Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

PC unable to start up

This is a discussion on PC unable to start up within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Couldn't find a place to make this thread so this one seemed like a logical choice to start with.. About


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2010, 07:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows Vista 32 bit



Couldn't find a place to make this thread so this one seemed like a logical choice to start with..

About a week ago my Desktop computer was unable to start it gets just before the screen of Loading windows or along those lines and then it gets restarted and this happened everytime.
I am able to access everything that you can select before start up eg Bios, f10

As there is photos on the drive from a recent holiday i can not format it so i inserted windows XP and partitioned 12 gigs for XP setup, while installing Xp It gets to a certain point and blue screens. So i cannot install a new OS, or start the current one (windows 7)

Any ideas what might be causing the restarting right before the loading screen

PC specs are located on this page http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...roduct=3378364

Memory has been upgraded a while back with no problems

__________________
Kelvinrogal is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 09:09 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dblanchard1278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nevada/USA
Posts: 1,199
OS: XPpro(sp3) VistaHP-32 WIN7-hp Ubuntu 10.10 64

My System

Send a message via MSN to Dblanchard1278 Send a message via Yahoo to Dblanchard1278

Ok first off the reason why you get a blue screen durring windows xp set up is because of the hard drive setting in bios. To install xp you have to change the sata to legacey ide mode. Now for the win7 problem, have you tried safe mode (f8 after the compaq spash screen) . You can do a system resore in safe mode or you can run the start up repair wizard.

__________________
Dblanchard1278 is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 10:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows Vista 32 bit



For the system restore i do not have Cds as this is the beta version.
obtained a Windows 7 install cd and again bluescreens At starting windows so i can no longer install 7.
f8 mode seems not to exist. Unable to press f11( system recovery) at startup tho f10(bios) and boot menu still works.
__________________
Kelvinrogal is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 06:22 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Make a Windows 7 Recovery Disc: http://neosmart.net/blog/2009/window...-repair-discs/

After you make the disc follow these instructions: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...y-options.html
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 05:05 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows Vista 32 bit



Ill bookmark those links for future reference but i do bleive they will be of no help to me now as entering recovery takes me to XP recovery; but as xp is not fully installed it blue-screens.
__________________
Kelvinrogal is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 09:56 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
squigglethecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Cali
Posts: 183
OS: Windows 7 x64 / Linux Mint

My System


If you have experience with linux, you can use a live cd to boot into (without installing anything) and you should be able to access your drive and recover your files to a flash drive.

As for the install issues, try taking out a stick of ram and then attempt the installation again. Repeat until you've tested all the sticks of ram in your case. I once had issues installing XP and eventually found it was a bad stick of ram.
__________________
squigglethecow is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 12:15 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
OS: Windows Vista 32 bit



Okay, downloaded and installed Ubuntu works fine on my laptop but works for 10 secs at desktop on my pc before crashing, i tried a memory test using Ubuntu's memory scanner heres a pic http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/6424/p3080621.jpg
that image shows 69k errors and counting, at this time its at 140k errors and rapidly rising.
ideas
__________________
Kelvinrogal is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 02:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
squigglethecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Cali
Posts: 183
OS: Windows 7 x64 / Linux Mint

My System


Alright. When you installed ubuntu did you format the entire disk or just the free space?

You'll need to cycle through the sticks of ram to see which is the problem. Remove one, reboot the computer and try using your computer. Repeat until your desktop is working again and eventually you'll figure out which stick of RAM is giving you issues.

If you only have 1 stick of ram you'll need to buy another stick.

__________________
squigglethecow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts