Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Problem with BIOS ?

This is a discussion on Problem with BIOS ? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I have a Gateway Desktop model LX6810-01. I have tried to create a secondary partition for the hard drive.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2009, 02:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista 64-bit



Hello

I have a Gateway Desktop model LX6810-01. I have tried to create a secondary partition for the hard drive. The process went wrong and the OS was removed. So, I tried to restore the computer every time I had an error saying: "GetMapCDDriveL()". Tried changing the hard disk and CD drive and even ordered a new set of recovery disks for the computer but with no result. I even tried to setup Windows Vista from a disk which I purchased, there were no hard drives to setup windows on them. Here I figured that the OS setup is not recognizing the hard disks. The BIOS has a RAID system on it which controls the drives. Now, I think the problem is with the RAID system which I don't know how to disable. Does anybody know a solution to this problem?

Specs:
Gateway LX6810-01
Intel Core 2 Quad 2.33
8 GB RAM DDR2
640 GB SATA Hard disk

__________________
3abbas is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 04:10 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,209
OS: XP Pro-7



RAID should be disabled. Is the Hdd recognized in the Bios?
You could try clearing the CMOS.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 02:33 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista 64-bit



The problem is that the hard drices are recognized (in the BIOS) as RAID drives because their names are some how strange (eg. DR02: WDC... ). However, when the computer starts up the hard drives are recognized with their sizes, but they aren't when it gets into Windows setup.

As for clearing the CMOS, I don't know what is it exactly. Can you just give a little description of it ?

Thank you for your reply
__________________
3abbas is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 06:31 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,209
OS: XP Pro-7



Clear the CMOS: UNPLUG the power supply-Move the Bios jumper from pins 1 & 2 to pins 2 & 3 for seconds then move the jumper back to pins 1 & 2. The CMOS will be cleared.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 02:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista 64-bit



I have looked down the motherboard and couldn't find the jumper pins.. Is it enough to just take off the battery and replace it ?
__________________
3abbas is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 05:08 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
OS: Vista 64-bit



I have cleared the CMOS and no results .. please help me with this !!

__________________
3abbas is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts