Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Motherboard to run this CPU?

1K views 17 replies 5 participants last post by  Frost_Byte 
#1 ·
Past few months I've been on and off of here trying to figure everything out for a gaming PC. I'm now at the stage of figuring out the CHEAPEST rout to go. Was originally going Intel I5. Now, I'm looking at AMD. As some of the CPU's are clocked faster, and have more cores. I'm pleased with the cheaper prices. Although I may still do an EVGA video card. Unless the one I'm looking at now will support crossfire. But, I'm looking at the AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0 GHz (4.2 GHz Turbo) as this is faster at a stock speed than the Intel I was looking at, while also being cheaper. But, I've never built a PC before. Don't know much about motherboards. So, whats a good CHEAP motherboard that'll run this? Doesn't have to be anything fancy and special. Just as long as I can run that CPU, I think it'll be good.

Link to the CPU: AMD Processor FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W D8350FRHKBOX - Newegg.com

#3 ·
Hi. I am running the same processor. Its really good. I have an MSI 970 Gaming Motherboard. The price may be a bit steep though....You could use any board that supports AM3+ sockets.

Just a note about Cross-Fire: It doesn't give you double the power of a single card. It gives you about 2/3 extra. You would be better off saving the money and buying 1 better card.

#4 ·
$80 isn't bad. Although with all the parts from new egg it is over $600. Which, I'm aiming for $600 or less. I'll have to look at ebay for a PSU and HDD.

But, what about this motherboard? It's an AM3+ socket, but which will be an overall better board? This is just cheaper. MSI 970A-G46 AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 + SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS - Newegg.com

Also, if that's all crossfire does, then I'll defiantly stick with an EVGA card. Only a few more dollars anyways.