Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

IBM ThinkCentre

This is a discussion on IBM ThinkCentre within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My housemate just purchased and IBM ThinkCentre, 2.8 gHz, 512mb ram, 40 gb harddrive. Upon receiving it, tried to install


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2007, 09:32 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
OS: Win XP


Grin

My housemate just purchased and IBM ThinkCentre, 2.8 gHz, 512mb ram, 40 gb harddrive. Upon receiving it, tried to install an OS (Win XP Pro).

Was unable to get it to boot from CD, reset the BIOS and tried again. F12'd at startup to enter the temporary boot sequence to boot from CD. Does not work. This is what displays on the screen:

Intel Base-code, PXE-2.1 (build 083)
PXE-E61 media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting Intel boot agent
1962: No operating system found

We have checked the following: 1) the cable to the CD-ROM, replaced with new one, not the problem 2) installed a different harddrive, also not the problem.

Does the above error apply to the cable to the harddrive, possibly? We haven't tried replacing that...

Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thank you.

__________________
iridius is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 09:37 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


HI,
Have a look at this.....
http://www.intel.com/support/motherb.../cs-002860.htm

__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 09:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
OS: Win XP


Cry

Thanks Houndog777, but that doesn't apply.
__________________
iridius is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 10:35 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi,
Enter the bios setup at start-up and check if your cd-drive is being recognized. Name, model, number etc.
Check you are using an 80-wire cable for connection to the motherboard.
Check the disk you are using is clean.
Borrow and try another windows disk.
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:14 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
OS: Win XP


Question

Okay I entered the BIOS setup and I am unable to determine how to ensure it recognizes the CD-ROM. It's the original CD-ROM. It comes up in the BIOS startup as CD/DVD ROM.

It's definitely an 80 pin cable.

I've tried two separate WinXPPro CDs. Neither works and they work in another computer, so I know they are fine.

I've just removed the battery from the motherboard to ensure the BIOS is reset to factory default. Will replace in 20 minutes.
__________________
iridius is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 03:05 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Hi,
If it's listing cd/dvd rom on start-up then it should be ok.
In older bios you will have a list of your drives, some give you details of cd under the hard drive info of size, heads, cylinders etc., which you can highlight then press Enter to auto-detect if a cd drive is indeed installed.

What is the full title of the ThinkCentre? I just went to look for a manual and discovered there are many different types.
Example: Family-Thinkcentre M50 Type-8187 Model-34T

You say you entered temporary boot config to set order; try entering bios proper and setting the boot sequence to cd rom first, save and exit.
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 03:49 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Houndog777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,683
OS: XPpro sp3

My System


Please also disable the boot to network setting; Preboot eXecution Environment (PXE).
__________________
Houndog777 is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 12:34 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP



Does anyone know how to change the boot sequence in an IBM ThinkCentre. I'm not finding this option in the BIOS. Thanks,

Ron
__________________
ronniewb is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 06:56 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
OS: xp sp3



Turn off computer.
Press f12 keep depressed and start computer.
When boot option comes up release f12.

Hope this helps,

W.L.

__________________
worldlibrary is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem booting IBM T22. Gives error 0175.
Hi, This is a friend's notebook. It is an IBM T22. The error that comes up is an error 0175 which IBM describes as a system card problem. However upon further reading of other IBM threads and evaluating the documentation the error relates to the BIOS and IBM have had two attempts to resolve it....
Russelllk Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 07-30-2007 01:22 PM
IBM ThinkCentre S50/A50 video upgrade
I just bought this on ebay and the onboard video sucks. Will it take a PCIe card? If so I'm thinking of something with the Nvidia Geforce 7600 GT set - if not does anyone have suggestions? It's a general purpose machines - not into high end games. Thanks Brent Processor Family: Intel 5...
brent130560 Video Card Support 3 08-14-2006 09:05 PM
WinLogon Notify and other spyware
Attached if my HijackThis log. Can you please help in finding any spyware in it? I am particularly cautious about O20: WinLogon Notify group. Thank You ****************************************** Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 10:59:48 AM, on 7/26/2006 Platform: Windows XP SP2...
vopatel Inactive Malware Help Topics 1 07-27-2006 10:09 AM
IBM T22 will not boot. 0175 error.
Hello, I have posted this previously under motherboards and bios. I have had no reponses and think it may have been in the wrong forum. I have got to the stage of thinking the T22 laptop has had its last gasp. Any reponses appreciated. This is the previous post.
Russelllk Laptop Support 1 05-16-2006 03:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts