Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

CPU Temp is higher than CORE temp

This is a discussion on CPU Temp is higher than CORE temp within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. It all began after Flashing my BIOS! My mobo is ASUS P5K-SE and the latest Bios I flashed is P5K-SE-1402.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2009, 07:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
OS: xp



It all began after Flashing my BIOS! My mobo is ASUS P5K-SE and the latest Bios I flashed is P5K-SE-1402.
Here is the view of Speed Fan:

I googled a bit came to some solutions bot none of them worked. I flashed to earlier versions but it never changed. There was also a ROM file in the CD that came with mobo and which's version was 0.4xxx. When I try tried to flash to it ASUS EZ Flash Utiliy declined due to older version. But it didn't declined to flash from 1402 to 1104. Could be any solutions to this? I mean to CPU temp > Core temp. It sounds funny but annoying infact

__________________
colt18 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 09:48 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,433
OS: Windows 7

My System


Like I said on your other post there is nothing wrong with your temps, anything above 60 is bad and speedfan can be out by 10% in - or + so trust core temp or real temp well I do anyway.

__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 12:09 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
OS: xp



I think I'm not clear. The problem is 20 seconds before BIOS update it was all ok cpu was room temperature core was room+5. now core is room+5 cpu is core+10. Why doesn't speedfan reads ok before bios flash but after flash it gives error. And I need to notify you that I'm not a daily user and I have a grasp of knowledge of comp.

Sorry but the answer you give is totally unacceptable. We need to know how hot our cpu is and overclock it as it is nod exceeding threshold temps. I'm %100 sure that my Cpu is not at 43 C it is 28 or something but why this miscalculation happens after bios. Here again I repeat myself.
__________________
colt18 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 01:21 PM   #4
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,335
OS: Win7



Use the Bios temp Speed fan is wrong often.
While your in the Bios check the 12v reading if anywhere near the 11.4v speed fan is reporting you have a PSU problem.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 02:14 PM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,433
OS: Windows 7

My System


Speed fan is best for measuring the speed of fans as the name suggests.

For 45nm chips you use Real Temp with the TJ max set to 95

For 65nm chip you use core temp with the TJ max at 100.

The Bios flash may have altered a setting which has confused speed fan or speed fan can't read the system properly anymore but as I said use one of the proper temp reading apps.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 03:59 PM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,296
OS: XP Pro-7



Do as wrench97nsuggested and check your temps and Voltages in the Bios. Third party apps are very often inaccurate.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 11:59 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
OS: xp



I'm sorry but I think I'm misunderstood. After detecting speedfan is showing 43 C for CPU I directly rebooted and checked BIOS for a false estimation. No way 12V 5V 3.3V was ok and temp was also 43 C in bios. In this case I though about a faulty bios update and updated the Bios three more times both from windows and dos environment. Problem seemed to occure again then I searched forums a bit and come to a solution about PECI (Platform Environmental Control Interface) should be enabled otherwise it shows converted temperatures. I guess it could really be the answer and I ran into Bios again and thanks to god they were disabled and at that moment a bulb flashed over my head and I thank god that I'm at the doorstep of solution. Anyway therewere 2 PECI relevant settings which could be given state of enabled and disabled and I tried 4 possible combinations with them (E,E;E,D;D,E;D,D) regardless it didn't helped again. So at last I registered to tech support and beg for a solution from experts, experts that somewhere of their lifes they faced this trial of mine. I know this is not a typical day problem like my fan is spinning shouldn't it be holding or my core temp is 100 soon I'm going to fry my pancake over it.

I'm a trueseeker that needs answers to his troubles.
__________________
colt18 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:32 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,433
OS: Windows 7

My System


I am still not sure why you are worried about the speed fan temp you posted, that is not a bad temperature to have.

As said speed fan can be wrong it is better to use Real Temp with the TJ max st to 95 for your cpu this will be more accurate than speed fan.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 04:21 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
OS: xp



Green bro look I'm going to explain this as clear as I can.

EX 1:As you know that the surface of Sun which is the star of solar system is way cooler than its core. Suns surface is approximately 6.000 C but its core is 15.000.000. From this example we can see that heat generating objects cores are way more hotter than their surface.

EX 2:Take an example of burning stove. While the core of the stove is 800 C its surface is 200C or something. This example is also Identical to sun example.

EX 3:My current CPU core is 42 C but my cores are 32-32.. Recall ex1 and ex2 that any heat dissipating objects surface must be cooler than its core.

My problem is. There is an error with my boards temperature readings. Actually Cpu temp should be equal to ambient temp but it is not.

So please don't reply again like come on dude that temp is ok. I know its ok its very very ok but I need to know actual temp. Not the one that is given by malfuctioning device or wrong calculations. AND ALL OF THIS HAPPENED AFTER BIOS UPDATE! AM I CLEAR GREEN BRO! btw green is a good colour
__________________
colt18 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:32 AM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,296
OS: XP Pro-7



When you flashed the Bios, ALL of your setting go to Default.
Use the Bios for the most reliable and accurate information for Temps and Voltages.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:44 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
OS: xp



As I said before Temp reading in Bios are same. Don't you read my posts before posting. And btw the bios will set to default if I select clear cmos data which I didn't select. Whether I select it or not the problem still carry on.
__________________
colt18 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:59 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


People here are trying to help you and you pretty much insult them. Your worried over nothing, everything is WELL within the norm.
__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 10:57 AM   #13
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,335
OS: Win7



I don't see where we can be of any more help, if you feel the Bios update caused the issue then perhaps you should contact Asus, but I don't see a problem with your system.

Thread Closed.

Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts