Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Dell Inspiron 1300, need help upgrading

This is a discussion on Dell Inspiron 1300, need help upgrading within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, I've just bought a Dell Inspiron 1300 with the intentions of upgrading (my first upgrade project). Now to

Old 03-18-2012, 05:27 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hey guys, I've just bought a Dell Inspiron 1300 with the intentions of upgrading (my first upgrade project).
Now to date I've upgraded the RAM from 1gb to 2gb and upgraded to WIN7 from XP.
The laptop is still horribly slow, I'm thinking about upgrading the CPU, at present it has Pentium Celeron M, I'm looking to upgrade to a Duel Core Pentium hoping to speed it up.

Now, I am a novice and I need your help, first off CAN I upgrade the CPU on this Dell and how do I do it, and would a duel core really speed it up or should I maybe go Quad Core.

I hope you guys can help me and guide me through this issue.

Thanks

Old 03-18-2012, 05:41 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware

Did you install all the required drivers after upgrading to 7?
You need to determine what CPU's are compatible with the Mobo/Bios. Dell would be the best source for that info.

All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 05:51 AM   #3
Registered Member

I didn't, I was aware I had to this. This is the spec, Dell 1.73 Centrino, 30gb HDD, 2gb DDR2, if I install Win7 drivers would that speed it up any or would I still need to change the CPU
Old 03-18-2012, 06:07 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware

All drivers need to be installed for the OS to perform properly.
A 30GB Hdd (7 uses 10 or better) is pretty small for 7.

All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Old 03-18-2012, 06:18 AM   #5
Registered Member