Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

New CPU/MOBO ---> Beeps a hoy

This is a discussion on New CPU/MOBO ---> Beeps a hoy within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey guys! Have upgraded system, and having a few "day one" issues, and thought I'd ask for a hand. Heres


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2011, 08:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
campfire_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 166
OS: Win7

My System


hey guys!

Have upgraded system, and having a few "day one" issues, and thought I'd ask for a hand.

Heres the new hardware:
2500k
MSI p67s-c43

Not new, but not updated the "my system" specs
Patriot DDr3 2x4G pc3-12800 1600 mhz
Used the above ram in last system w/out issue.


Heres the problem. When starting, getting a total of 5 beeps prior to normal post beep. Its not a consistant string of beeps, but more like a "morse code" playback.

It beeps once, a pause, three (as best I can tell) fast beeps, then once again.

Then a few seconds later I get the different tone post beep.

I've tried one stick of ram. Swaped them and tried the other stick. No change in odd beep pattern. I have not tried to update bios, as the last time I tried on a previous asus board, I screwed up and ended up RMAing the darn thing.

Sorry for the crude discription of the beeps. Its kinda hard to discribe what i am hearing. This is first non-asus board I've used, and confused on the beeps. Not found a good list of codes for this mobo. Manual does not have a list that I see.

Bios version is V1.11

Anyway, thats about it. Hope Linderman is still patroling the forums :)


patrick

__________________
campfire_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 08:44 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
campfire_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 166
OS: Win7

My System


Sorry for the DP, but no edit anymore?

Restarted PC so I could listen to beeps again

May be 4 total beeps, instead of 5.
its either
1-2-1
or
1-3-1

The middle beeps are to fast for me to make out. Looking for different plug in mobo speaker to see if it becomes more clear.


patrick

__________________
campfire_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 09:22 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



It's difficult to offer reliable assistance if we don't know the precise beep code.
Beep Codes: PC Hell: BIOS Error Beep Codes
Patriot RAM has been known to be selective about it's compatibility.
With no RAM installed do you get a single repeated beep?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 10:42 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
campfire_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 166
OS: Win7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
It's difficult to offer reliable assistance if we don't know the precise beep code.
Beep Codes: PC Hell: BIOS Error Beep Codes
As best I can tell w/ less than perfect hearing, its 1-2-1. Which one of those codes are mine? On the mobo box it says: "ClickBios applies the new Unified EFI Bios..."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
With no RAM installed do you get a single repeated beep?
No RAM = no boot. It just loops on and off, no beeps at all.


patrick
__________________
campfire_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 12:14 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



The PC will not boot with no RAM installed but if no beeps are heard with no RAM installed your Mobo may be a problem.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 05:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
campfire_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 166
OS: Win7

My System


Thanks Tyree

Sending it back to newegg for a swap out.

I've got a few items from them in the past few months, and have been stunned by what they are doing for inside the box cushoning material. No more "packing peanuts". Now using a thin layer of rolled up paper. Not a real good way to send delicate electronics cross country IMO. Hopefully I'll get lucky on the next one.

Thanks again.


patrick

__________________
campfire_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect PC to HDTV via HDMI -> CAT5 -> Router -> Access Point -> CAT5 -> HDMI
Hi, Sounds complicated (To me anyway) I'm running Windows 7 64bit with 2 video cards (NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT and NVIDIA GeForce GT 240) as I use 3 monitors. My TV is located where it is not possible to run a cable to it from the PC, It is however beside a CAT5 box that is connected to a...
silver-rabbit Networking Support 3 07-08-2011 07:48 PM
Internet -> Wireless router -> Laptop -> Ethernet Cable -> Desktop?
I'm trying it and I've looked online, but I'm not getting a definitive answer. Both computers are using windows 7 Is it possible to do this? How would I do it, nothing seemed to stick out at me as to how this is done.
Kerstmis Networking Support 4 05-25-2011 07:38 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts