Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Help with buying a new cpu

This is a discussion on Help with buying a new cpu within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a Packard Bell NM85 with the following specs: Operating System MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit CPU


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2012, 06:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 39
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit



Hello, I have a Packard Bell NM85 with the following specs:

Operating System
MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

CPU
Intel Pentium P6100 @ 2.00GHz
Arrandale 32nm Technology

RAM
4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 535MHz (7-7-7-20)

Motherboard
Packard Bell SJV41_CP (CPU 1)

Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1366x768@60Hz)
Intel(R) HD Graphics

Hard Drives
244GB Hitachi Hitachi HTS545025B9A300 (SATA)

Optical Drives
TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633C

Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio

And i just want to know what CPU's i can have

Thanks in Advance,
Jordanixting

__________________
Jordanixting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:05 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Laptops aren't designed for CPU upgrades, hence information regarding CPU upgrade compatibility for them isn't readily available. That's why, if you think you may want the freedom to upgrade any or all of the major components at a later date, a laptop is not the right choice, and, to lesser extent, neither is a brand-name desktop PC.

For maximum upgrade freedom & choice you need to have a PC custom-built for you at a small computer shop, or build one yourself. The retail motherboard manufacturer's then have comprehensive upgrade information and compatibility tables on their websites.

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:10 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,272
OS: XP Pro-7



OEM PC's/laptops are not upgrade friendly and use Mobo/Bios made for them. Knowing what CPU's are/are not compatible can be very difficult to determine. The most reliable source for that info is from the manufacturer.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:11 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



If your current CPU works I would hesitate to replace it with another one on a laptop (which I believe your PC is if it is a NM85).
__________________
GreekWarrior26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:01 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 39
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit



Ok guys, thanks for the quick response ,i know what your saying but it is possible right? i see lots of people do it to there laptops on YouTube...
__________________
Jordanixting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 08:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



Possible, but not really that practible. It is not worth the time, money, and possibly headache to upgrade a laptop.
__________________
GreekWarrior26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 08:47 AM   #7
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


Some laptops have the CPU soldered into the socket so they cannot be removed. Also you have to think that the more power the cpu has the more heat. Can your laptop dissipate the extra heat that will be produced?
__________________

Please post Hardware Specifications of your computer.(Including Power Supply!).
Memtest86+ | Seatools
How to Benchtest
Info & Selection of PSU's
A1tecice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 02:30 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 39
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit



well i have recently took apart my laptop all the way down to the motherboard to replace the thermal paste so it will cool better and i have checked that the CPU can be removed :)
__________________
Jordanixting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 02:31 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 39
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit



would you like any more information?
__________________
Jordanixting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 06:31 AM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,272
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Knowing what CPU's are/are not compatible can be very difficult to determine. The most reliable source for that info is from the manufacturer.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:38 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 26
OS: xp sp3



If you can take out the CPU, check with this link for CPU can be used. Only your Scoket are G1 type.
http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket%20G1%20%28rPGA988A%29.html
__________________
ICYBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:30 AM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,272
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by ICYBLUE View Post
If you can take out the CPU, check with this link for CPU can be used. Only your Scoket are G1 type.
http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket%20G1%20%28rPGA988A%29.html
That tells you what CPU's are compatible with versions of that "socket".
Note under "Supported Processors" it says *All processors from the table below physically fit into the socket, but not all of them may be supported. Before upgrading to any CPU from this list please make sure that the CPU is compatible with your motherboard*
OEM Mobo/Bios are made for the retailer and are commonly different from the retail versions.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:08 AM   #13
ROG Enthusiast
 
A1tecice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Scotland, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,497
OS: Windows 8 Pro, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008

My System


The only way to be sure is to phone your Manufacturer.

__________________

Please post Hardware Specifications of your computer.(Including Power Supply!).
Memtest86+ | Seatools
How to Benchtest
Info & Selection of PSU's
A1tecice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts