Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

socket 2011 or 1155?

This is a discussion on socket 2011 or 1155? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I'm trying to decide what mobo I want for my gaming/video ediiting pc build. I've gotten a few suggestions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2013, 09:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 28
OS: windows 7



So I'm trying to decide what mobo I want for my gaming/video ediiting pc build. I've gotten a few suggestions from people to really look towards the x79 mobo's that have the 2011 socket. They say that the 2011 should have a longer shelf life due to its support of future 6 core CPU's from intel. My question is do you guys thinks its worth getting a 2011 mobo? or should I just stick with the 1155 mobo? If you think 2011 then what 2011 mobo would you suggest? (going for a 1500 - 1700 dollar pc).

__________________
boagz57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:02 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,598
OS: Windows 7

My System


its your choice you wont be disappointed with either. Remember no game will use four cores never mind six. Hardly any game will use a full 2 cores.

I have an 1155 z77 mobo and it will do me for 5 years gaming wise with no problem.

The general rule of thumb when deciding on what parts to get is that you decide on the cpu first then get a mobo that's appropriate for it.

When deciding on a cpu you also need to ask yourself are you going to overclock or run lots of threads at the same time.

The hasiwell is a good chip and uses less power but it doesn't overclock aswell as the ivy bridge or sandy bridge. The hasiwell along with the appropriate mobo will also be upgradeable to the next make of cpu after hasiwell which I cant remember the name of.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 28
OS: windows 7



Thanks for the reply! Well let me ask you this. I'm not only going to be playing video games but video editing as well. I plan on editing ripped Bluray video. So do you think it would be better to get something like the i7 3820 (2011) or lets say the i7 3770k (1155)?
__________________
boagz57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 10:57 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,598
OS: Windows 7

My System


i would go for the 3770k and I would go for 16GB RAM although none of your games will use anywhere near 8 but the editing will go past 8.

i would go i5 or i7 but not lga 2011 because there are no more cpus coming out for it. So go for 1155 or 1366 i7 best for video editing, i5 best for gaming.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 28
OS: windows 7



Oh, I thought people were saying that intel would be coming out with new 6 core cpu's that were going to be compatible with the 2011 mobo's?
__________________
boagz57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:23 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,598
OS: Windows 7

My System


there are already 6 core cpu's for it. They are labelled extreme and cost £900
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 12:25 PM   #7
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,587
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by greenbrucelee View Post
i would go for the 3770k and I would go for 16GB RAM although none of your games will use anywhere near 8 but the editing will go past 8.

i would go i5 or i7 but not lga 2011 because there are no more cpus coming out for it. So go for 1155 or 1366 i7 best for video editing, i5 best for gaming.
Ditto! ^

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD instantly after turning on from sleep mode
Hi guys, Recently purchased a refurbished PC (last week) and have come across my first BSODs. Sorry i don't know the code of the first BSOD but the second one is the following: BCCode: 1000007e BCP1: FFFFFFFFC0000096 BCP2: FFFFF8800562914C BCP3: FFFFF8800335B3E8 BCP4: FFFFF8800335AC40 OS...
jamestt BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 22 06-20-2012 03:07 PM
[SOLVED] BSOD on Startup
I am getting a BSOD on start up if my graphics card is in and its power cable is connected, works in safe mode. If its power cable is not connected and the monitor plugged to the motherboard everything is stable but no video hardware is detected (No games can be loaded). I tested all the...
Shogeki BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 19 06-15-2012 10:07 AM
System Crashes with no BSOD
Answers to jcgriff2's questions: · OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Win 7 · x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? x64 · What was original installed OS on system? Win 7 · Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? OEM · Age of system (hardware) 3...
Bigreenmonster BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 45 04-12-2012 04:44 PM
help please!! grand fantasia BSOD
I need help please I can only run Grand Fantasia (MMORPG) till the field required ID and password appear, but then blue screen pop up. I can play it last week, but now this happen. Can't play it anymore This is from my event log The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was:...
lightfade BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 02-29-2012 11:01 AM
BSOD Issues
I'm forever getting Bsod, mostly memory management, and I have no idea why or how to resolve this issue. any advice would be so awesome. windows 7 64bit (original OS) full retail version I installed 8months old I've reinstalled the OS many times since AMD Phenom II x6 1090T Sapphire...
Scratzh_Ziro BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 02-25-2012 07:54 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts