Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[SOLVED] Asus P5E3 Deluxe (boot beep codes)

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Asus P5E3 Deluxe (boot beep codes) within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just swapped around some things on the board (video card and hard drives) and when I tried to boot,


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2012, 01:11 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 924
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



I just swapped around some things on the board (video card and hard drives) and when I tried to boot, the system did not POST and gave a beep code.

1 long beep to start and then 3 shorter beeps.

It did boot eventually, but it did it again when I restarted after the video card reconfigured itself in Windows.

__________________
silvergoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 02:00 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 924
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



What do the beeps mean? Are the codes universal or dependent on the manufacturer?

__________________
silvergoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,004
OS: XP Pro-7



For your Bios, 1 long and 3 short beeps relates to a RAM issue. Try reseating your RAM.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 04:04 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 924
OS: Windows 7 64-bit



My search pointed at the video card. I put the video card back in the first slot, and it booted fine. If it happens again, then it will be the memory.

This board had some problems.....guy that sold it to me didn't tell me about a bad capacitor, and since I swapped it out myself....well there was a learning curve that left me with only 2 operating slots and some likely damaged leads on the backside of the motherboard. It has been working fine (if not overclocked) until today's issue.

I'll keep an eye on it, I'd just hate to have to replace it so soon.
__________________
silvergoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 06:56 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,004
OS: XP Pro-7



Glad you got it resolved.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] webcam on asus u36jc not working
hi. i need your help with the in-built webcam on my asus u36jc not working. actually, it happens suddenly, cannot log in with the smart logon, cannot make video call on skype, etc. is there anyway to diagose this fault and how to remedy. thanks in advance for your help
neeleshbo Laptop Support 14 06-16-2012 10:15 AM
Unable to boot up properly
Hi all, I'm not sure if this is the right place to be posting, mostly because i dont know what the problem is exactly. My computer is an Alienware Aurora running Windows 7 home premium. Was on the internet the other day when the computer just shutdown and when i attempted to restart it...
Neeba BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 03-31-2012 03:59 PM
[SOLVED] cant boot into WIndows normally in GUI mode.. ??
Well I previously had only one user profile(ADMIN), but I dont know if I messed up with some updates and my PC went damn slow and when I rebooted, it automatically appeared a USER PROFILE LOGIN screen(which dont use to come up previously). When I enter into profile without typing password, it...
Syed Azmat Windows XP Support 14 03-31-2012 01:54 PM
Asus laptop not recognizing micro sd card
I put the micro sd card in and it says flash drive 15.2mb but its a micro sd 16gb. I put it in my gateway desktop and it recognizes it fine. any suggestions? should i buy a usb reader?
bocaccio Laptop Support 3 03-31-2012 05:57 AM
Reboot and select proper boot device : WINDOWS xp
Hi guys, My computer was working fine until today when i switched it on i got this message- Reboot and select proper boot device. I tried changing the boot device priority in BIOS but its not working. Help please? And i have some important files saved,i hope they won't get deleted. Is there...
Shruty Windows XP Support 5 03-30-2012 01:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts