Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

My DELL INSPIRON 530 Desktop Computer Won't Turn ON ............?

This is a discussion on My DELL INSPIRON 530 Desktop Computer Won't Turn ON ............? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello Everyone, I have a DELL INSPIRON 530 Desktop(around 3yrs. old) .......... motherboard - Foxconn G33M02 ...... it was working


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2010, 05:47 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: windows Vista


Red Faced

Hello Everyone,
I have a DELL INSPIRON 530 Desktop(around 3yrs. old) .......... motherboard - Foxconn G33M02 ...... it was working fine till yesterday but after having cleaned the system for dust and all ...... I again powered the system and it just woun't start i.e. even after pressing the power button(on the front side of the system), nothing happens i mean no fans moving,no light of any kind, no nothing. Although the Green LED under the power cable connector turns green (on the back side,Just below the power cable connector) after having attached the power cable to it. For having a look inside i opened the cabinet that found that the Orange LED is light up almost on the top right corner of the motherboard but nothing happens while i press the power button ..... and thus i'm fearing that the motherboard has gone out of order ...........
In order to troubleshoot the problem i jumped the Green and Black cable ports of the PSU and the fan starting moving ........ so, i'm supposing that the PSU is working fine ...

I'm also wanting to know how to check the motherboard and if so the individual capacitors and resistors on it ...........and if just in case i'm unable to resolve the issue what options do i have in terms of motherboard(which is similar in technical specifications to my original motherboard), as DELL is charging me a lot more than the price of a new Motherboard .............
so,kindly suggest me a new motherboard of similar capacity i.e. no of SATA ports,IDE ports,RAM slots etc.which i can buy from a local vendor ........

My current system configuration are as follows :-
Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Foxconn G33M02 Motherboard
300 Watts PSU/SMPS
SATA DVD RW+/-
Bluetooth module with 13 in 1 media card reader
IEEE firewire 1394
TV tuner card(internal)
Intel's Onboard LAN
SATA HDD 160 GB
Link to the Specification page :-

http://supportapj.dell.com/support/e....htm#wp1052310

Any help in this regard would be greatly appreciated ............
thnxx in advance .............

__________________
eruptionjoojo is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 06:18 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



Try reseating any cards and RAM. It is very easy to dislodge something while cleaning.
First suspect on any OEM PC over a couple of years in age is the PSU.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 06:29 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: windows Vista


Red Faced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Try reseating any cards and RAM. It is very easy to dislodge something while cleaning.
First suspect on any OEM PC over a couple of years in age is the PSU.
Thnxx a lot for ur quick responsive reply ...........
I have already tried reseating each and every component as far as I feel ......
but still the problem persists .............. i have also tried a different PSU just to confirm ...........
But just wanted to know one more thing ...... how to test the ON/OFF switch for its proper functionality ..........
thnxx in advance ...........
__________________
eruptionjoojo is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 06:59 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



Unplug the connector from the Mobo-use a small screwdriver and touch BOTH Power terminals. The PC should boot is all is well.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 07:33 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Unplug the connector from the Mobo-use a small screwdriver and touch BOTH Power terminals. The PC should boot is all is well.

Thnxxx again for the quick reply .............
but the switch i'm refering too is not the power connector but the switch on the front panel of the desktop which is used to power the desktop ........... so i'm just not getting how to connect the terminals i.e. which all terminals to be connected .........
__________________
eruptionjoojo is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 09:16 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



My reference was to the Power Button locatd on the front of your PC case.
Did you unplug all the connectors to the front panel?
Most Dell PC's use one connector for all of the front panel (Power On-Reset-Hdd LED-Power LED)connections.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 11:39 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: windows Vista


Red Faced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
My reference was to the Power Button locatd on the front of your PC case.
Did you unplug all the connectors to the front panel?
Most Dell PC's use one connector for all of the front panel (Power On-Reset-Hdd LED-Power LED)connections.

thnxxx again for your quick reply ..........
Yeah you spotted it right i.e. same is the case with me i mean my DELL PC also has just a single connector for Power on-reset-HDD LED - Power LED) ...........
But I don't know how to switch the system ON by touching the power terminals as you quoted earlier i mean the socket has in total 6 wires and which two to be touched i don't know ............
__________________
eruptionjoojo is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 01:30 PM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



Some Mobo's are labeled but a magnifying glass is sometimes needed to read them.
Most commonly the two wires will be Red (+) & Black (-).
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-05-2010, 01:14 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
OS: windows Vista


Smile

Thnxxx to everyone for your replies ..............
and yeah the good news is that my system has started working perfectly again .........
it all happened while i removed everything off my computer except the motherboard and processor and troubleshooted the Power ON/OFF switch ..... n there i was there was a loose/faulty connection at the terminal of the ON/OFF switch connection .........
So,while i pressed the port quiet hard and powered the ON/OFF switch, the computer started and there and then my problem got solved .......... although i had previously also reseated the On/OFF switch port earlier but i don't know still may be there was some error earlier ........
thnxxx again to everyone .............
__________________
eruptionjoojo is offline  
Old 06-05-2010, 11:50 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
noszeratul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 79
OS: Windows Xp



Why are my post been Deleted? When i have a problem with the same Computer, is it not better to kill 2 bird in 1 shot or u guys need me to open up another thread...
__________________
noszeratul is offline  
Old 06-05-2010, 02:54 PM   #11
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,315
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by noszeratul View Post
Why are my post been Deleted? When i have a problem with the same Computer, is it not better to kill 2 bird in 1 shot or u guys need me to open up another thread...
Your problem is not the same as this one . . you are being helped here:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...rt-487902.html
Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-05-2010, 10:38 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
noszeratul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 79
OS: Windows Xp



Yeah, saw it late as u can see.. lol, my bad.

__________________
noszeratul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts