Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Foxconn BIOS updates

This is a discussion on Foxconn BIOS updates within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey, I have been trying to find BIOS updates for my Foxconn motherboard (because I bought a Zotac GeForce GTS250,


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2011, 01:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Ruta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



Hey, I have been trying to find BIOS updates for my Foxconn motherboard (because I bought a Zotac GeForce GTS250, and I can't seem to make it work, so one of the suggestiions from friend was to update my BIOS), model PT8907MB-8ERS2H, but when I've searched throught their website, it doesnt come up with this model.
Where can I find updates for it? or is it wrong model number?

Packard Bell Foxconn PT8907MB-8ERS2H Socket 775 N15235






__________________
Ruta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 03:47 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


You should only perform a BIOS update if it is designed to fix a specific problem you are having.

What brand/wattage PSU is installed in the Packard Bell? Post the Packard Bell model number.

Any BIOS update (if available) should come from the manufacturer (Packard Bell) support site.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 12:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Ruta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



well, the problem that I'm having is that I can't make my new graphic card work... I connected it, but only it's fan spins, but doesnt seem to work, it says 'no signal' on the monitor and goes to 'sleep mode' (green light turns to orange), as if PC can't see my graphic card at all. So my friend said that maybe its because my BIOS is not updated and can;t regonize the card(?)

motherboard


PSU:
Colors-it 500W Gold Silent PSU PFC 12cm Fan 20+4PIN SATA - Retail

More info:
http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/9045/statai.jpg
__________________
Ruta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 01:04 PM   #4
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,124
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


What make and model is your graphics card ?
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 01:04 PM   #5
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,530
OS: Win7



Are you hooking the 6 pin auxiliary power cable to the GTS250?

You really need to return the Colors-IT PSU and get a quality unit to protect the PC as well as the video card investment> Scan.co.uk: XFX PRO550W P1-550S-XXB9 Power Supply (PSU) Core Edition
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 02:59 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Ruta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



i've used one of these to connect my graphic card to PSU

and my card is right there:
Zotac Geforce GTS250 1GB Eco Graphics Card, HDMI | eBay

So, my PSU is too poor to feed my GTS250, and thats why its not working? ;/ would new PSU solve my problem, and I dont need to update BIOS afterall? and I can't return my old PSU, as I got it a year ago, from my brother, after he got 2 PSUs when he needed 1
__________________
Ruta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:04 PM   #7
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,124
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


hmm
it could be that the pin connector is bad and not the psu
I mean don't get me wrong 500w psu is enough to run that card but I would try another connector first before looking to replace any parts
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:16 PM   #8
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


That PSU only has a 20A rating on the +12V rail

The specs show that PSU as having a 6-pin PCI-e connector.

I would recommend upgrading the PSU to a quality unit

Can you maybe borrow one to test with?
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 03:59 PM   #9
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,530
OS: Win7



Adapters are never a good idea.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 05:23 PM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
Adapters are never a good idea.
Ditto !!! ^
Your PSU is very poor quality and underpowered for the GTS 250.
A 650W good quality PSU should be used with that GPU to supply sufficient clean power and avoid damage.

XFX Core Edition PRO650W $95: Newegg.com - XFX Core Edition PRO650W (P1-650S-NLB9) 650W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

CORSAIR Enthusiast Series 650TX $95: Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 07:52 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Ruta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



ok, thanks for all the help :) if you can, please leave the topic for some time, cause I can't buy a new PSU at the moment, but when I do buy it, I want to report how it goes :)
__________________
Ruta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:09 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Ruta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



So I bought Newegg.com - XFX Core Edition PRO650W (P1-650S-NLB9) 650W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply and successfully installed it into my pc, it runs as it's suppose to... then I unistalled my old graphic card and inserted my new Zotac GTS 250 and its still the same - I turn on pc, there is no beep, only fan spits of the graphic card and on the monitor i see 'no signal' and the light turns orange...

So I'm confused and unsure what to do and what is failing
__________________
Ruta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:21 AM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Were you having problems while using the previous older GPU before this?
Do either of the GPU's work in another PC?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:29 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Ruta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



No, I had no problems with my previuos GPU, and I used it again while I was waiting for my new PSU... I haven't tried to use it on another pc, as my boyfriends pc has low stats and I'm afraid it wount be able to run it...
I'll try to replace his PSU with my new one (as his psu has less than 500w) and see if my card will work on his pc...
__________________
Ruta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:08 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Ruta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows Vista



So, I tested it on my boyfriends PC (I've used my new PSU so there is no doubt that graphic card recieves enough food to run) and it's the same as on my pc - 'no signal' on the monitor, when I try to run it... no Beep, just fans spinning...
Soooo, does it mean that I have to conntact the guy who sold it and ask for replacement, cause graphic card is faulty?
__________________
Ruta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:26 PM   #16
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,530
OS: Win7



Doesn't work on 2 PC's I'd say it was defective.

Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Are BIOS updates dangerous?
Hi I have a Dell N5010 and want to update the BIOS from A12 to A13, and so I downloaded it from the Dell site but it gave me a scary looking warning sign before I install it, so I just wanted to know if it is 100% safe? As I don't want to brick my laptop which is only 2 months old. Thanks
vamos124 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 05-28-2011 06:47 AM
[SOLVED] Dead BIOS, replace BIOS chip or new motherboard?
I recently tried to fix an old laptop (Toshiba) and to do so, I needed to do a BIOS upgrade. I downloaded the new BIOS flash files on another laptop, my new laptop (Acer Aspire 7520G with Vista Home Premium, 32-bit). The problem started when I tried to burn the files to a cd to transfer them to the...
deleted11022011 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 02-06-2011 09:57 AM
[SOLVED] Foxconn A78AX-S Bios Update
I'm trying to update the BIOS for my board in order to gain AM3 support. I've tried using FOX LiveUpdate, but after backing up my current BIOS, it starts installing the new ones and a "BIOS Update Failed!" error pops up. That's it, it just stops updating.
Mombasa2 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 02-06-2011 06:09 AM
Where I can get updates for bios and motherboard ?
Where I can get updates for bios and motherboard ? For BIOS System Bios Version : Nvidia - 42302e31 System Bios Date : 02/23/06 Manufacturer : Phoenix Technologies, LTD SMBIOS Version : 6.00 PG
zhong Motherboards, Bios & CPU 6 01-20-2011 04:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts