Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Plug in AC Power, CPU Fan at Full Speed, No Boot

This is a discussion on Plug in AC Power, CPU Fan at Full Speed, No Boot within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello and thanks for reading. When I plug in the AC power cord to the PSU, all fans, including the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2012, 08:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 41
OS: Microsoft Windows 7



Hello and thanks for reading.

When I plug in the AC power cord to the PSU, all fans, including the CPU cooler, immediately turn on at full speed, but no boot at all. No POST, hard drive does not spin up, LEDs on optical drives do not blink.

I was able to temporarily solve it by totally disassembling the computer. I removed all drives, cards, connectors, CMOS battery. Carefully and extensively blew out all dust from case and boards.

Then the video became unstable and would show a scrambled image. Next, the problem returned. I disassembled/reassembled again but did not solve it this time.

I also tried replacing the PSU and the CMOS battery, clearing CMOS, different AC cord, different power outlet.

Does not matter whether the front panel switch is connected or not. Simply connecting the AC power cord causes all fans to run at full speed with no boot or POST apparent.

Can a mobo/cpu problem be intermittent? I thought either the motherboard works, or it doesn't.

Yes, yes here is the system:

HP Pavilion a1430n--

> Mainboard : Asus A8N-LA NAGAMI

> Chipset : nVidia nForce 410

> Processor : AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2000MHz

> Physical Memory : 1024MB (2 x 512 DDR-SDRAM )

> Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE

> Hard Disk : Western Digital WD2500JS-60MHB1 (250GB)

> DVD-Rom Drive : Hewlett-Packard DVD Writer 740b

> CD-Rom Drive : CDWRITER IDE5232

> Monitor Type : LG Electronics L1720P - 17 inches

> Network Card : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller

> Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional Media Center 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3 (32-bit)

> DirectX : Version 9.0c

<<< Mainboard >>>

> Manufacturer : HP Pavilion 061

> Mainboard : Asus NAGAMI

> Bios : Phoenix Technologies, LTD

> Chipset : nVidia nForce 410

> Physical Memory : 1024MB DDR-SDRAM

> LPC bus : Yes

> PCI Bus : Yes

> Bus PCI-Express : Yes

> USB Bus : Yes

> SMBus/i2c Bus : Yes

> Bus HyperTransport : Yes

> Bus QPI : No

> Bus CardBus : No

> Bus FireWire : Yes

<<< Processor >>>

> Processor : AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+

> Frequency : 2000MHz

> Number of Core : 2

> Support : Socket 939

> Cache L1 : 2 x 128KB

> Cache L2 : 2 x 512KB

> Voltage VID : 1.300 V

> FPU Coprocessor : Present

> Core 1 Activity : 0%

> Core 2 Activity : 0%

__________________
geishaslave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:49 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

foolow this guide step by step >> dont skip ANY steps except the heatsink removal or cpu paste application

How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System

hopefully you will gain some clues here !
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP/compaq 510 won't boot
I have Hp Compaq 510 laptop, in that I am using Windows 7 ultimate, pirated software. It was working fine since about one year. When I have installed Norton Antivirus in my laptop, then also working FINE. Once, I have connected Relianace Data card it was working for two days. Afterthat, the...
subramaniyan Laptop Support 2 06-07-2012 05:29 AM
How to boot into BartPE from usb?
I have a few dozen machines I need to image via ghost, and booting from the dvd drive takes a whole two minutes I've done a bunch of searches, and came up with these: How to make a USB-key bootable with BartPE !NEW BartPE To USB Flash Stick Utility - The CD Forum Neither seem to be working....
wkw427 Other Operating systems 7 04-14-2012 04:53 PM
WD External Harddrive / win explorer - no detection / device manager detects
I have a WD external hard drive Model WD10EAVS It suddenly stopped appearing after I mounted an encrypted partition in it. Now The device is detected when plugged in.. Makes the sound. Device manager refreshes and show Mass storage device. It shows in the disc manager but cannot be initialized...
dtouch Hard Drive Support 10 03-28-2012 08:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts