Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

New System Looking for Advice

This is a discussion on New System Looking for Advice within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey all, what's up? I just got my system assembled on a box before putting in case. I have a

Old 03-10-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Registered Member

My System

Hey all, what's up?

I just got my system assembled on a box before putting in case. I have a Cooler Master 212 Evo on an i7 2600k. Having a little clearence issue with the fan. I have 16GB Gskill ram installed. Don't have anything else besides the Motherboard, ram, video card, cpu, and power supply hooked up.
system seemed to boot up just fine and recognized the ram and cpu and all with no real issues. I like this new Uefi bios setup. It sees the ram as DDr3 (1600) again no problems. Was a little concerned when I saw the fan speed in red because it was just under 600 rpm's and gradually came up to about 627.

CPU Temp while setting there in Bios is about 29-30c. Funny though, when you go into Advanced settings in UEFI it drops immediately to 27c. Go figure.

Anyhow, had to raise the fan up a bit to make clearence for the ram. If I drop it down it will setting against the ram. Any issues with switching sides and the brackets around to make it pull instead of push? Here are some pics of it.

Thanks
Patrick

Old 03-10-2012, 06:53 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware

Raising the CPU cooler unit is not an option. The CPU fan should blow to the rear of the case.
If the fan is just touching the RAM, it won't be a problem as long as the cooler is properly fastened down where it makes proper contact with the CPU.
It would probably be possible to trim some of the plastic from the bottom of the fan where it hits the RAM.

All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 07:27 PM   #3