Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Having troubles with what appears to be my Ram...Or is it?

1K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  Deedub 
#1 ·
Well hello everyone. I'm going to start out by saying I have little or no knowledge about computers other then playing games but have been learning a lot since I purchased my first one. Currently I'm trying to make the new one that I had built work properly with all components. Here is what I have then I'll tell you the problem. This is kind of a long thread so please bare with me.

AMD 64 3500+
Gygabyte GA-K8NSNXP-939 nForce3 Ultra chipset
480w Antec Truepower
BFG Geforce 6800GT OC
Corsair XMS PC3200
SoundBlaster Audigy2 ZS
ATA 7200RPM 80Gb Hard drive

I had a friend put everything together and we did a couple of things on it and it appeared to be fine. When I got it home and was playing some games on it, it would either reboot automatically, crash to desktop or just freeze up. And occasionally it will give me what appears to be a OS Serious Error on boot up.

Now let me just tell you all that I have ran Memtest on the first twin pack of ram and it came up with faulty ram errors 15% into test. So I returned them (Newegg) and while I was waiting for the replacement I put in my old ram from my old computer. The old ram is like DDR233 or 333, not sure. The ram worked great, no errors, no crashes, nothing. After running Memtest for 2600% there were no errors.