Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] Computer keeps shutting down (mostly during Windows startup)

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Computer keeps shutting down (mostly during Windows startup) within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm going to try and make this as detailed as possible so you can clearly understand my problem. Basically, my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2011, 09:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3


Question

I'm going to try and make this as detailed as possible so you can clearly understand my problem. Basically, my computer is shutting down shortly after Windows is loaded.

Here are my specs:
Motherboard: ASUS P5LD2
Processor: Pentium D 3.2Ghz
RAM: 3GB (Kingston) - 1GB per slot
Video Card: ATI Radeon 4670HD
Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi (Music edition)
Other peripherals: Hauppage WinTV-PVR 150 TV Tuner
Hard Drive: Seagate 1TB (will need to check model number)
Running: Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3

When my computer initially shutdown for the first time, I downloaded an App called "SpeedFan" to determine the CPU temperature. It would reach around 80C during heavy usage. Also, during this time I was having problems with the GPU fan creating a lot of noise (mostly) during startup. No matter how much I cleaned the GPU fan and hotsink, the noise would come back.

So I went to the store and bought some thermal paste. Although I consider myself pretty tech savy, I've never worked with CPUs and CPU fans. So during the process of applying thermal paste and removing/replacing the CPU fan I broke the plastic connectors on my stock CPU fan that connected it to the motherboard. Since I didn't want my CPU fan hanging off the CPU, I bought a new CPU fan/hotsink, stripped off the old thermal paste and reapplied it. By the way, the new fan/hotsink is much larger. Instead of the fan being directly above the hotsink, thermal pipes extend from the CPU to a vertical hotsink and the fan attaches to the hotsink. The fan points downwards towards the expansion slots. Note: Will get the model if anyone is interested.

While I had thermal paste, I reapplied it between the GPU and hotsink remembering to remove the old first. So booted up the computer and temperature dropped to a nice 50C. The video card, for the first time in months, was completely quiet.

It worked for a night, shut it down. Start it up the next morning and it shutdown again just barely after it starts Windows.


This is where I have problems. I'm not sure what else is causing this but I'm getting a lot of false positives as to where the problem lies.
  1. Not enough airflow. My computer sits in a wooden desk in a compartment near the floor. There is no back panel or front panel, just side and bottom panels. There is usually about 4 inches of space between the case fan and side panel if I move the case side without the fan against the side panel. I pulled my computer out of that compartment so it's on the ground. Again, worked fine for a bit then after shut off and start up. The computer shuts down during or slightly after Windows start-up.
  2. One of my two DVD burners will not open the CD/DVD-tray. Tried removing it completely from my system.
  3. I ran a test of the hard drive using SeaTools (Seagate's hard drive testing tool - required to run before an RMA can be issued). It failed the long hard drive test saying there were bad sectors found. I unfortunately never got the code though because as I was reading the message, the computer shut down. Subsequent attempts to run this test never got as far as the first time before shutting down.
  4. Put in an old hard drive I used before I upgraded. It's a Seagate too, about 400GB. I did a quick format, installed Windows XP Media Center, downloaded mostly all the available updates via Windows Update. Was also able to install:
    - Microsoft Security Essentials
    - Firefox
    - Google Chrome
    - latest ATI drivers (as of Oct. 31, 2011)
    - Steam
    Thought everything was perfect. Shut it down, started it back up the next day. Shut down again in Windows.
  5. Removed and disconnected everything but the CPU+fan and memory. (i.e. removed all components - video card, sound card, TV Tuner, all DVD drives, and hard drive). Seemed to work fine.
As of right now, the old hard drive is in (400GB) and it's failing during Windows startup (even in safe mode).

I have a feeling it's my motherboard and if it is, I'd rather buy a new PC than buy a new one. I've always wanted to get a new up-to-date PC anyways but I'd like to hold out until at least boxing day and hopefully find a good new PC on sale. But I'd rather not be out a PC for a month and a half, so any suggestions? If anything needs clarification let me know.

__________________
KillerKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 11:59 AM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


I'd really want to test with a different PSU, same wattage or better. You didn't list what's in your computer now and we'd like to know what you have.

You might want to do a bench test to narrow down the failure. Here: Bench test...

Or borrow or buy based on this guide, PSU selection guide then test again connecting one device at a time.

__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 04:39 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



The Mobo is a possibility but not the most likely.
Brand & Model of the PSU?
Speedfan is for fans and rarely gives accurate Temp results. Use the Bios for the most reliable Temp & Voltage readings.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 07:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3



My PSU is an Orion - model number: HP585D 585W.

