Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Explorer.exe taking 100% CPU

This is a discussion on Explorer.exe taking 100% CPU within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Friends, I'm really frustrated, as my computer is taking complete 100% CPU. Efforts did till now: 1. scan complete


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2012, 01:44 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3


EEK!

Hi Friends,

I'm really frustrated, as my computer is taking complete 100% CPU.

Efforts did till now:
1. scan complete computer with Anti virus and malwarebyts
2. disabled system restore
3. checked complete motherboard for any unattached wire fittings
4. CPU current temp is 48 degree cent.
5. and at last formatted complete hardisk and reinstall Windows.

After all these efforts I'm still getting 100% on refresh of winXp, on installing any program and on even running a system scan

My system config is :

865 Motherboard
1.5 GB Ram
2.4Ghz P4 processor
using 3g data card
80 Gb Hard Disk
96 MB Video Memory


Pls help me with the suggestion to get my system recover.

Thanks in advance
Rakeshtony

__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 03:41 AM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Is this a branded PC? If so post the model number. (Dell,HP,Gateway,etc)

If custom built post the specs.

What brand/model motherboard? Graphics card model? Power Supply brand/wattage?

Post the temp and voltage readings from the BIOS.

Open Task Manager and look at the Processes tab and note the CPU intensive program.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 04:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



The explorer that comes with Windows is called "explerer.exe" with a small e... Check that, any other is would be a virus.
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:33 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by smuglar View Post
The explorer that comes with Windows is called "explerer.exe" with a small e... Check that, any other is would be a virus.
Hi,

It is with small "e" as explorer.exe

any suggestion??
__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:37 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post
Is this a branded PC? If so post the model number. (Dell,HP,Gateway,etc)

If custom built post the specs.

What brand/model motherboard? Graphics card model? Power Supply brand/wattage?

Post the temp and voltage readings from the BIOS.

Open Task Manager and look at the Processes tab and note the CPU intensive program.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:41 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



If its with a smaller e then Ctrl+Alt+Del would do to check if the explorer running is the same one in C:\Windows...
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:13 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3



motherboard = 8i865gvmk
videocard= not install
os= win xp sp3
smps= brand hcl
cpu temprature= 48 degree cent
ram= 1.5 GB
processor= P4 2.4 ghz
__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 01:13 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3


Confused

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakeshtony View Post
Hi,

It is with small "e" as explorer.exe

any suggestion??

hi,

I'm sorry earlier i mentioned wrong statement.

actually in computer in task manager the explorer.exe is appearing as "Explorer.exe" and sometimes as "EXPLORER.EXE"

thanks rakeshtony
__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:53 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by smuglar View Post
If its with a smaller e then Ctrl+Alt+Del would do to check if the explorer running is the same one in C:\Windows...

Hi,

Tried the things mentioned by you but nothing achieved.!!!


(((((((Ok. Run msconfig. Go to startup tab. Arrange list by Manufacturer. Scroll to the unknown Manufacturers. If you find your explorer there, untick it and then click apply.

Now restart machine.

Now upon startup close the msconfig without restarting and run regedit

- The hkey local machine > software > Microsoft > Shared tools > MSconfig > Startup reg

Now delete everything under startup reg.

And go to MS Config again. Make sure the system is set to normal setup.


Good luck.)))))
__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:08 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



You also have to delete the source of the process whilst running in safe mode. Normally in C:\Users\"Username" folder.
Press tools > folder options > View Tab. Select "Show hidden folders" and then Untick "Hide protected OS files"

Notice any funny .exe files there? Delete all those that you don't recognise. Once you do this you can repeat the steps above.
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:16 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



And from there run a system scan with an upto date antivirus...
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:26 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by smuglar View Post
You also have to delete the source of the process whilst running in safe mode. Normally in C:\Users\"Username" folder.
Press tools > folder options > View Tab. Select "Show hidden folders" and then Untick "Hide protected OS files"

Notice any funny .exe files there? Delete all those that you don't recognise. Once you do this you can repeat the steps above.
Hi,

Actually nothing was found there in the startup reg, only i found AVG two files that i delete in confusion and unfortunately AVG stopped working in the next boot.

right now in task manager i'm getting the explorer.exe as "EXPLORER.EXE" and iexplorer as "IEXPLORER.EXE".

tried the system sacn also with norton internet security 2012, AVG, AVAST, KASPERSKY and MALWAREBYTE.

I also got my hd complete formatted but after installing XP again, the probelm presist.

till now only frustration is found and i got nothing.....

It all started happening when i got a new 3g data card and did a lot internet surfing and then after all programs started up taking cpu memory upto 100% one by one.

Even when i open notepad and scroll the page from up down then also cpu goes 100% and even when i refresh the desktop.

Pls do advice

Thanks
Rakeshtony
__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:34 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



Fine. Start task manager. Right the EXPLORER.EXE process and choose the "open file location" option.

Did you unhide the files and folders like I told you?
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by smuglar View Post
Fine. Start task manager. Right the EXPLORER.EXE process and choose the "open file location" option.

Did you unhide the files and folders like I told you?

Hi,

Yes i've unhide files and floders but unable to locate the file location as the option for the same not available in Windows Task Manager

Thanks
Rakeshtony
__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:44 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



Oh ya, Windows XP doesnt have that... Forgot... Im used to Windows 7... Anyways...
Ok. Go to msconfig and then startup. Disable EXPLORER.exe here by unticking it or any other exe that is not owned by any munfacturer...
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:57 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by smuglar View Post
Oh ya, Windows XP doesnt have that... Forgot... Im used to Windows 7... Anyways...
Ok. Go to msconfig and then startup. Disable EXPLORER.exe here by unticking it or any other exe that is not owned by any munfacturer...

hi,

I did the same but the task bar is not appearing along with desktop items.

Tell me next pls as i can see that 126 dll files running as threads under EXPLORER.EXE when i got the process explorer.

Thanks
Rakeshtony
__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 04:35 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



I dont fully get your grammer there... Ok.. That means you stopped the explorer tats genuine.
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 04:39 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
smuglar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Botswana, Gaborone
Posts: 130
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



In task manager explorer.exe process
__________________
smuglar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:23 PM   #19
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,266
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Install Process Explorer. Anything in Dark Purple is using the most amount of CPU. Here you can right click the process and choose to suspend it, kill it, or open its containing folder to see what it is.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:36 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 10
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by smuglar View Post
In task manager explorer.exe process

Hi,

It is a Win32/Rustock.0 virus or torjen

My keyboard and mouse were also getting stuck even in safe mode and through GMR can i found that my explorer.exe, iexplorer.exe, svchost.exe, system.exe, lsass.exe and csrss.exe all are infected.

Because i tried every thing that why i thought to get the HDD complete format to achieve the success as it was never formatted from last 6 yrs.

Let check the system after the format then will update you soon.

Thanks
Rakeshtony

__________________
rakeshtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows patch files taking up too much space
I have an old Dell D600 with Windows XP SP3. Really only use it to surf and play games. HDD is small, only 40GB. Recently i've been getting no disk space warnings, and notices the entire disk if FULL. I've been able to clean-up about 9GB with CCleaner, which at least gives me some room to...
Helplji Windows XP Support 4 04-04-2012 06:19 PM
CPU Overheat...?
I moved away from my family for my work. Recently, I moved my desktop PC to the place where I am staying. On the first day itself, after using the PC for a day, the PC was shutdown suddenly and there was warning that the CPU is overheated. It never happened before while using it at my home. After a...
mr.raghav Motherboards, Bios & CPU 31 04-01-2012 10:39 AM
CPU spikes
Hey Having a few problems with my laptop. My CPU spikes every 8 minutes or so. Sometimes it causes the CPU to go to 100% for a few minutes. Heres some pics that might be helpful Thanks James
Cheesily Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 16 03-19-2012 02:13 PM
CPU Cooler Verticool II
I am trying to find this particular CPU cooler. :spinning:I have an AMD 64 K8 939 socket. I have read many reviews for this and this looks to be the one i need.Just having a hard time finding it. I can find the Verticool II Pro but i do not need or want that one.
spartann300 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 03-19-2012 08:57 AM
explorer.exe
Hello , New to this site, recently installed windows 7 ultimate. few days ago entered explorer.exe and clicked on downloads..the icon was blank. Up popped the following; ' Explorer.exe this file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. please install a program or, if...
frik517 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 11 03-19-2012 05:21 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts