Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

My computer cannot start up properly

This is a discussion on My computer cannot start up properly within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2011, 09:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2
OS: xp

Happy New Year to everyone. Itís my first time posting in the forum. Recently, I have got some problems with my computer. It cannot start up properly. It gets stuck in the boot sequence frequently. In the first-booting, I always donít get anything on the screen even though the monitor is turned on. However, the computer is running with the lights on it. Since I am not very good at computer and stuff, I re-boot it every time I encounter this situation. In the second-booting, it gets something on the screen but I get stuck in there.
It shows me this:

Phoenix TrustedCore(tm) Desktop SP2 for ThinkCentre.U
Copyright 1985-2005 Phoenix Technologies Ltd.
All Rights Reserved

Portions Copyright 1998-1999 Intel Corporation
Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
2047M System RAM Passed
2048 KB L2 Cache per Processor Core
System BIOS shadowed
Video BIOS shadowed
Fixed Disk 0: ST3250820AS
0162: Configuration Error - Default configuration used
0198: System Security - Unauthorized BIOS Update Attempted.

Press <F1> to Setup, <F2> to Resume

So then, I just access the bios by pressing <F1> and I will find the first startup device is somehow changed to IDE CD-Drive (I thought it is supposed to be IDE HDD isnít it). Therefore, I have to change it back to IDE HDD almost every time in order to start my computer which means I have to re-boot my computer at least 3 times before I use it. Pretty interestingly, it doesnít happen every time but almost. My friend told me that the battery on the motherboard had run out but there is still no improvement after I replaced it with a new one earlier today.

My dad is quite upset off with it since he doesnít know anything about computer more than browsing on the internet. Now, he cannot start the computer without me standing by him. Unfortunately, I am not always free to be with him. Therefore, please give me a hand. Finally, I hope I have given you guys enough and clear descriptions about the problems. Please donít hesitate to question if you find anything unclear.
charlie_ucc is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:23 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,001
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm

what are you running
video card
power supply

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them
dai is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2
OS: xp

Operating System

Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2 (build 6002)

System Model

LENOVO 1111111 ThinkCentre XXXX
System Serial Number: 1111111
Enclosure Type: Mini-Tower


3.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium D
16 kilobyte primary memory cache
2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (2 total)
Not hyper-threaded

Main Circuit Board

BIOS: LENOVO 2OKT40AUS 04/20/2007


250.06 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity

94.22 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

HD7120Q BJH377E SCSI CdRom Device [Optical drive]

HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H40N ATA Device [Optical drive]

Generic- Compact Flash USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 1

Generic- MS/MS-Pro USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 4

Generic- SD/MMC USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 3

Generic- SM/xD-Picture USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 2

ST3250820AS [Hard drive] (250.06 GB) -- drive 0, s/n 5QE3KWMK, rev 3.AAE, SMART Status: Healthy

Memory Modules

2046 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

Slot 'J6G1' has 1024 MB
Slot 'J6G2' has 1024 MB

CPU VCore: 1.18V (Max: 1.25V)
VBat: 4.08V (Max: 4.08V)
Temperature#1: 46.0 (Max: 58.0)
Temperature#2: 45.0 (Max: 46.0)

NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
GPU Core Temperature: 50.0 (Max: 50.0)

Hard Drive Temperature: 33.0 (Max: 33.0)
charlie_ucc is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 04:21 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,001
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm

the boot order is normally

cd first

hd second

after replacing the battery the bios would have to default and you need to re optimise it

take the side off the case and look at the psu label for the details
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Post a Question

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 PM.

Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts


Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com