Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Monitor Port in back of CPU not working!!!

This is a discussion on Monitor Port in back of CPU not working!!! within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, the monitor port (screen) in one of my comps is not working in the back of the computer.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2006, 03:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Pro.



Hey guys, the monitor port (screen) in one of my comps is not working in the back of the computer. It stopped working and I was wondering how to fix it AND if they make adapters or converters for it and where I can find them and what they convert it to.

Thanks a lot.

__________________
StreetMagic101 is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:08 PM   #2
ole'
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kansas City kansas
Posts: 3,654
OS: Vista Premium 32

My System

yes they do make converters.the make DVI-VGA and i think the other way around. im not sure how to fix it. look at it(from inside) and see if a wire is broken. also try another graphics card if you have one

__________________
forcifer is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 10:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
OS: xp pro


this could have several issues,

if you have a pci or agp video card: chip creep, that video card could have walked it's way out of the pci or agp slot. pull the card out and re-seat it. this could have happened due to the card heating up and cooling down or if it was not screwed down to the case it could have been bumped.

if you have an on board video card (where it is connected to the motherboard, you find these next to your com port, or mouse addapters etc): this is a bigger problem. best bet is to buy a video card ( can get a 128mb for less than 100 bucks) and pop it in. be sure to make sure if you have an agp slot and its speed (4x,8x,etc). once you have that and pop it in you "might" have to disable the onboard video card (this is done in device manager).

hope this helps some.
__________________
POSWhitney is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 12:14 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


have you tried safe mode
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 12:53 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
OS: xp pro


didnt think of that (good idea), maybe the svga chip is burnt out.. safe mode with vga would give him/her video..

if they see the bios booting up (at the begining) then safe mode with vga would show its the svga chip thats the problem..
__________________
POSWhitney is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 06:39 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Pro.


There is no monitor picture at all, even at startup.
__________________
StreetMagic101 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:55 AM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


might be the power supply,can you hear the computer starting up and the post beep
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 08:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 6
OS: Windows XP Pro.


Yes I can hear it, but it didnt work wit him and its not workin wit me, so i dont know bout power supply, which brand and which kind of monitor converter should I get???

Thanks for all ur help!
__________________
StreetMagic101 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:10 AM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


for present day computers i recommend a 550w quality supply,they cost around the $100 mark
so if you can borrow one to try in it before buying,to check it is the problem
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 09:26 PM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetMagic101
Yes I can hear it, but it didnt work wit him and its not workin wit me, so i dont know bout power supply, which brand and which kind of monitor converter should I get???

Thanks for all ur help!
i don't see how a monitor converter will help here?

am i missing some details?

__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts