Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

emachine rebooting

This is a discussion on emachine rebooting within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My emachine is rebooting by itself. I can't seem to figure out why . can someone help.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2008, 02:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
OS: win xp



My emachine is rebooting by itself. I can't seem to figure out why . can someone help.

__________________
vmundy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 06:30 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


emachines are notorious for power supply failure witch with what you described is a possibility.

For now start the computer and tap F2 repeatedly, the computer will enter bios. Do not change any settings. Just look around for voltages of the +3.3,+5 and +12V. If these are listed post the here, also let it idle in bios just to see if it reboots while in there and report back your findings

__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 12:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
OS: win xp



I have pc wizard and it says the 3.3 is 3.28V--- 5 is 4.89v --- and 12 is 11.19i I will reboot and try that f2 . thank you.
hope you can help me also doing f2 while rebooting doesn't do anything .
__________________
vmundy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 05:24 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Replace the power supply, 11.19 for the 12V is way low and most likely the problem.

What model emachine?
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 05:55 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
OS: win xp



T2825 what should the V be and how do I replace the power supply?
__________________
vmundy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 06:07 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


The 12V should be between 11.4V and 12.6V to be within spec, but in my experiance a system will hang or reboot when it falls below 11.6

Ideally with a computer at idle the +12V should be right around that, maybe a bit lower.

Google, "emachine T2825 power supply" and see if you can find one.

I will look around and see if that model can use a standard supply and get back to you but it may not be tonite
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 06:28 PM   #7
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103942

Get that one and put in it, I know it will work with your emachine because it uses a standard atx supply but the emachine website is not clear on case dimensions but make sure to check the dimensions here

http://www.antec.com/us/productDetails.php?ProdID=23430

To make sure that it will fit in your case, I am about 90% sure it will fit.

Post back with questions or concerns
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 06:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
OS: win xp



Thanks so much for your help. I also went onto a site called geeks.com and they have alot of people with the same problem with all their models of emachines. I Think this computer has seen its last days since 2004. I may have to get a new one ... emachines wont help you because its out of warranty. also emachine parent company is gateway.
__________________
vmundy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 06:53 PM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


I know what you mean the emachine website is useless for any specs as far as replacing parts, if I had the thing here in the shop and could physically look at it and swap in a known working power supply I could tell fairly quick.

My bet is the psu is on its way out and the above will fit and fix it, there is also some cheaper psu's avalible that will work although I don't care much for them but rather then scraping the computer it maybe worth a shot

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371013
__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 08:27 AM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,353
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by bonny35 View Post
Everyone time i turn on mine desktop it what load it just sit at a black screen and we don't know why it doing that we tried to reboot it but that didn't work so please help
Posting in another person;d thread is confusing only makes it more difficult to assist you.
Please start your own thread stating your problem(s) and include your PC specs.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts