Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

HELP: Samsung NC110 is stuck in BIOS won't exit setup

This is a discussion on HELP: Samsung NC110 is stuck in BIOS won't exit setup within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a brand new Samsung NC110, Win7 starter. I'm not sure what exactly happened that it is now stuck


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2012, 10:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Agaljegelegi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
OS: win7 starter



I have a brand new Samsung NC110, Win7 starter.
I'm not sure what exactly happened that it is now stuck in BIOS setup but it will not exit, I've tried ESC, going to the EXIT in Menu Bar and choosing every option available just to get it to exit the damn set up but nothing happens.

I've also tried turning the power off, taking out the batteries, waiting 10 seconds, putting it back again before turning it on but to no avail. It goes right back into this blue screen with BIOS setup and I don't even remember pressing F2 ever!!!

It's so frustrating, especially as I need my laptop for work. Why is this happening? the only thing I think I did wrong was last night I left my laptop charged and did not shutdown at all, I just let it sleep and when I opened it, it was like that. Could that cause it? How do I fix this? and please go layman's terms on me, I'm not very techy, geeky but not techy.

HELP!

__________________
Agaljegelegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:07 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Try this: Unplug from AC power, remove the battery pack, press and hold the power button for 20 seconds. Reinstall the battery and check.

__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Agaljegelegi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
OS: win7 starter



nope it didn't work I'm back at this blue screen that says Aptio Setup Utility Samsung Electronics BIOS Team u5.4 and none of the EXIT options work.
I'm giving this laptop back to Samsung.

Is there any explanation for this at all?
__________________
Agaljegelegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:49 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Agaljegelegi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
OS: win7 starter



Any other options I can try to get this laptop working again?
__________________
Agaljegelegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:08 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,281
OS: XP Pro-7



Your best option is return it to the place of purchase for an exchange or refund.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:08 AM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Returning it is probably your best option but first, there are a couple things you can try. If you have any external devices plugged in, like an external USB drive or the like, remove them.

With power off, remove the HDD. Turn on. If it gets into POST, check the connector for debris and clean if necessary.

Remove and swap the memory sticks. Retest.

Samsung's web site suggests that when you are in BIOS press F9 to load the default configuration then press F10 to exit. I believe you've already tried that but doesn't hurt to suggest you try it again.

Finally, if nothing here helps, Samsung allows you to create a service request through them here: Create Service Request

Good luck!
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Agaljegelegi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
OS: win7 starter



Thanks everyone who made the effort to reply.

My laptop is working again for some reason. I had it off for 48 hours and when I tried to open it again it, the page loaded Samsung Recovery and clicked basic recovery and there it is everything is where it should be.

Just a note though, it took forever for windows updates to finish. More than two hours! + configuring settings but it works now so I'm happy.

Thanks again.
__________________
Agaljegelegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:53 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



It is making a loud clicking noise and can not exit the aptio setup utility. I have tried for 3 days. I was working on it and suddenly it jumped to the setup utility. Have tried f9 f10 everything and it just returns to the setup. It is only 2 months old! Any ideas?
__________________
Marcpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:06 AM   #9
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,356
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF it will still be under warranty so it would be best to take it back did you check the hdd is set to first boot device in the boot order then F10 to save and exit then type y to confirm and hit enter
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:12 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



How do you check the hdd is set to first boot device? I bought this at the dubai airport so a little difficult for me to take it back.
__________________
Marcpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:13 AM   #11
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,356
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



in the bios boot or advanced or similar tab
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:36 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



In fact I am in aptio setup not bios. Can not get to bios as I am still stuck in aptio. Ay ideas? Samsung live was worthless.
__________________
Marcpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:44 AM   #13
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,356
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi have you tried tapping F2 as you boot, APTIO I 'am not familiar with that function
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:50 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Does do anything except it stop the clicking noise. I do not know how it got to aptio setup utility. I have never seen it before. When I reboot the samsung screen comes up and then it goes directly to this aptio setup utility and I can not get out of it.
__________________
Marcpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:13 PM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,356
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi I cannot find anything on this, the trouble shooting and manual how to etc are links at the bottom of this page there may be something there NC110-A01 Netbook | Samsung Office NC110-A01 Netbook
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:28 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Thanks
__________________
Marcpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:40 PM   #17
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,356
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Your welcome sorry I could not be of more help

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Connection Problem
Current Situation: I have 3 Computers on 1 Network. 2/3 of the computer work flawlessly. This is about the third computer. I've reformed, and installed windows vista home, and now I have the weirdest connection problem. Currently using a Lynksys Wireless G Wi-Fi adapter WUSB54GC. (I have tested...
medalmonkey Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 14 04-21-2012 01:23 AM
Computer stuck on motherboard loading screen, and stuck in setup.
Computer gets stuck On the motherboard screen, and when I try to enter the setup when pressing delete it will change screens and say entering setup but will get and will not load the setup. I think I obtained a virus from a torrent and made my computer act like this. Specs: windows 7 home...
Julianlomega Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 08-22-2011 08:34 AM
Setup is stuck on starting services - BIOS beeps
Alright so first time post here so bear with me: Windows 7 64 Bit operating system. I've got a gateway laptop And at first I got a BIOS error but when i tried doing a system reset, i think i messed up somewhere and I now have a Screen that says set up is starting services. And a little red...
July617 Laptop Support 2 04-16-2011 01:35 PM
stuck in Bios
so i did some upgrades to my old computer with the hope that it would be able to play some games and now it does:) but after installing COD modern warfare 2, the only game ive tried after the upgrades, the cpu fan cranks waay up. so i go into bios to see the temperature and i could not exit out of...
loosebolt Motherboards, Bios & CPU 10 03-27-2011 11:55 PM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts