Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done.

This is a discussion on Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done. within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a new Dell 4700 running XP. On Start Up I get a black screen with a blue bar


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2004, 06:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 1
OS: XP


Roll Eyes

I have a new Dell 4700 running XP. On Start Up I get a black screen with a blue bar at the top. Inside the bar it says "www.dell.com". On the next line on the black screen it states "Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done." I cannot break out of this. I have run the Dell Resource disk and ran several diagnostics, but still cannot boot up and cannot break out from this message.
I'm stuck. Help!

__________________
htr7323 is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 05:59 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
OS: xp pro



Hi, did you receive any help on this or further info? I just got a new dell as part of an exchange, and though it starts up, it does quickly flash that message during startup, and I've never seen it on any other dell. So I'm hoping it's not a problem with yet another computer.....I'd appreciate any info you have by now, if possible.

__________________
miranbu is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 11:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
OS: WinXP


Quote:
Originally Posted by htr7323
I have a new Dell 4700 running XP. On Start Up I get a black screen with a blue bar at the top. Inside the bar it says "www.dell.com". On the next line on the black screen it states "Loading PBR for descriptor 2...done." I cannot break out of this. I have run the Dell Resource disk and ran several diagnostics, but still cannot boot up and cannot break out from this message.
I'm stuck. Help!


Hi there, sykotik here from Dell Gold Tech Support, it's simply loading the Image Restore Partitions. If you press CTRL+F11 when you see www.dell.com (you have a 2 second window) it will load the Restore screen. However, if don't want to lose your data and revert back to factory defaults, don't continue with it (Don't worry, it won't just RUN automatically if you hit CTRL+F11, it will pop up a Window)
It's an informational message only.
__________________
sykotik is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 08:13 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
OS: WinXP


Thumbs Up

Bump for Dell people

Also wanted to mention, this restore is initiated from a "hidden" partition on the HDD labeled as FAT in Windows setup. It does a destructive (meaning all of you data and programs go buh-bye) install of the XP image from said partition, and it only takes a few minutes. Good to cure what ails ya if you can't seem to figure it out and have decent backups.


Enjoy.
__________________
sykotik is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 07:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
OS: winXP


Hi,

wihle browsing help forums, I found this thread and I have a question for Dell folks :) I have a brand new Dell and would like to go back to original settings.
Basically I am looking for something similar to Recovery CD that some computer manufacturers ship with their systems.

I apologize for being so dense :) but let me confirm what was said:

1.
CTRL F11 will DELETE everything on C drive, everything - games, graphics programs I installed, viruses (if I managed to get any during those 5 days online), DVDShrink, SpyBotS&D, A-Vast, AdAware, HijackThis etc.

2.
After this 'surgery', I will end up with Dell just like it was after I took it from the box. NO NEED to install any drivers, only have to reinstall my own programs.

Again, sorry if I am stating the obvious, I am not a computer savvy person. Thank you in advance for response.

Forgot to add that I installed a second hard drive (nothing on it ATM, was meant to be a data storage for pictures and movies)

Do I have to take it out before I attemp to do CTRL F11 thing?

Thank you.
__________________
deepblue is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 08:15 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by sykotik View Post
Hi there, sykotik here from Dell Gold Tech Support, it's simply loading the Image Restore Partitions. If you press CTRL+F11 when you see www.dell.com (you have a 2 second window) it will load the Restore screen. However, if don't want to lose your data and revert back to factory defaults, don't continue with it (Don't worry, it won't just RUN automatically if you hit CTRL+F11, it will pop up a Window)
It's an informational message only.
Is there a way to fix this without losing all of my files?
__________________
penjay89 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 05:30 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
OS: xp



pbr gone bad how to fix
__________________
fredff is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 10:45 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
OS: xp



My friend brought to me his DELL computer to Fix, and had this problem of "Loading PBR for decriptor 2...done". I recovered at least the music and pictures of his Hard Drive, using the program “GetDataBack for NTFS”.
After trying a lot of programs, and following some instructions from this post, finally I connected the Hard Drive of the Dell computer into my computer (my hard drive in Master and the corrupted hard drive on Slave), then I did install the program Getdataback for NTFS in my hard drive, and ran the program.
The program GetDataBack detected the corrupted Slave Hard Drive D , the program opens on a window, like the windows explorer. Then I choose the Drive D; on it did show 3 logical partitions, the first was unknown format, the second NTFS (here its the windows XP, and a third unknown format. I did chose the second, and started to work for itself the program, detecting files, and then setting in the correct order, and on the end after some clicks in NEXT, and 30 minutes, the program detected all the folders on the corrupted hard drive, then I did go to the important folders, like My documents/my music and my documents/ my pictures, and with COPY I sent his songs and pictures into my hard dive, in partition C.
Also the program gave access into the folders of the other 4 users of his computer, and the program rescued the pictures and songs of those users, with COPY and Saved into my local C Hard Drive.
After saving his songs and pictures, I reinstalled his hard drive into his computer, I formatted his Hard Drive with the software for Seagate, and then I reinstalled my own Copy of Windows XP, because I don't trust the software that comes with that Dell Computer, because produces 3 logical partitions, and I think the problem its on the boot of the First partition, where are the hidden files of Dell.
Its important that you run the program to Analyze a corrupted SLAVE Hard Drive, NOT your own Master Hard Drive.
__________________
bod2 is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 06:09 PM   #9
had
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by sykotik View Post
Hi there, sykotik here from Dell Gold Tech Support, it's simply loading the Image Restore Partitions. If you press CTRL+F11 when you see www.dell.com (you have a 2 second window) it will load the Restore screen. However, if don't want to lose your data and revert back to factory defaults, don't continue with it (Don't worry, it won't just RUN automatically if you hit CTRL+F11, it will pop up a Window)
It's an informational message only.
everytime i try and restore my computer it gives me an error sign that say
The system recovery process was not successful
by the way my computer is and xp
__________________
had is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:09 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
OS: windows xp home edition



new to this thread what is the bottom line with all these threads.if i go to f11 is their a way i can save what is on my hard drive or when i hit ctrl+f11,do i lose everything and start from the beginning.thanks ps is their a way i can save what is on the hard drive and go my merry way thank again
__________________
richsamtor1 is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:21 PM   #11
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



No if you run the system restore it wipes the drive and installs the factory image.
If you need to get data off the drive you can either put it in another pc (not recommended if you have a Maware/Virus issue) or use a bootable copy of linux to burn the data to a cd.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 04:22 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
OS: WinXP



What do you do once you've done the CTRL+F11, and it still continues displaying the same screen Loading....PBR Descriptor 2....done?
__________________
Isrealjames is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 04:32 PM   #13
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



Use a windows install CD if you don't have one you can get it from Dell for a minimal cost.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 06:28 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Red Hat



here the solution to your problem.
Don't reinstall or format anything. Just read the following post:
http://support.bicestercomputers.co....?p=699#post699
__________________
eamonkunze is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 12:22 AM   #15
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



The thread is old.

Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts