the time of the problem

check for a bios update

check for bad caps the m/b is from the era of the caps problem

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...vzV2WpTArNyC9A
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 09-23-2011, 10:41 PM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,959
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
It sounds like your PSU is failing. Open the side of the case and post the make, model # and wattage. Boot into Setup (Bios) and post the 12V settings for the PSU. You could also download speccy after it scans the computer go up to File/Publish Snapshot, copy the URL to the clipboard and paste it in your next post.
I asked you for the PSU 12V settings which can be read in the Bios or from Speccy but you didn't respond.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 11:43 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview



+1.5v-in - - 1.493 V
Vccp - - 1.482 V
+3.3V-in - - 3.413 V
+5V-in - - 5.184 V
+12V-in - - 12.187 V
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 12:16 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 55
OS: XP Pro SP3; Mint Linux KDE



This problem could ALSO be caused by defective (leaking / bulging) capacitors on the motherboard. Check this photo and look for similar damage on your motherboard:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v711/whurd/Bad.jpg

The tops of the caps MUST be FLAT; most of them will be, but if even ONE cap is bulging / leaking goo, the cap is BAD and must be replaced. I've done this repair MANY times over the last ten years; I first noticed it with (cheap!) Vanta TNT video cards back when I worked in a VERY busy repair center (1998 - 2002), although motherboards are the primary victims these days, at least as far as PCs are concerned. In fact, I'm still waiting on caps I ordered (locally) last week for a Biostar NF4 Ultra-A9A motherboard...

You can find out more about the "bad caps" nightmare here:

Badcaps.net - Badcaps Home

Not GOOD news, but it helps to pay the mortgage for some of us...

Pay CLOSE attention to the caps nearest the CPU, as those tend to be part of the voltage regulator circuitry, and seem most prone to failure. Let us know if you find any suspicious caps, and we'll help you decide the best way to deal with the problem.
__________________
cowpuncher is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 12:18 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
is it the same in both op. systems

what about in safe mode

check the event viewer and see if anything is listed at the time of the problem

check for a bios update

check for bad caps the m/b is from the era of the caps problem

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...vzV2WpTArNyC9A
what kind of thing would i be looking for in the event viewer?
__________________
GuberX is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 12:33 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Win7SP1, Win8-Developer Preview


Well I found the problem thanx to "cowpuncher"

Found a bad cap
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4278529695.png
Views:	45
Size:	891.1 KB
ID:	98209  

__________________
GuberX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Boot new computer.
The computer that I have been using will shut itself down when first booting up. He plan that I have is to copy the boot files from the C drive to my external hard drive then boot my new computer just like the booting of the old computer. What do I need to do to make this work. Also how can I...
HCTIW Motherboards, Bios & CPU 8 08-07-2011 08:49 AM
Can't Boot Computer (Media Test Failure) - URGENT!
Yesterday while watching an online baseball stream and simultaneously browsing facebook, my computer randomly gave me an error message. Unfortunately I don't remember what the message was about. What I do remember is that I immediately opened a new firefox tab and searched up the error. I ...
es0terik Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 07-15-2011 09:12 PM
No Video, Computer Won't Boot, Please Help!
I am fairly new to this forum and to forums in general, so please bear with me here. I have a couple of interesting scenarios here, which are both causing me a lot of frustration. I will outline both below in as much detail as possible, and if anyone has any suggestions or solutions... it would...
jscochrum Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 02-23-2011 07:11 PM
[SOLVED] Computer boot problems
Hello, I have a Gateway GT5624e (support site) that won't boot. It was purchased refurbished about 2.5 years ago from Tiger Direct, Windows Vista Home Premium installed. About 6 months ago it would start randomly shutting off while playing flash games on Facebook. Since then it has been shutting...
trav90 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 13 02-11-2011 08:36 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts