Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

How do you enable onboard sound?

This is a discussion on How do you enable onboard sound? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My XI-FI does not want to work at all. Meanwhile I fix it I need some sound so how do


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2006, 08:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
OS: XP



My XI-FI does not want to work at all. Meanwhile I fix it I need some sound so how do I enable the onboard sound? I have an ASUS-8N Sli Premium motherboard.

__________________
xProx is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:09 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,226
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

generally you will have to enter the bios on startup and in the bios menu it is usually listed under onboard devices or such, look around for onboard audio and move the hightlighted bar over it and hit enter you should be presented with an option to enable or disable.
make sure you save changes before you exit the bios ( F10 ) then boot as normal

__________________
Blackduck30
Time is like money and milk, It's always running out

Any Donations Help Keep TSF Free For All
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
OS: XP


OK I did this but I see no other audio device to use as the default playback device I only see my XI-FI not the onboard.
__________________
xProx is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:28 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,226
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

hang on and I will go check in your motherboard manual and see what I can find
__________________
Blackduck30
Time is like money and milk, It's always running out

Any Donations Help Keep TSF Free For All
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:48 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,226
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

according to your manual it should be listed under the advanced tab of your bios and about the 8th item down will be listed AC97Audio and then across from that ( to the right ) it will either have enabled or disabled

if you want a screen shot have a look at page 99 of your motherboard manual
__________________
Blackduck30
Time is like money and milk, It's always running out

Any Donations Help Keep TSF Free For All
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:49 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
OS: XP


Alright thanks.
__________________
xProx is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 09:55 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
OS: XP


K it is enabled but I still don't see it as a device.
__________________
xProx is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:04 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,226
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

does your audio work, as you will need to install the driver for it from your mobo cd
__________________
Blackduck30
Time is like money and milk, It's always running out

Any Donations Help Keep TSF Free For All
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:07 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,226
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

the latest driver is V5.10.0.5870
__________________
Blackduck30
Time is like money and milk, It's always running out

Any Donations Help Keep TSF Free For All
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:07 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,226
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

the latest driver is V5.10.0.5870 and you can get it here

http://support.asus.com/download/dow...-SLI%20Premium
__________________
Blackduck30
Time is like money and milk, It's always running out

Any Donations Help Keep TSF Free For All
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:52 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
OS: XP


It works. Thank you soo much you don't know how much this means to me. Thanks agian.
__________________
xProx is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:57 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,226
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

no problems, glad to hear it works.
__________________
Blackduck30
Time is like money and milk, It's always running out

Any Donations Help Keep TSF Free For All
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 07:15 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
OS: windows xp pro sp2



Hey guys im having the same problem. Im running XP PRO SP2 and i have Asus P5V VM DH. i cant install necessary soundmax driver on the D drive partition because im getting error driver not found. However i could install the sound max driver on the C drive partition.

How do i enable the soundcard on partition D? Im really desperate for this. Please Help.
__________________
frustrated007 is offline  
Old 08-29-2010, 02:23 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
OS: Win XP



Good Evening.

I have the same problem.
I have enabled the onboard sound in BIOS.
I also downloaded the latest drivers for the onboard sound but it didn't install properly. Download was from Fujitsu's homepage so the download was official.

My system is a original Scaleo X from Fujitsu Siemens.
I tried to find the name for the motherboard which is uses using Fujitsu's homepage but all I got was the part-number and it's description (C26124-F12-C288 Sticker Green Motherboard)
The full name of my system on the Fujitsu homepage is: SCALEO X /CBN/P4 650/MB ATX/1536MB/V256/

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks on beforehand.
__________________
XeKaaz is offline  
Old 08-29-2010, 05:30 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
shotgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,897
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Please do not open up a 4 year old thread, If you require assistance please make your own thread. Thanks

__________________
Please post your System specs
CPU-Z - GPU-Z - Speccy - PSU Info and Selection - How to Bench Test - Test your PSU - Memtest86
Do or do not, there is no try -yoda-
shotgn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts