Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Motherboard going bad???

This is a discussion on Motherboard going bad??? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I was wondering what is going on. I had a 450w PSU and everytime I would play bf3 pc


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2011, 07:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



Hi I was wondering what is going on. I had a 450w PSU and everytime I would play bf3 pc would crash. So I decided to upgrade my PSU to a corsair tx750w PSU.after installing the new 750w PSU I plugged in the computer and nothing started. No fans would spin or no lights. Like starting a car without a battery. Completely dead. I tried the same PSU on another pc and it worked fine. So I know it is not the PSU. The weird thing is that this happened 3 days ago. I messed with it today and it booted up and worked(I had it in another room now where my computer normally goes). Then after this happened I turned it of correctly and unplugged it and put it where it normally goes in my computer desk. Same problem again. It wouldn't start up again. Any suggestions.....



Specs are-
Amd Phenom II 940 quad @ 3.0
4 gb ddr2 patriot ram
Gtx 260 video card
Corsair tx 750w PSU
gigabyte m68m-s2 mother board

__________________
Jr_pomonero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:04 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Sounds like you got a PSU with an intermittent fault. I would return it for either a refund or an exchange.

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:14 AM   #3
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Check the outlet that the PC plugs into. Was the other PC you tested in using the same outlet?

Check all power connections to the motherboard to make sure secure.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:48 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7


Yea I checked the outlet. Both power supplies work fine. What is making me doubt is the fact that it turned on once.
__________________
Jr_pomonero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7


The other computers j have left the PSU connected for a while and they turn on perfectly.I was thinking maybe I short circuited the board when I installed the psu.
__________________
Jr_pomonero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:04 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,412
OS: XP Pro-7



Your old PSU was considerably underpowered and I'm guessing not very good quality so it may have done some damage.
Try removing the GTX 260 and use the Onboard graphics. If no joy, try using the old PSU with the Onboard Graphics.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switching off at boot up-a bad psu or motherboard?
an enermax psu-on bootup,the fans start etc,but after 3 seconds the system switches off for no reason. Interestingly, the fans on the psu still stay on for the usual 2 minute cooling, but what does that indicate? could it be a faulty psu cable from the psu to the motherboard, or is it more likely...
thedarkness RAM and Power Supply Support 17 08-01-2011 03:33 PM
multiple video cards - same issue. is something wrong with my motherboard?
Just to keep things simple here's my set up: MSI NF980-G65 AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a SLI HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGIBOX ADATA XPG Gaming Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3...
submarinesauce Motherboards, Bios & CPU 13 07-31-2011 02:01 PM
changing motherboard, should i reinstall windows 7?
So I have a computer with a "NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE / nForce 430" motherboard and my brother has a 'NVIDIA Geforce 8100" motherboard. My brother's motherboard just died I planned to give him my old "Geforce 6150SE/nForce 430" motherboad instead, and I got my hand on a new "nForce 750a SLI"...
lendbz Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 07-07-2011 04:13 PM
Motherboard going bad?
My BIOS is not detecting my 2 IDE cd/dvd drives and it fails to detect my SATA hard drives in all, but one slot. In fact, if I put them in one of the 'bad' SATA ports, my computer's stuck on the mobo splash screen. The only way to get all 3 drives to work--that is, getting them to show up in 'my...
quastar Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 02-26-2011 10:05 AM
help new motherboard not detecting keyboard properly
Hi there i have just gone out an bought a new motherboard for my pc which is amd amd athlon dual core 64 bit processor the motherboard is a GIGABYTE GA-M56S-S3 now everything boots up fine and it even gives me the dual boot option because i have an old sata hard drive with windows already...
thecritta Other Hardware Support 2 01-29-2011 06:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts