Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

"Keyboard Error. Press F1 to resume"

This is a discussion on "Keyboard Error. Press F1 to resume" within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am currently unable to start one of my desktop machines. Although a working keyboard is connected, the error message


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2005, 05:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
OS: XP Pro


Question

I am currently unable to start one of my desktop machines.

Although a working keyboard is connected, the error message "Keyboard Error. Press F1 to resume" is displayed on startup. Pressing F1 starts the XP Pro splash screen but startup does not complete- it simply returns to the error message. I have tried starting in safe mode but same story.

This error occurs even when starting with no keyboard connected.

Background info - old machine - AMD Athlon 600MhZ, 192MB. No recent changes to hardware build. Recently this same machine has been displaying the message "ATAPI Incompatable; Press F1 to Resume" on startup- in which case pressing F1 solved problem.

Do you think my hardware is failing? Any suggestions please???

__________________
lucky23 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 08:44 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,154
OS: windows xp


hi lucky23,

hmmm......try clearing the cmos of the motherboard. usually the cmos jumper is located near the battery, which is a circular metallica piece of metal. refer to the motherboard manual and it will tell you the location of the cmos jumper.

see if this works and post back if you have more problems.

__________________
keymaker is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:09 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


welcome to tsf
if the cmos clear doesnt work:
see if there is anything in your bios that you have to reinable for the keyboard, i am not sure about your board

also switch the mouse and keyboard around...see what happens

post back
__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:13 AM   #4
The Patriot
 
Real_Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lumberton, MS
Posts: 659
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Real_Bullet
Does keyboard use USB ports?
__________________
Real_Bullet is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts