Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

[resolved]Virus that causes computer to think CPU is overheating?

This is a discussion on [resolved]Virus that causes computer to think CPU is overheating? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A few days ago my computer started to shut off by itself randomly while I was playing games on it.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2007, 10:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp Professional


Cry

A few days ago my computer started to shut off by itself randomly while I was playing games on it. At first it would happen once a day but now I can't even have it on for more than 20 minutes. There is no error it just shuts off and I have to turn it off in the back, wait a few seconds then turn it back on for the on button to work again. I thought my CPU was overheating so I installed software that tells me temperature. According to that software my CPU was at 255C! However, I left my computer off for a couple of hours and the heat sink was cool to the touch, but once I turned it back on the temp monitoring software told me that it was still at 255C. If it's not my CPU, could there be a virus that's telling my computer it's overheating and if so how do I get rid of it?

__________________
moosyoolka is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 12:35 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi, Moosyoolka
What's the spec of your computer and what temperature monitor did you use?
You can find your real temps in the system BIOS set-up, which is available to enter at Start-up by pressing a key, usually F2 or Delete, (it tells you on-screen).

__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 12:52 PM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



the sensors and the software do not always match up
255 would be for a sensor that is not present
you need to post all the readings you see,the highest,minus the 255 will be your cpu
the lowest will be your m/b
any in between will be your h/d's
if the cpu went to 255 you would be replacing the computer
post your system specs
http://www.techsupportforum.com/558208-post1.html
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 01:33 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Open the side and take a look in there, if the heatsink and fan are cloged with dust its time for a cleaning.

Use a can of compressed air, but be carefull, keep the can uprite because if you lay it on its side liquid can come out.

Do not use a vacum, these can cause static thats harmfull to computer parts
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 07:07 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 86
OS: XP


Send a message via MSN to andrew123

same thing happened here the computer takes like a few mins to turn back on but you have to turn the powerpoint off first. mine was overheating though. That sensons program doesn't record some of the stuff properly because i had 200+ degress for stuff i didnt have, i think at least.
__________________
andrew123 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 02:16 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp Professional



wow! I can't believe it worked lol. I took the top off the processor and it was clogged with dust, I cleaned it out and now voila! works like magic. Thanks so much =)
__________________
moosyoolka is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:16 AM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



it pays to blow the dust out on a regular basis glad you got it sorted

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand new self-built computer keeps freezing
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 4600+ Mobo: Asus M2A-VM HDMI Ram: Crucial Ballistix 2 ◊ 1GB DDR2 @ 800 MHz. HDD: Seagate Barracuda 320GB (XP SP2 still thinks its 130GB, but mobo realizes its 320GB) So yea my major problem is it keeps freezing every once in a while and it tends to slow down a bunch...
LeftIsTrembling RAM and Power Supply Support 96 08-01-2007 08:49 AM
Computer restarts due to (apparently) CPU overheating. :upset:
OS: Windows XP Pro w/ SP2 CPU: Pentium 4 3.2GHz w/ HTT MOBO: Intel PERL865 (latest firmware update) Video Card: Nvidia 7800GS (AGP 8x) Sound Card: Creative EMU 1212m RAM: 2GB DDR-333 (generic) Power Supply: Antec True Power 450W Hard Drive: 150GB Seagate SATA (8MB Cache) I've worked on...
UsernameX Other Hardware Support 5 12-14-2006 08:02 PM
Does not recognise some DVDs?
Hello all, Could someone please help? I've just fitted a new DVD-RW and immediately began using Nero 7 Premium to burn a DVD. I'd previously tried out the player with about 3 DVDs. The first two played fine but the third seemed to get stuck midway through playing. I know that the drive plays...
Ibsen3 Removable Media Drives 34 03-29-2006 10:50 AM
Random lockups/freezes and a pinch of BSOD, esp. while surfing certain sites
I have a new PC system with the following specs: AMD X2 3800+ Asus A8N SLI 2x 1024MB MDT CL2.5 dual mode 2x SATA2 160GB Samsung HD160JJ on a RAID 0 array 256MB 7800GT Gainward 3400PCX PCIe Soundblaster Audigy ZS2 550 W Antec TruePower
DoctorBalendar Other Hardware Support 22 03-17-2006 07:41 AM
Computer continually resets, only loads in safe mode
Hi, my computer wont load. it gets as far as teh loading screen, and at the poin where i would expect teh desktop to load, it resets. the only way i can get it running is in safe mode. i have scanned my comp using the newest definitions of my scan programs, but nothing works, here is my log: ...
2eXtreme Inactive Malware Help Topics 37 03-02-2006 12:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts