Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

HP Pavilion p6310f - No POST, no Display.

This is a discussion on HP Pavilion p6310f - No POST, no Display. within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey everyone, Recently I had to replace my harddrive, I ran a smart test in the BIOS and it said


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-04-2011, 04:30 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP sp2 included



Hey everyone,

Recently I had to replace my harddrive, I ran a smart test in the BIOS and it said that hd failure was iminent. I replaced my western digital SATA interface 1tb at like 5200rpm for a 1tb 7200rpm western digital sata.

I tried installing Windows XP and it froze at setup, I started to get boot problems after that in which it would 1 short beep, 1 long beep. I isolated the reason for that and fixed it.

Now it does NOT POST at all, I've tried the process of elimination, when I power on, it boots, I can hear the harddrive working. The CDROM is not installed. The heatsink, internal fan and PSU fan work fine.

I was using my 300W PSU but I swapped it for my 400W Dynex to see if that was the cause of the problem.

My desktop comes with an integrated nVidia GFX, I can't remove it and I don't know a lot about it so I don't know what to do troubleshooting wise. I only have 1 known working monitor available and it worked fine before the boot issues occured, it works fine on the laptop I'm using atm.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

__________________
Necrofury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


I find when replacing anything hardware related on a OEM computer it's best to remove the CMOS battery for 5 minutes. Replace and enter into BIOS and set the time and date to present.
__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complex one(for the geeks out there!)! Wont Post, Will Post, Power?
Firstly Hello guys, well heres my problem, i built my partner a pc (she lives quite far from me) and so i posted it to her via mail service. on arrival it was having problems posting but it does occasionally post and work properly. thinking that something was damaged i built her another pc...
b33t Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 01-10-2011 03:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts