Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Real-time clock error

This is a discussion on Real-time clock error within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I wonder if anyone can help me with a tricky problem I've been having. I recently tried to boot


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2007, 09:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP


Cry

Hi, I wonder if anyone can help me with a tricky problem I've been having.

I recently tried to boot up my Dell desktop PC but as soon as it got passed the BIOS settings and began to load windows the screen went black and nothing else happened. I reset the system and tried this several times but the same thing happened.

After running a diognostic CD an error code was generated which read: "Real-time clock not functioning. No intermittent ticks generated."

I'd be very grateful if anyone could provide me with any further info on this problem and propose a solution if there is one available.

Many thanks.

__________________
silberman78 is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 10:00 AM   #2
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Hello and Welcome to TSF.

Replace the motherboard battery. It's a small battery that's about the size of nickel. Be sure to discharge the static electricity from your body by touching the bare metal of the PC case and unplug the power cord from the wall.

Keep us posted on your progress.

mattlock is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 11:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Thanks very much for your advice. I will replace the battery as soon as possible. Is it very likely that this is the solution to my problem? I am hoping I won't have to buy a new motherboard.
__________________
silberman78 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 10:12 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP



I have replaced the battery on the motherboard but this makes no difference. The error message still says that the real-time clock is probably not functioning. Any further advice you can offer would be appreciated.
__________________
silberman78 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 01:47 PM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



do you get an error number with it as well
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 11:36 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Yes. My diagnostic cd reveals the error code to be 4C00:041C.
__________________
silberman78 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 12:14 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



it appears to be a problem with the 2nd ide channel on the m/board
disconnect the cable from it and see if the computer runs normally if not
try disabling it in the bios and check it again
Channel 2 is not operating correctly. In mode %d, it is not correctly asserting and deasserting the OUT signal after being programmed.
Motherboard

4C00-041C
system.mdm?
Timer Functionality Test
Channel 2 is not operating correctly. No periodic ticks were generated. The realtime clock is probably not functioning.
Motherboard

4C00-041C
system.mdm?
Timer Functionality Test
Channel 2 is not operating correctly. Wrong time period (milliseconds) for a full count-down in mode %d.? Expected: %d, Actual: %d.
Motherboard

4C00-041C
system.mdm?
Timer Functionality Test
Channel 2 is not operating correctly. The initial clock output level in mode %d is incorrect.? Expected: %d? Actual: %d.
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 04:15 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Thanks dai for taking time on my problem. Can you tell me how to disable it in the bios? I can't seem to find an option to do this.
__________________
silberman78 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 11:51 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
OS: xp home



Sorry daniel cant help with this problem, andysoho
__________________
andysoho is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 01:43 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



look for the ide channel listing probably on the main menu
did you read the private message that i sent you
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 06:04 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
OS: xp home



Did you get help for this? I am having the same problem
__________________
krank6450 is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 06:20 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
speedster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6,826
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


krank-
it would be beneficial to you to start your own thread.

__________________
speedster123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts