Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Mobo Shot?!?

This is a discussion on Mobo Shot?!? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A friend brought there computer to me with severe performance issues and asked if i could look at it. Computer


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2011, 06:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 226
OS: Win xp



A friend brought there computer to me with severe performance issues and asked if i could look at it. Computer is an HP p6520f, AMD Athlon II 635 Quad-CoreProcessor; 6GB DDR3 System Memory (3 DIMM); 1TB (5400RPM) Hard Drive (SATA); Genuine Windows 7 Premium 64-bit. Day before they gave it to me they said it had stopped turning on. I found that the computer starts up but with no signal to monitor it seems. I pulled a working Pci-e video card from my computer and installed it but with similar results. I am unsure how to trouble shoot past this point.

__________________
wallgood358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:07 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Is this PC under warranty? If so use it.

Try the steps below:

-Remove the power from the system and open the case
-Remove the graphics card from the PC (if equipped with dedicated graphics card)
-Clear the CMOS settings (removing the battery from the motherboard for a few minutes will suffice)
-Attempt to boot the PC using the integrated graphics

If unsuccessful continue:

-Remove all RAM and test with one stick at a time
-Remove any PCI card installed (modem,nic,sound,etc)
-Discconnect drives (storage and optical)
-Inspect motherboard for damaged capacitors)
-Test with another PSU

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 10:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 226
OS: Win xp



Thank you for your help. I was able to get it to boot but only with the memory in the 3 and 4 banks and not in the 1 and 2. But i have now also found that a Smart error when it tried to boot. Error code Biohd8
__________________
wallgood358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 11:05 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Did you test each RAM individually in all slots?

Reseat the connections to the hard drive and motherboard.

Run the manufacturer diagnostics on the hard drive

Hard Drive Utilities
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:57 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



If the PC will not boot with one stick of RAM in slot 1 or 2 (individually) the Mobo is at fault.
With no RAM installed, you should get a repeated single beep from the Mobo speaker if the Mobo is OK.
I would bench test.
Remove EVERYTHING from the case.
Set the motherboard on a non conductive surface. The motherboard box is perfect for this. DO NOT PLACE THE MOTHERBOARD ON THE STATIC BAG! It can actually conduct electricity!
Install the CPU and heat sink.
Install 1 stick of RAM.
Install the video card and attach the power supply connection(s) to the card if your card needs it.
Connect the monitor to the video card.
Connect the power supply to the motherboard with both the 24pin main ATX Power connection and the separate 4 or 8 pin power connection.
Connect power to the power supply.
Do NOT connect ANYTHING else. Make sure you have the power connector on the CPU fan connected.
Use a small screwdriver to momentarily short the power switch connector on the motherboard. Consult your motherboard manual to find which two pins connect to your case's power switch. Then touch both pins with a screwdriver to complete the circuit and boot the system.

If all is well, it should power up and you should get a display. Then assemble the parts into the case and try again. If the system now fails to boot, you have a short in the case and need to recheck your motherboard standoffs.

If the system does not boot after this process, then you most likely have a faulty component. You'll need to swap parts, start with the power supply, until you determine what is defective.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo, card, power compatibility
Hey guys, I had a few quick questions that I'm sure you guys can easily answer. Well, we have an old computer mobo that I'm thinking of using to setup for our youngest in the family. The mobo is an ECS 945PL-A (1.0) LGA 775 Intel 945PL Express ATX Intel Motherboard (link[/url). I know that its...
aoilemon Video Card Support 6 03-12-2011 12:46 PM
mobo GA EX58 UD3R compatible memory
Hi there, i came up with idea to buy new memory for my PC. :D i'm using mobo GA EX58 UD3R. On its manual it say the max voltage for the memory should be 1.5v. GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 1366 - GA-EX58-UD3R (rev. 1.0) yesterday i visit corsair.com and search compatible memory for my mobo...
Kacan63xisT Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 03-10-2011 09:15 PM
mobo overheating again?
Hey guys, I was here on the forums before asking questions about my mobo because my comp wouldn't start and i found out that it was because 4 of the capacitors leaked. anyway, i am glad that i got a lot of help from here for that or else I would never have figured that out myself. however, an...
kittie_kat Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 02-14-2011 01:28 AM
Mobo Swap?
Hey all. I'm new here, i have a question about adding some hardware. I run a Sony Vaio VGC-RB30 as my main desktop and I've been part picking alot of old computers that I got given to me to dispose of or use as I wish. I'm not hardware or software illiterate, so I catch on pretty quick. I...
robmau5 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 12 02-05-2011 07:02 PM
need help with upgradeing mobo
alright so my current mobo finally desided to kick the bucket and i cant find a way to fix it and theres no support for it any more. so im getting a new mobo but i dont know how to tell if its better than the one i have. i know that i need to keep the processor socket the same and make shure the...
legenddragon Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 01-13-2011 06:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts