Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] Boot Failure

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Boot Failure within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2007, 09:19 PM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
OS: WinXP Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by eneles View Post
Thére is a problem with the BIOS settings AND drivers/software in Windows. Let us concentrate on the BIOS issue first:
Please list which channels the drives (CD, DVD, HDDs) are connected to the motherboard. Check the cables/connectors inside the case to see if they are broken or loose.
My IDE1 (Blue) isn't connected to anything. My IDE2 is connected to both my CD and DVD drives, but I'm not sure how to identify the Master and Slave IDEs.

MY HDD is not connected to any IDE slots, instead it is connected via the SATA cable. Though I have no idea why its detected as Secondary IDE Master.


Quote:
Let's verify that you have the latest Bios. Please post the circled info in the image below. This is the actual Bios ver and release date info. Click image for larger view.
The strange thing is after I got the PC to be able to boot up, this BIOS screen is being skipped for some reason. I get a black loading screen and it boots directly to my Windows XP instead.

__________________
divinesage is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:17 PM   #22
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Under On-chip ATAs make try the following settings:

Ata Configuration = Pata+Sata
Combined Mode Option = Sata 1st Channel
Sata Ports Definition = P0-Master / P1-Slave

If this doesn't work then post back and we'll try some other settings, but I believe this will get you booting to the Sata channel and allow your Secondary IDE channel to be seen by Windows.

Now, before you exit bios, go to Advanced Bios Features and disable "Quick boot" and "Full Screen Logo". (This will allow you to see the 1st boot screen where you'll be able to retrieve the Bios string I requested. You can hit the "Pause" key on the keyboard if you need time to write it down. To continue booting simply hit enter.) Save and Exit.

Post back with results of the new configuration and the Bios string.

mattlock is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:55 PM   #23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
OS: WinXP Pro



Okay great! My CD and DVD drives are found!

As for the BIOS, the version is pretty outdated:
AMIBios - A6728IMS V3.A 092904

Hmm, I guess the BIOS problem is solved. But I still have my DirectX problem, I'm pretty unsure whether it's still the BIOS problem or something other than that.

Thanks for the help!
__________________
divinesage is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:08 AM   #24
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Glad to hear you've got your optical drives back.

The Bios is old, but it's actually the latest release.

As for the DX issue, I'm going let Eneles take back over from here. You're in very capable hands.

Have a great day.

One last thought, if you continue to get the Dram settings error, you might consider loosing up your memory timings a tad bit in Bios or giving the Vdimm a slight bump.
mattlock is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:18 AM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
OS: WinXP Pro



Hmm, thanks for the help!

I think I would try not to touch the DRAM settings, lest I get another big problem on my hands.
__________________
divinesage is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:40 AM   #26
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



Please reinstall DirectX9.0c. You also have to reinstall the driver for your video card:

Download and install Driver cleaner. Don't use the program yet.

Uninstall ALL ATI drivers in Control panel > Add or remove programs.

Reboot and start Driver cleaner and remove any remaining ATI driver software.

Reboot again and update the chipset driver at MSI's website.

Reboot once again - download and install the Catalyst 6.2 driver from ATI.

After a final reboot it should be working.
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:48 AM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
OS: WinXP Pro



Hmm, quick question, the Catalyst 6.2 Driver is for Windows 2000, do I get the XP version instead?
__________________
divinesage is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:56 AM   #28
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by divinesage View Post
Hmm, quick question, the Catalyst 6.2 Driver is for Windows 2000, do I get the XP version instead?
Sorry. Guess I'm not fully awake yet (morning here) . Try this driver.
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 03:01 AM   #29
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
OS: WinXP Pro



I followed your instructions, and did everything in order. But the same problem is still there, DirectX is unable to detect acceleration.
__________________
divinesage is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 03:38 AM   #30
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



Please post a screenshot of Device manager with "Display adapters" expanded (click the +).
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 04:41 AM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
OS: WinXP Pro



Nothing appears wrong there. Though I find it funny why only accleration is disabled, I mean the GFX card still allows me to switch resolutions, so I don't suppose it's faulty?

__________________
divinesage is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 05:04 AM   #32
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



Yeah, it looks OK. Weird . Try installing this driver. Make sure you have Microsoft .NET Framework installed. Remember to remove the old driver prior to installing the new one. Install the driver in VGA mode (tap F8 when the computer is booting) with antivirus/antimalware disabled.
__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:24 PM   #33
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 25
OS: WinXP Pro



So it was the .NET Framework problem I suppose? Because it's fixed now.

Thank you so much!

*Bows*
__________________
divinesage is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:40 PM   #34
Not...
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22,264
OS: Xp



Glad you got it fixed

__________________
Deleted090308 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New IDE hd problem, Disk boot failure
I've recently purchased a new IDE hd. Attempting to get my Win XP installed on it, and running into some problems. It skips through the normal loading screens(motherboard screens, no Windows screens), then I run into 'Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk and Press Enter'. Currently, I have my Bios...
Jambi80 Hard Drive Support 41 09-11-2006 04:34 PM
boot Failure?
hello, I recently had an old computer go down, when I boot to it, after the BIOS/post it will then say "boot failure, please insert a:\ boot disk". First I try and reinstall checking all the cables are in the right place, they are. I try double checking the floppy drive and CD, they check fine....
Siten0308 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 08-17-2006 03:46 PM
ad.yieldmanager, inqwire, & clickandtrack popups
Hi! I have a nasty case of ad.yieldmanager popup. It is often accompanied by Inqwire and clickandtrack popups. Can somebody please tell me how to delouse my system? I hope somebody else is working on Thanksgiving Day! I am running Windows 98SE w/IE6 and all the updates. I use Firefox...
LeftieLouie Resolved HJT Threads 33 12-21-2005 01:33 AM
[resolved] Disk boot failure, help needed
With windows xp, i upgraded my norton 2005 to 2006. After this, whenever i boot i recieve a message stating "Disk boot failure, system disk required". This means that i can now only boot with my windows xp disk. Does anyone know of this problem or what can solve it? thanks. Bobo
hypermonkey2 Windows XP Support 2 10-25-2005 07:55 AM
Computer wont boot
i have an compaq 433au personal workstation which doesnt boot . It stops abruptly with 7 beeps with no display in monitor. can anyone :1angel: :1angel: :1angel: save me :1angel: :1angel: :1angel:
cmsteddy Motherboards, Bios & CPU 8 08-16-2005 09:02 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts