Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Emachine 3240 cpu temps

This is a discussion on Emachine 3240 cpu temps within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Its my first time posting so forgive me if l tend to "go on a bit", l have an emachines

Closed Thread

Old 03-23-2006, 06:56 AM   #1
Registered Member

My System

Its my first time posting so forgive me if l tend to "go on a bit",

l have an emachines 3240 2.66ghz intel pentium 4.

Yesterday l decided to spring clean the fan's, temps were showing a bit high and pc kept locking every so often.

After having problems removing built up dust from the cpu fan l decided to try remove the fan for easier access, (not much room due to this large cone shaped object attached to the cpu fan) instead of just the cone and fan comming out seems l did something wrong and the entire lot including heatsink was removed, after the initial panic, cleaned what l could from the fan and then noticed thermal paste was obsolete so replaced thermal paste and carefully replaced heatsink/fan/large cone. ld checked the cpu temps prior to cleaning and they were

processor zone temp: 55c
system zone 1 temp: 36c
system zone 2 temp: 36c

processor zone fan speed: 1910 rpm
rear fan speed: 1445 rpm

after the clean up

processor zone temp: 48c
system zone 1 temp: 33c
system zone 2 temp: 35c

processor zone fan speed: 1427 rpm
rear fan speed: 905 rpm

but now the psu makes a slight "tapping" noise at start-up. This morning temps were around the same but the noise from the rear fan has doubled.

Checked the temps after this had been running (reading your forum for a couple of hours) and processor zone temps are now sky high.
processor zone temp says 135c
system zone 1&2 temps say 29c
fan speeds were at 2875 and 2491 when l went into bios but drop rapidly within seconds.

l have no front fan and there isnt any way of fitting one as no vents at the front of the casing.