Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Latest BIOS for a Winfast nf-ck804

This is a discussion on Latest BIOS for a Winfast nf-ck804 within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys I'm finding it very hard to find the correct bios update for my Winfast nf-ck804 mobo. This mobo


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2007, 06:35 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 221
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise


Send a message via Yahoo to mcornbill

Hi Guys

I'm finding it very hard to find the correct bios update for my Winfast nf-ck804 mobo. This mobo model number is across the net as Winfast or Foxconn. Si-Sandra tells me it is this:

SiSoftware Sandra

Mainboard
MP Support : 2 Processor(s)
MPS Version : 1.40
Model : NF-CK804
Serial Number : WLKI53202247
System BIOS : 05/11/2005-NF-CK804-6A61FFKBC-00
Chipset : nVidia nForce4 & Ultra MCP

General Information
Manufacturer : Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Version : 6.00 PG
Date of Manufacture : 11 May 2005
Plug & Play Version : 1.00
SMBIOS/DMI Version : 2.20
(EE)PROM Size : 512kB

General Capabilities
Can be Updated/Flashed : Yes
Can be Shadowed : Yes
Is Socketed : Yes
Supports Plug & Play : Yes
Supports ESCD : No
Supports Enhanced Disk Drive : Yes
NEC PC-98 Spec Compatible : No

Power Management Features
Supports APM : Yes
Supports ACPI : Yes
Supports Smart Battery : No

Boot Features
Supports Selective Booting : Yes
Supports CD/DVD Boot : Yes
Supports PCMCIA/CardBus Boot : No
Supports LS-120 Boot : Yes
Supports ZIP Boot : Yes
Supports i2o Boot : No
Supports FireWire/1394 Boot : No

Performance Tips
Notice 224 : SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
Tip 207 : A SMBIOS/DMI 2.3 or later compliant BIOS is recommended. Check for a BIOS update.
Tip 212 : BIOS can be shadowed so check whether it is.
Tip 211 : BIOS is flash-able and socketed so it can be upgraded when needed.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.


I see my SMBIOS can be updated from 2.2. The closest I've found on the net to be the correct one is this but I daren't flash it in case it's wrong:

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/EN-US/...s=Socket%20939

Any help greatly appreciated.

Mark

__________________
mcornbill is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 07:04 AM   #2
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Hello Mark, is this a boxed rig? Dell, Gateway, etc... If so please give us the make and model. If not, take th side cover off your case and look for a mofel and rev# on the motherboard. It should either be by the PCI slots or the Dimm slots. The CK8-04 is the generic reading that Nforce 4 chipsets give, it's not your motherboard model.

Provide the info requested and I'll find the Bios for you.

Matt

mattlock is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 08:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 221
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise


Send a message via Yahoo to mcornbill

Hi Matt

No I've built this pc myself. Right I can see these numbers on the board:

WLK753202247 PC8CK804A05-6LRS-1
02-01000325-502

Any good to you?

Cheers
__________________
mcornbill is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 08:31 AM   #4
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


No help there. If you installed it yourself, do you still have the manual, or box?

You could try Everest, and see if it gives any better info than Sandra did. I don't think it will but it's worth a try.

Download and install Everest Click "Report", "Custom Selection", only choose "Computer" and "Motherboard" save it as a plain text file and add the file to your next post as an attachment.

To add an attachment click "Go Advanced" then click the paperclip and browse to the file.
mattlock is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 09:39 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 221
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise


Send a message via Yahoo to mcornbill

Yeah looks like Everest doesn't recognise my mobo.

I have got the manual somewhere but have just moved and can't find it now! I will have to dig deeper to find this model number you're talking about.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Report.txt (75.2 KB, 38 views)
__________________
mcornbill is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 05:40 PM   #6
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


I believe your board model is NF4K8AC. The project name for this board is CK804A05, which is part of the numbers found on your board. See the link below.

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/upload...2005.12.14.htm

I will verify this with Foxconn tomorrow. If I'm correct tthe updated Bios can be downloaded from the link below.

Caution...Do Not Flash To These Bios Until You Hear From Me.

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/service/downloads.aspx

Matt
mattlock is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:09 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 221
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise


Send a message via Yahoo to mcornbill

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlock138 View Post
I believe your board model is NF4K8AC. The project name for this board is CK804A05, which is part of the numbers found on your board. See the link below.

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/upload...2005.12.14.htm

I will verify this with Foxconn tomorrow. If I'm correct tthe updated Bios can be downloaded from the link below.

Caution...Do Not Flash To These Bios Until You Hear From Me.

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/service/downloads.aspx

Matt

Matt you are the kid, cheers!

I shall wait until you confirm.
__________________
mcornbill is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 11:15 PM   #8
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


I spoke with Foxconn today and they were of little help. So I'll need one more bit of info before I can be certain that I have the right board.

I need the Bios string off the 1st post screen when you first turn on the PC.

If the Winfast splash screen is all you see when your PC is booting then hit the "Tab" key when you turn the system on, and then hit the "Pause/Break" key to halt the post so you can read the Bios string. I've posted a screenie below for illustration purposes.

Click on the thumbnail for a larger image.



Thanks,
Matt
mattlock is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 05:46 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 221
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise


Send a message via Yahoo to mcornbill

Righto Matt I shall do that when I get home from work later.

Thanks again.
__________________
mcornbill is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:01 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 221
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise


Send a message via Yahoo to mcornbill

Hi Matt

Ok is this the number:

nVIDIA NF4 Series 533W1P12 051105

Cheers
Mark
__________________
mcornbill is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 08:43 PM   #11
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,200
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Below you'll find the link to your latest Bios update and another link for "How To Flash" instructions.

Your motherboard model is NF4K8AC. There are four different versions of this board but the bios is the same for all of them.

Bios Download

Flash Instructions

Post back with any questions or concerns.

Have a great day.

Matt

mattlock is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software security Scan
Not sure if plain member can post here.....but if so, this is from Dr. Gizmo's newsletter I get,,,,today's edition: 5.1 How to Ensure You Don't Have Vulnerable Software on Your PC If you want to keep your PC secure it's essential that all your software is kept up to date with the latest...
Ariesjill Computer Security News 1 03-15-2007 12:34 AM
Toshiba Satellite A40 (Bios Corrupt, Need to Flash, Help!)
I've made my own report with the beginning and the recent effects of this whole issue as to why this lap top is having problems. This is just a recap of many hours of work, reading, and calling Toshiba. Please read the following short summary. Laptop Info: Toshiba Satellite A40 System Unit...
superstar Motherboards, Bios & CPU 11 12-06-2006 08:28 PM
Wiped bios on P4T533
ok im really hoping someone can help me out here, ive got a P4T533 motherboard, i just tried updating the bios with Asus EZ Flash, it wiped the bios, went to install the new bios and failed, went to install old bios and my comp crashed, yeah comp wont load ive got my system setup to read from...
DragoCZ Motherboards, Bios & CPU 22 06-06-2005 06:34 PM
Asus P4P800/P4C800 Series: How to Update BIOS
Hello everyone, If you already know this procedure for the P4x800x series motherboards, great. The instructions in your mobo manual are correct. But the instructions on the Asus Download site ("BIOS Update Step: How to Flash Your BIOS") are out of date. Here is one working procedure: ...
clintfan Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 08-08-2004 05:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts