Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU


Headless CPU Stress Testing

This is a discussion on Headless CPU Stress Testing within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello forum, I am looking for a cpu stress testing (burn in) program that fulfills the following criteria: 1) bootable


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2009, 07:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



Hello forum,

I am looking for a cpu stress testing (burn in) program that fulfills the following criteria:

1) bootable
2) 64-bit
3) accompanied by temperature monitoring program
4) multicore compatible

I really need to be able to stress test multicore pcs prior to installing operating systems. I have been scouring the internet for the past 2 days and have not been able to find anything that fits all of these criteria. I have tried several bootable cd/dvds without success including, inquisitor, ubuntu x64 live cd (couldn't install prime95, various errors, I'm far from fluent in linux), ultimate boot cd (doesn't do multicore; does multiprocessor, not helpful for me), and a bartpe build that included prime95 (no temp monitoring software, not 64bit, can't run multiple instances).

I am very surprised the sort of tool I am looing for is not widely available; it seems like an analogue to memtest86+ for cpu testing. I would prefer to use something based on linpack (e.g., intelburntest) because it seems to do a great job in a short amount of time. There is a native 64 bit version of intelburntest for winpe (http://www.ultimate-filez.com/files/...Legacy-x64.zip), but despite some searching, I have no clue how to build a winpe image that includes this program. If anyone can provide a step-by-step guide for dummies on how to do so (or provide a built image that also includes temp monitoring software), that would be ideal; building it with BartPE would not work because BartPE is 32 bit. Or any other solution that fits my four criteria would be great too!

Again, I'm really surprised a program that fits the four criteria I listed is not widely available. Hopefully it is, and I just haven't been able to find it. Let me know!

Thanks,
Jim
focusbob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2009, 08:54 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check this

http://www.softsea.com/review/IntelBurnTest.html
dai is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 09:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



Hi Dai,

This is the preferred software I mentioned. However, if I'm reading the info on the link correctly, this is just the standard version of the software; this is not a bootable version of the software; it must be run from within windows.
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 11:12 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



see if any of these help

http://www.benchmarkhq.ru/english.html?/be_cpu.html
dai is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 09:57 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



As far as I can tell, none of those are bootable.
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 10:38 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i don't remember seeing one that runs from dos
dai is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 10:46 AM   #7
Moderator - Hardware Forum
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,757
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


This bootdisk has many tools. http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
__________________

http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 11:34 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
I do exactly what you are trying to do with this one


I have found a great need lately for a method to determine if a computer system is stable without entering an OS

in this fashion we are able to ascertain if a systems CPU and memory are stable and can take maximum load without lock-up



so this bootable CD is a really easy one to use >>>> and it has Everest to monitor temperatures with

http://rapidshare.com/files/31986468/everestnokey.7z


the above file is virus clean as IS


then there is this one >>>>> its MUCH larger ......... a multi boot CD ...... you can boot into Hirens Boot CD or Barts PE

from within the Barts PE environment you can access all the tools that are available from within Hirens too

I found this bootable ISO in a torrent ........ this torrent has a back door virus which is found in the Programs folder / simply open the bootable ISO with Magic ISO and delete the ALCMD.exe

I did this and it came up clean , or you can PM me and I will send you a clean copy by mail or post a clean copy of the ISO on rapid share


this ISO is damn impressive though!! the tools at your disposal are emense

the cpu stress testing program I used within here is

S&M stress test and PC wizard or Everest to monitor your temps as your stressing

works wonders !! now I am able to prove to stubborn customers the computer is stable, even when they perform botched driver installs or windows file problems as well as the ohhhhh so common / flaky game a user wants to run >>>>>


I am now able to prove the machine is stable during 100% workload

now if they want to "fix" windows or their drivers or their game patches >>>> they have to pay the ferry man!


http://www.mininova.org/tor/1170263



anyone that needs help or wants a bootable CD by mail >>>> just holler



there are several anti virus scanners as well as adware and mcaffe stinger in this bootable CD >>>>> there is no better way to clean a hard drive than from outside of windows, then the virus or trojan isnt "loaded" and morphing



best regards


joe

sorry that was lonnnng winded ........copied and pasted from our "library"


S&M stess test is what you want .............. everest home editon and PC wizard both work from within that bootable environment ..........


the ones we normally like to use in windows .........real temp / core temp / sensorsview pro etc etc etc will not work in a bootable environment ..........I tried even with the assistance of the people who wrote the program :(


in summary >>>>> bootable YES / multi core = yes / temp monitoring = yes if you use everest or pc wizard which is included in the bootable offerings
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:21 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



Thanks linderman! This looks really promising. I am going to try these out and post back with my impressions.

Quick question: is S&M stress test 64-bit?
Another quick question: How long do you let S&M run the CPU test to determine stability?

This is the least important of my 4 criteria, but it would be nice...

Thanks again,
Jim
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:48 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

not sure if s&m is 64bit ? I dont think any DOS based utility or bootable CD is really 64bit ..........but I dont see why you would really need that anyway ? I am assuming your goal is a hardware stress to be sure all parts can take a beating

I know it will do that for sure!


how long is entirely up to you ........when I build top notch systems with good quality heatsinks I test those for 2 hours

less costly builds (budget ones) with less worthy cpu coolers I test for an hour
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 07:46 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



There is a version of intelburntest (built on linpack) that is 64-bit that is specifically made for winpe (I linked to it in my original post). But, I don't know how to integrate it into a winpe image, so it's a moot point.

I'm not sure why a 64-bit version would be better for the processor; from the maker of intelburntest - "But for the most accuracy, 64-bit OS is the best." http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/...d.php?t=197835. I do know that with 12gb of RAM, a 32 bit program will not be able to fully stress my RAM. And I know that Prime95 (for example) stresses RAM alongside cpu; maybe this is the reason.
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 05:11 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Quote:
Originally Posted by focusbob View Post
There is a version of intelburntest (built on linpack) that is 64-bit that is specifically made for winpe (I linked to it in my original post). But, I don't know how to integrate it into a winpe image, so it's a moot point.

I'm not sure why a 64-bit version would be better for the processor; from the maker of intelburntest - "But for the most accuracy, 64-bit OS is the best." http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/...d.php?t=197835. I do know that with 12gb of RAM, a 32 bit program will not be able to fully stress my RAM. And I know that Prime95 (for example) stresses RAM alongside cpu; maybe this is the reason.



the whole idea of stress testing is to make both cpu & ram "sweat" from workload which will reveal any potential instabilities

as for the how to incorporate the intelburntest .........without a Barts PE plug-in it aint gonna happen

their is a website with a really steep learning curve call Raetogo ...........you can make your own plug-ins

I played aroud with that stuff for quite awhile until I was winded

the benefits of 64 bit OS are much more demonstrated in artificial worlds of benchtesting than real world computing ..........

just because a software is 64bit doesnt automatically translate to far superior performance; if this were the case, we as the computer world would be far more converted to an all 64bit world

server environments and numerous machines connected to them is really the only use I have seen 64bit truely shine .......beyond that, its a 5-10% improvment kind of thing with a whole new realm of problems dragged into the fray


its not until you can realize how much of our 32bit software world is really based on 16bit architecture that makes you understand we have not nearly employed all 32bit has to offer
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 10:02 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



Point taken about making a plugin...
That is certainly out of my league.
Would you please check this link and tell me if this is a plugin?

http://www.ultimate-filez.com/files/...Legacy-x64.zip

I've dl'ed the file and I'm in the process of cleaning the virus. I wonder; is this a real virus, or one of those programs that gets picked up by antivirus programs because it does some shady maneuvers but isnt really a virus.
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 10:08 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
I think its a false positive / however whenever I give that link to a user they freak when the A/V scan picks it up .......so, hence the warning ? at your own risk, in fact, because I dont use the program for which that files is associated, I too removed the file

Quote:
Originally Posted by focusbob View Post
Point taken about making a plugin...
That is certainly out of my league.
Would you please check this link and tell me if this is a plugin?

http://www.ultimate-filez.com/files/...Legacy-x64.zip

I've dl'ed the file and I'm in the process of cleaning the virus. I wonder; is this a real virus, or one of those programs that gets picked up by antivirus programs because it does some shady maneuvers but isnt really a virus.




no that is not a plugin

however.....if you could make a barts PE disk from a win xp 64bit ???? dont remember if barts will do that or not

you "may" be able to run that intelburntest from a thumb drive once you are in the Barts PE environment ????

sorry.........the answer is no Barts PE for X64
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 09:58 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



OK, so I tried the multiboot CD. Although an impressive piece of software there is a fatal flaw for me: everest was only reading from the mobo sensor not from the cpu. I need to monitor temps.

I also tried Hiren's boot cd 9.9, and couldn't get S&M to run ("opengl32.dll was not found"), but another monitoring program read from my cpu sensor so I know the sensor is OK.

Suggestions?
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:10 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
I dont enter from Hirens ........I enter into the PE side of the options/ then I run the S&M stress test (sometimes launching off a usb thumbdrive the S&M program)

I dont understand what you mean by getting temps off the motherboard sensor .....no program directly gets information off the cpu ?

use the PC Wizard which shows temps in real time as they change



another way I have tried ..........boot into the PE environemnt and then launch OCCT from a thumb drive or off a hard drive .....that shows temps right from within OCCT itself

http://www.911cd.net/forums//index.php?showtopic=22229

I am confused ...........are you saying that while you are running that program S&M you can see what the cpu temps are from a monitoring app like PC Wizard or Everest ?

while looking for a Barts PE plug-in for OCCT (pre-made) that is


I have been told OCCT needs to write to the disk ......this is hard to accomplish off a CD, but It can be done easily off a pen drive ........that the trouble with core temp monitor; it wants to write to the drive in order to work .........so it look like I now can make a 2gig (no bigger>>>it must be fat16 bootable) pen drive have a barts PE environment and the USB drive can be written to with the RAMdrive included in barts .....what this means is .......Orthos should work as well as core temp monitor


I am digging for a 2ggi pen drive now to try it ..........my 8 gig wont work
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 07:30 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



That's right, I was running S&M, and I was unable to monitor the core temps from everest and pc wizard. All I was able to see was the mobo temp, but not the core temp.
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 06:34 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

ahhhhhhhh what cpu are you testing again ? I am going to "guess" and say i7 cpu and the version of PC wizard on that CD doesnt know what an i7 cpu is

thats an easy fix ............make a newer bootable CD with PC Wizard 2009 included ........then when you run S&M you can watch temps with PC wizard ??


S&M also has a tab for monitoring the cpu tab; did you get to use that ?
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 06:46 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
OS: xp sp3



I think youre right. I have an i7 920 and asus p6t deluxe v2. If I knew how to make a bootable cd with a new version of pc wizard and s&m, I probably wouldnt have made this post :)

Is this pretty straightforward to do? Are there any tutorials you know of?

Can one monitor cpu temp from s&m? I didnt see that in the program.

Thanks!
focusbob is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:59 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
I didnt get the i7 cpu at first; not that the problem we would encounter would have hit me right then anyway :)

I am working on this to make a new CD which has the PC Wizard 2009 in it ........ be patient this can be a real !@#$%^&*()_ making these reatogo cd's

Quote:
Originally Posted by linderman View Post
ahhhhhhhh what cpu are you testing again ? I am going to "guess" and say i7 cpu and the version of PC wizard on that CD doesnt know what an i7 cpu is

thats an easy fix ............make a newer bootable CD with PC Wizard 2009 included ........then when you run S&M you can watch temps with PC wizard ??

S&M also has a tab for monitoring the cpu tab; did you get to use that ?




I dont mean "you" fix it .........my fingers were typing out loud I am trying to make your CD
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:35 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com