I've just tried turning my computer on with my no DVD/HD drives but left my video card, sound card, and TV tuner card in and it's been running for about 15 minutes non-stop. I'll try plugging in one thing at a time and see what fails.
__________________
KillerKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:48 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3



Update: As it turns out, I can leave everything in my computer except my hard drive and the computer runs just fine for at least 10-15 minutes (before I just shut it down manually). If I plug in the hard drive, computer shuts down in about a minute or two after launch.

While I was testing this, I took my old hard drive (the original Seagate 1TB drive), put it in an external enclosure, plugged it in to my wife's laptop, and ran a "Long Generic" test in SeaTools for Windows and it passed. I find this completely odd because when I originally ran it on my computer through DOS, it said it failed.

I'm not sure what this means. A help desk specialist who I work with thought it might be the memory. I can test that tonight and try booting it up with just one stick of 1GB memory and see what happens. If it fails, I try again with a different stick until all 3 have been done then I can try and make a conclusion.

Any other ideas?
__________________
KillerKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:47 PM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Your Mobo is Dual Channel so using 3 RAM sticks you are in Single Channel Mode. I doubt that is your problem but performance suffers.
Try using one RAM stick at a time.
My primary concern would be the Orion (HEC) PSU. It's about as close to junk as you can get. You do not get anywhere near a good quality 585W PSU for $30.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:12 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3



Alright, now I'm really confused.

I burned the latest Memtest86 to a CD so I can run it on startup.
  1. Started with the original 3GB of RAM and booted it up. Didn't work, shut down again.
  2. Took out 2 sticks of RAM left the one in DIMM A1 in. Booted it up, Memtest ran for about 5 minutes then just hung. Didn't show any errors though. So I rebooted and during the second test the computer shut down.
  3. Took out that stick of RAM, put the second one in the same slot as the original, booted it up and memtest ran successfully through all tests. Shut down the computer.
  4. Took out the second stick of RAM, put the third stick in the same slot as the last two, and memtest ran successfully through all tests. Shut down the computer.
  5. Took the second good stick of RAM and put it in DIMM A2. Booted up the computer and it seemed to work fine. Shut down the computer.
  6. Took out the old 400GB drive (the one I just formatted with a new install of Windows) and put back my good, original 1TB drive back in. Booted up the computer. Working fine for at least 10-15 minutes before I manually shut down.
Went to bed, woke up in the morning, booted up my computer, loaded a program and just after it launched - computer shut down. Booted it up again and it shutdown again loading Windows.

So, so confused....I thought it had it figured out. So maybe it is my power supply? But can a power supply just gain and lose power randomly? What else could it be?
__________________
KillerKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:04 AM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



MemTest needs to be ran on all RAM sticks one stick at a time.
Your PSU is a very valid concern and can cause the problems you are experiencing.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:59 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3



Hmmm, I found the website for my power supply here. It says it is compatible with Intel Pentium 4 and AMD. I should have researched this before I ran out and bought the cheapest PSU available...but could that have an effect if it's not a compatible chip (i.e. Pentium D)? I'm thinking I could RMA it back to them....
__________________
KillerKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:07 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Media Center Edition SP3



FYI It was the power supply causing the problem. Once I got that replaced, it is working fine. I also found out the power supply I was using isn't genuine so I couldn't RMA it but I was able to get a replacement from the retail store I purchased it from.
__________________
KillerKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:11 PM   #11
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Happy you have it sorted out.

Please navigate to the top of the page, click 'Tread Tools' and click 'Solved'.

Thanks.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:27 PM   #12
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



This is quiet a thread,I would recommend what was suggested in post 2,If your problem still persists I would replace the power supply..

__________________
brobarapas


Google is your friend
brobarapas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 07:36 PM
Can someone help me see what's up?
I'm a real computer noob I don't know exactly what's going on but ill try to describe it, mostly I'm concerned about a keylogger though. The other problems are every now and then on Google I'll click a link and I'll get sent to some random website, sometimes outta nowhere a new tab will open up to...
soboman Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 05-13-2011 03:20 PM
bad image error and norton 360
Hi, My initial problem was trying to get rid of the "Bad Image" error message that has been popping up on literally every file and folder on my PC (Windows XP). Situation has gone from bad to worse as i installed norton 360 5.0. Now nothing works, unable to connect to the internet, unable to...
royalmc Resolved HJT Threads 25 04-07-2011 08:36 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 04:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts