Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

P5B-VM First Boot No Onboard video

This is a discussion on P5B-VM First Boot No Onboard video within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am replacing a motherboard. I purchased a "bundle " from a reputable local dealer -ram/mobo and cpu assembled and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2006, 07:47 PM   #1
gwe
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
OS: XP



I am replacing a motherboard. I purchased a "bundle " from a reputable local dealer -ram/mobo and cpu assembled and tested. Installed in a case - plugged in case connections and ps connections. connected monitor to vga out (onboard video). No signal -fans running. there is no case speaker so I don't know if there are beeps. To use the onboard video does something have to be set in bios and if so how do I get there if there is no vid. I don't have any PCIE vid cards.

__________________
gwe is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 12:04 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
coolday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 394
OS: WINDOWS XP PRO


Send a message via Yahoo to coolday
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwe View Post
I am replacing a motherboard. I purchased a "bundle " from a reputable local dealer -ram/mobo and cpu assembled and tested. Installed in a case - plugged in case connections and ps connections. connected monitor to vga out (onboard video). No signal -fans running. there is no case speaker so I don't know if there are beeps. To use the onboard video does something have to be set in bios and if so how do I get there if there is no vid. I don't have any PCIE vid cards.

Whats the mobo's make? Do u have a manual?

__________________
coolday is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:45 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
kev1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Townsville, Australia
Posts: 1,027
OS: Win Vista Home Premium


If you are getting no video then you can't make BIOS changes. It would be nice if you could get hold of a speaker (even pinch one out of an old case). Then we could perhaps identify the problem from the beeps. I would be removing the RAM chip[s] and reseating them, making sure they are properly clipped in and firmly seated.

Make SURE the power is DISCONNECTED from the wall socket before going anywhere near the RAM chip[s]!
__________________
Cheers.... Kev

"Hardware: the parts of a computer that can be kicked!"

Please don't send me PM's for support. Post in the forums for everyone to benefit.
kev1952 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 07:50 AM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System

Quote:
I purchased a "bundle " from a reputable local dealer -ram/mobo and cpu assembled and tested
With that said I think you should remove it from the case and install only bare minimume to try and get a post. If this was tested and past it could be a case short

First though take kev1952's advice and reseat the ram
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 07:33 PM   #5
gwe
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
OS: XP



resetting the cmos did nothing so I purchased an ATI PCI-E vid card. The board had been displaying BAD CHECKSUM and looking for a restore bios file.
I used the factory CD and let it restore to the version on the disc. Board now posts. I have not tried the onboard video yet. Looks like the store never did what they charged for or did a poor job of it.
Should I leave it alone now or try and install the newest bios flash?
__________________
gwe is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 08:04 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System

Just leave well enough don't update to the latest bios unless you need to.

Can you install windows?

__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts