Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Firewire port on motherboard

This is a discussion on Firewire port on motherboard within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For some reason when I try to capture video from the firewire port built in to my motherboard, the video


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2007, 11:20 AM   #1
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


For some reason when I try to capture video from the firewire port built in to my motherboard, the video is all stretched out and crackles and distorts. I've tried 3 different programs, and 3 different cameras, all have the same affect. I've tried messing with the settings in the programs etc, but nothing seems to help. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Mobo: Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe

__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:33 PM   #2
techpro5238
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:



Has this happened recently or had there been any change with the port? While you had the camera in did you bang against the wire where the connection was? Also I would like you to download Speedfan and I would like you to tell me your Voltages. You can download it from my sig.

__________________
 
Old 08-31-2007, 10:16 PM   #3
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


No, I didn't bang it or anything. Here is a screenshot from speedfan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	speedfan.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	88.0 KB
ID:	16828  
__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 08:15 AM   #4
techpro5238
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:



What is the brand of PSU you are using right now and how many Watts is it? (because those Voltages are crazy)
__________________
 
Old 09-02-2007, 07:56 PM   #5
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


Thermaltake 750w, my computer is under "My System", under my username.
__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:03 PM   #6
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


Installed 3rd party firewire card, still same problem. This is really wierd...
__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:12 PM   #7
techpro5238
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:



Okay, well we have narrowed it down to a motherboard, PSU, or OS problem. I will be coming on tommorow to work in TSF sorry I can't help for the rest of the night.

Good Night, And Regards TechPro5238
__________________
 
Old 09-05-2007, 06:51 AM   #8
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


I don't even know how else to troubleshoot this from here...
__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 06:53 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
1 g0t 0wn3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sedona, az
Posts: 7,308
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Hasve installed your motherboard drivers?
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 09:52 AM   #10
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


Yea, I just reinstalled them.

Now that I take a second look at my computer...now .AVI files play all distorted as well...
__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 01:10 PM   #11
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


I downloaded a codec pack/player Satsuki Decocder pack and it will play all my .AVIs fine. What the heck is going on here?
__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 04:18 PM   #12
Thanks for the help!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
OS: Win 7 Ult

My System


Well it looks like I updated the video card drivers and it fixed the problem!

__________________
quiXilver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts