Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] Cannot get into BIOS?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Cannot get into BIOS? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Windows 7 64-bit Motherboard: F1A75-M Asus Hard Drive: Seagate Barracude 7200 Sata 3.0 320GB Processor: Llano AMD A8-3850 2.9GHz Quad


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2012, 01:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7



Windows 7 64-bit
Motherboard: F1A75-M Asus
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracude 7200 Sata 3.0 320GB
Processor: Llano AMD A8-3850 2.9GHz Quad Core
Memory: 12gigs DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance RAM
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti - 2gb GDDR5 - 256bit
(Dual Monitor - DVI)
Power Supply: 600w Corsair
-------------------------

When I boot or reboot my screen remains black for about 3-5 minutes and then Windows will boot.

I do not see my boot screen (where it says "Press DEL to enter BIOS" ), nor am I able to boot into Safe Mode holding down the F8 key.


Any ideas on what could possibly be causing this?

The system is brand new, and windows was just installed for the first time about 4 days ago. I have never been able to enter BIOS or start in Safe Mode.

__________________
mrush0623 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:44 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
OS: XP


Try these immediately after booting.

F1, F2, F10, F12
CTRL + ALT + ESC
ESC

__________________
PaulDC is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 06:57 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,001
OS: XP Pro-7



Use the Delete key to enter the Bios.
Note: I would strongly suggest you upgrade your PSU to a better quality 650W minimum PSU.
I would also suggest removing the odd RAM stick to take advantage of Dual Channel Mode and it's performance advantages. 8GB will be more than enough.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 03:09 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 7



This has been solved by doing the following

Unplugged the monitors from my graphics card
Used the on board Video
(This allowed me to enter BIOS)
I went to the monitor Settings in my BIOS
Changed from Integrated Graphics to PCI-E

I now see the BIOS splash screen upon booting my PC.
__________________
mrush0623 is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 03:17 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,001
OS: XP Pro-7



Glad you got it resolved. For future reference, using the Delete key will get you to the Bios on that Mobo.
Get the PSU upgraded and your good.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot uninstall app
Hey everyone, I'm running OS X 10.7.2 on a 13in Macbook Pro and I decided to install an app called 'Startupsound.prePane' from: Download StartupSound.prefPane for Mac - Control the volume of the startup chime. MacUpdate.com I installed the latest stable release of this program but when I tried...
Quartix Mac Support 5 03-11-2012 10:24 PM
sometimes cannot access network computers with ip/sometimes cannot with name
Hi, I usually access my network computers by typing "\\ipaddress" in run command. But sometimes this doesn't work so I have to type the computer name to access it. Similarly, sometimes i could not access with name but could access with ip . I wonder why it happens like this and how to sort it...
comonforall Networking Support 7 02-27-2012 08:57 AM
D/L files cannot be opened.
When I download software (or an app from CB) and open the download I find that often at least one file, when I open it, has become unusable. In appearance the file is now shown as an oblong outline with the top rt. hand corner turned down. Inside is a square with three 'tear drop' shapes side by...
Ibex Windows XP Support 2 02-26-2012 04:51 PM
Internal HDD (laptop) not seen in BIOS
Hello all. I have an HP G60-235DX laptop, purchased in May 2009. A few months ago, the hard drive in the machine failed and could not be restored. Now, I'm making an effort to fix the computer. I purchased a new hard drive to replace the old broken device, and it should be compatible. The...
wyldephang Hard Drive Support 7 02-26-2012 10:25 AM
[SOLVED] Can you install a driver with out the video card plugged into the hdmi ?
I'm trying to install my video card but I don't have the mini hdmi thing for my tv yet, the video card seems to have its fan running, but the driver will not see the hardware its self. I'm running off the onboard with the motherboard but I have the videocard installed correctly I don't see why I...
Dev in need Video Card Support 16 02-26-2012 07:48 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts