Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Problems with erasing hard drive??

This is a discussion on Problems with erasing hard drive?? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello there! My girlfriend has an asus P48266-C motherboard and it will not allow me to do a complete hard

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2005, 12:51 AM   #1
Registered Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
OS: xp

Hello there! My girlfriend has an asus P48266-C motherboard and it will not allow me to do a complete hard drive erase. I have tried booting the computer from the a drive (made a boot disc) and even the cd-rom and the computer will still not recognize the software. I am trying to erase the the HD because of a virus. I am wondering if the virus is interfering with this process. Any advice would be helpful. Thank you.
wickedempire is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:09 AM   #2
Team Manager, Articles
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
Glaswegian's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 39,388
OS: Windows 10 Pro

My System

Hi and Welcome to TSF.

You shouldn't need to erase the drive because of a possible virus. There are other ways to sort you out.

Can you access Windows? Does the PC boot up OK? If yes then please have a look here for instructions on running scans and posting a HijackThis log.

If you can't do this post back here and we'll see what else we can do.

Iain - Defender of the Haggis and all things Scottish.
I don't help by PM - post in the Forums.

PC Safety & Security::PC running a bit slow?::Photographers Corner
Glaswegian is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:13 AM   #3
I helped the forums.
twajetmech's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LGA, NYC
Posts: 2,430
OS: XP-Pro Sp2 & XP-Pro Sp2 Tablet Edition, Vista Ultimate, Win 7

My System

hello, if your HD was made by Maxtor or Seagate (and I believe WD as well) you should be able to download software like Maxtor's Maxblast or Seagate tools, which would allow you to do a full format and wipe of the MBR from their respective websites You'll beed a blank floppy.. when you run the programs they will prompt you to make a boot disk that will allow you to do what you want. You may want to follow Glaswegian's advice first !
twajetmech is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 07:31 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
linderman's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
if you dont mind erasing your entire hard drive / then download and run Boot & nuke (in my signature) its free / the hard drive will be as clean as the day it was new!!


Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Post a Question

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 AM.

Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts


Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com