Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

How to fix error code 12?

This is a discussion on How to fix error code 12? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Last week my computer rebooted by itself and after bootup my network adapter wasn't working. I check device manager and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2010, 11:37 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit


Exclamation

Last week my computer rebooted by itself and after bootup my network adapter wasn't working. I check device manager and it gave me an error code 12 (not enough free resources). After disabling/enabling device, unistalling/reinstalling device, and unistalling/reinstalling drivers with no success, i figured it was a bad nic card. So i ordered a new wired nic and wireless nic and installed both with the most recent drivers. Same outcome for both new nic cards. Ive already tried flashing the bios with the most recent updates. Updated to the most recent chipset. And still no luck. Ive tried disabling all the onboard network controllers from the device manager and from bios. Ive already made sure PNP was enabled in the bios. Ive already tried switching to all 4 different pci slots. I know that it has to do something with the APIC, with the IRQ's and the PCI slots not managing the resources right. But any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks!

Specs
Mobo: Asus Crosshair
-Support AMD Socket AM2+/AM2 CPU
- NVIDIA nForce 590
- Dual-channel DDR2 800/667/533
- Extreme Tweaker
- SupremeFX Audio
- Array mic
- LCD Poster
- EL I/O
- Onboard switches
- Onboard LED

NIC card specs are not really relevant because ive tried 3 different nic cards.

Note: Both of my onboard controllers do not work properly. The 1st onboard network controller does not show up at all in device manager. But the second does. The funny thing is that the second network controller loads up in device manager fine without the error code 12. But that network controller does not pull a ip or gateway so that does me no good. And ive already tried disabling and unistalling that device and disabling it in bios but my pci slot nic card still shows up with the error code 12.

__________________
MOSSYY is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 12:14 PM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,046
OS: Win7



Have you tried clearing the CMOS?

Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-11-2010, 03:55 PM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,244
OS: XP Pro-7



Code 12 from MS;
Cause

This error can occur if two devices that are installed on your computer have been assigned the same I/O ports, the same interrupt, or the same Direct Memory Access channel (either by the BIOS, the operating system, or both). This error message can also appear if the BIOS did not allocate enough resources to the device.

Recommended resolution

You can use the Troubleshooting Wizard in Device Manager to determine where the conflict is, and then disable the conflicting device.

Disable the conflicting device

1. On the device Properties dialog box, click the General tab.
2. Click Troubleshoot to start the Troubleshooting Wizard. The wizard asks you some simple questions and provides a solution to your problem based on the answers that you provide.
3. Follow the resolution steps provided by the wizard to resolve the problem.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 06:43 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit



To wrench: I just resetted CMOS and its still giving me the error code 12.

To tyree: Ive already tried disabling other devices. And im using Vista 64 bit and the check solutions requires the internet which I am not able to connect to.
__________________
MOSSYY is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 09:11 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 274
OS: Vista sp2



Look to see if you have APIC enabled in the Bios and installed correctly in Vista.

Keep your network adapter enabled on vista but not on Bios. I knew someone who had the same issue that ended up working by doing this.
__________________
icebelowzero is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 05:42 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit



Ive already made sure that apic was enabled. The onboard controllers are already disabled in bios. And I can't disable my pci network adapter through bios. And if you disable it in bios you won't even it in device manager. It has to do with conflicting irqs. But you can't change resources (irqs) in vista. So I'm not sure what do you now.
__________________
MOSSYY is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 07:25 AM   #7
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,046
OS: Win7



Does it show in device manager, or in System Info as a conflicting device?
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-12-2010, 02:28 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit



It shows in device manager as not having enough free resources. It doesn't show in system info. Everytime I restart my computer I have to do search for hardware changes in order for it to show in device manager. But it pops up with that error code 12.
__________________
MOSSYY is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 03:35 PM   #9
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,046
OS: Win7



Have you tried using another PCI slot?
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-13-2010, 09:25 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit



Yeah I tried 4 different pci slots with 3 different nic cards.
__________________
MOSSYY is offline  
Old 03-13-2010, 10:08 AM   #11
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,046
OS: Win7



When you disabled the 2 integrated network controllers, was it in the Bios or in Windows?
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-13-2010, 10:40 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit



I've tried disabling it in both. I'm getting close to going out and buying a sledge hammer and really making some problems.
__________________
MOSSYY is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 01:02 AM   #13
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,046
OS: Win7



I think it's a motherboard failing, do any PCI cards work in it?
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:21 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit



I only have the 3 nic cards that are pci. My HD audio, and 2 nvidia 8800 GTS's are pci express. Actually I'll have to try the pci audio card in my other computer when I get back in town Monday.

__________________
MOSSYY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts